Sex Education and Pakistani Culture

I can see lack of sex education in Pakistani culture.

Why are we so backward? How to implement sex education classes in Inter or Matric?

What is your opinion on this issue?

Re: Sex Education and Pakistani Culture

I think something should definitely be done to implement sex education courses. I think the way to implement sex education would be to focus on the*biological and health* aspect of it as that is what sex education should teach. When I was an intern, I would often be asked to interpret for the doctor I worked with and my observation was that many young people coming from Pakistan, especially girls, either had no idea of even the basics or had information which was quite inaccurate.

Other day I saw an ad on Paklinks google ads section… something **being girl pakistan, **an initiative taken by multi national company on female puberty and their issues… This is one part of the education… What about boys… Do we need to look at Noor Clinic (an online sex education guide).

Then there are many other young adults , who can not access Internet… Basically, education system could help this thing…

Isn’t it good idea that one day class at mosque on Sex Education by the Imam of local mosque… :hmmm:

Noor Clinic.....

Bhai meray... Internet har kisi kay pass nhi hota.. aur har koi Noor Clinic par visit bhi nahi karta..

Noor Clinic looks quite trashy... just an opinion...

Personally, I don’t think this is a good idea as sex education requires the actual scientific explanation of the bodies processes and anatomy, as well as, health issues that may arise. This is best explained by a doctor or health practitioner or at least someone with a background in biology. I’m not so sure most imams would be qualified to explain this. Also, having it at the mosque would bring religion and the moral/social aspect into it and that tends to vary among people, so I think that part should be left to their parents.

I don't know but our environment is not strong enough to take this positively.

Then what should one do?

People are still having sex left and right. vat eez thaa prabalam then?

Left and right are issue…

Shouldn’t it proper? :hmmm:

When they are old enough, get a psychologist to show them how it's done with dolls

How do Western educate sex education? I heard, this is more organized and have classes in school.

^Here in Britain, it's usually taught as part of biology courses at school as part of the regular biology curriculum. The emphasis is anatomy and the biological aspect of it, as well as other associated health issues, such as sexually transmitted diseases and such. They also give the parents the option of having their child opt out of that section and do alternate course work.

Its mean, it is also sensitive concern for Western parents. :hmmm:

^Yes, some parents prefer to explain it to their children themselves. Usually, parents do this because they also want to explain the moral/religious aspect of it, which the school does not do.

I personally feel that it should be the responsibility of parents to teach their kids by themselves....

^I agree, but, unfortunately, some parents are not very knowledgeable themselves on the subject (other than the basics) or are not inclined to teach their child because they are embarrassed and do not know how to approach the subject.

How do you see this lacking?

Gone are the days, when desi children used to ask their parents 'main kaise paida huwa/huwi'.

This is how GS is educating desi people.

^ I think… my thread is becomming mazak… :nahi: