We all know that for some reason women do not get the same exposure/support as men professionals do( except in calenders & posters), but it is even worse in Pakistan. Name any sports woman from Pakistan-- Can you? I mean there is not a single woman, who became an icon for her sports skills. Why is that! It’s not they don’t play sports or don’t participate in events but still!
The Pakistani women cricket team has done really well recently, they got a lot of media coverage. Fact is most Pakistani women have very little interest in sports beyond school level. Those who do, more power to them.
Unless knitting or sewing and cooking become Olympci sports then this will be the case for most desi women I think…
Mind you sports in general are so dull these days… Almost all modern sports are unnescary wastes of money and time… over paid stars and ludicrously overzealous fans…
Yeah I doubt they get taken seriously, a few years back some women runners were putharshly under the spotlight for wearing shorts while running for a marathon. yeh hamari quom hai.
ho hai, woman exposing skin wearing proper sports outfit is baisharam. this is the attitude majority of Pakistan has. it's all about skin with muslims.
I remember that recently Pakistan's women cricket team won a cup and at the airport there were mostly the relatives of these grils who were there to welcome them and they did not get any media coverage at all after they returned whereas on the other hand aisam ul haq who was a runner up was invited by the president for lunch and what not !
If the clothing is such an issue couldn't they design a more modest version or play in front of women only or something.. They don't necessarily have to 'expose' if that is the problem..
Do think that desis in general don't encourage sports or keeping fit as much as they should do.. Literally every other uncle and auntie I meet seems to be diabetic and/or have high blood pressure..
She is well cheered and well known woman athlete. There are many others. As for sporting icon is concerned, Do you see even ANY OTHER MAN becoming an icon (except for Cricketers?)
Coming from a medical point of view I do think it's quite sad that women in pak hardly have the chance to exercise.. especially since playing a sport is a particularly fun and motivating way to exercise.. but apart from the major cities I don't think even going for long walks is a common practice
We have high levels of diabetes and heart problems. It's even accepted in our culture that shaadi ke baad you'll lose your figure. Obviously there are other factors involved such as diet and poverty, but I do think being a little more open minded in attitudes towards sports would do a lot to help the health of the nation
I totally agree with you Princess121, but it isn't just a lack of open minded attitude towards sport. Most desi women women have absolutely no concept of sport and are not willing to engage at all. Whether that is a result of their upbringing I don't know, but Pakistani women generally show a lack of enthusiasm for sport and exercise.
But some mothers get funny about young girls doing strenuous exercise incase their daughters get 'loose' or their hymens break or something lol.. It's so retarded..
Yeah, what's the big deal about that? Saves them the trouble later.
Is the whole ‘hymen has to break on the wedding night and if theres no blood all hell breaks loose’ an issue in pakistan? Sorry for being naive.. I really don’t know..
^Yeah, I bet a lot of Pakistani mothers even nowadays would have a heart attack if they saw their daughter being taught to do the splits lol.. Some ppl even have a problem with girls riding bikes for this reason or don't allow them to use tampons..