serving pork

Is it allowed for somebody who works as a part-time chef to serve/cook pork for non-Muslims? keep in mind there is no physical contact with the pork and rubber catering gloves and ‘protective’ clothing (:D) are worn when handling the pork at all times.

If you go strictly according to Quran, it says that "lehm-ul-khinzeer" (meat of pig) is not permissible for muslims to eat. Thats all.

However, those who try to explain Islam, usually broaden the scope to include such things as touching pigs, breeding them or even saying "pig" aloud is likely to pollute your mouth and then you have to do tauba astaghfaar a few times to be able to pray namaaz. Not sure where they get their basis from. But if you follow, these strict interpretations, then likely you will be prohibited to deal with pork at all.

what about if you are a cardiac surgeon and muslim are you going to
use pig valves for human heart ? it saves human lives and pig valves
best fits human heart .

*Originally posted by rvikz: *
.... are you going to use pig valves for human heart ? ....

Guys! Where is this discussion leading to. Pig valves, Pig tale, Pig kidney; how does it relate to religion? Very lulloo comment indeed.

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
If you go strictly according to Quran, it says that "lehm-ul-khinzeer" (meat of pig) is not permissible for muslims to eat. Thats all.

actually i found 4 places in Quran where pork is mentioned and neither one of them mentions that is is 'not permissible for muslims to eat and thats all"....

it just says that is is haraam for muslims....
so it wud seem that u r the one who added the eating part (or rather restricted it to only the eating part)....

however, what is amazing in these verses (2:173, 6:145, 16:115) are the common words:
but he who is driven thereto, neither craving nor transgressing, lo! then Allah is Forgiving, Merciful.

First of all, for those who are trying to be scholars of Islam here...

It is not permissible for anyone to say, this is halaal and that is Haraam, if he has no sound evidence to that effect. Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):

“And say not concerning that which your tongues put forth falsely: ‘This is lawful and this is forbidden,’ so as to invent lies against Allaah. Verily, those who invent lies against Allaah will never prosper”

[al-Nahl 16:116]

It was narrated from Jaabir ibn ‘Abd-Allaah (may Allaah be pleased with him) that he heard the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) say when he was in Makkah at the time of the Conquest: **“Allaah and His Messenger have forbidden the sale of alcohol, dead meat, pork and idols.” **It was said: “O Messenger of Allaah, what do you think of the fat of dead animals, for ships are caulked with it and animal skins are daubed with it, and the people use it to light their lamps?” He said: “No, it is haraam.” Then the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “May Allaah curse the Jews, for when Allaah forbade them animal fat, they melted it down and sold it, and consumed its price.”

Narrated by al-Bukhaari, 1212; Muslim, 1581.

*Originally posted by armughal: *

actually i found 4 places in Quran where pork is mentioned and neither one of them mentions that is is 'not permissible for muslims to eat and thats all"....

it just says that is is haraam for muslims....
so it wud seem that u r the one who added the eating part (or rather restricted it to only the eating part)....

however, what is amazing in these verses (2:173, 6:145, 16:115) are the common words:
but he who is driven thereto, neither craving nor transgressing, lo! then Allah is Forgiving, Merciful.
armughal bhai jaan...

I don't really know how you read Quran.. but, kher, here are three translations of two verses for you to read and ponder. So, when you read 2:173, do try to check out 2:172 as well. Maybe its linked, right?

PICKTHAL: *O ye who believe! Eat of the good things wherewith We have provided you, and render thanks to Allah if it is (indeed) He Whom ye worship. *

PICKTHAL: *He hath forbidden you only carrion, and blood, and swineflesh, and that which hath been immolated to (the name of) any other than Allah. But he who is driven by necessity, neither craving nor transgressing, it is no sin for him. Lo! Allah is Forgiving, Merciful. *

The other one is 005.003, right?

PICKTHAL: Forbidden unto you (for food) are carrion and blood and **swineflesh, **and that which hath been dedicated unto any other than Allah, and the strangled, and the dead through beating, and the dead through falling from a height, and that which hath been killed by (the goring of) horns, and the devoured of wild beasts, saving that which ye make lawful (by the death-stroke), and that which hath been immolated unto idols.

Ok, what is next? 006.145
PICKTHAL: Say: I find not in that which is revealed unto me aught prohibited to an eater that he eat thereof, except it be carrion, or blood poured forth, or swineflesh - for that verily is foul - or the abomination which was immolated to the name of other than Allah. But whoso is compelled (thereto), neither craving nor transgressing, (for him) lo! thy Lord is Forgiving, Merciful.

And the last reference is

PICKTHAL: So eat of the lawful and good food which Allah hath provided for you, and thank the bounty of your Lord if it is Him ye serve.

PICKTHAL: He hath forbidden for you only carrion and blood and **swineflesh **and that which hath been immolated in the name of any other than Allah; but he who is driven thereto, neither craving nor transgressing, lo! then Allah is Forgiving, Merciful.

Agay, aap sabb aqalmandd hein. Jazak Allah Khair.

Re: serving pork

*Originally posted by Naadir: *
Is it allowed for somebody who works as a part-time chef to serve/cook pork for non-Muslims? keep in mind there is no physical contact with the pork and rubber catering gloves and 'protective' clothing (:D) are worn when handling the pork at all times.

well even before that...you need to et clarified whether it is permissible for you to serve non-halaal chicken, turkey and goat to non-muslims as a chef. pork tou baad ki baat hai.

Faisal bhai, brackets me (for eating) aap daalein ya koyee or, what difference does it make????
the point is that the words dont exist in the original arabic text of the Quran....

Thanks guys, may Allah reward you especilly brother Hijaazi I think that hadith has made it perfectly clear, thanks.

*Originally posted by armughal: *

the point is that the words dont exist in the original arabic text of the Quran....

They do, as Faisal partly pointed out, either in the verse itself or in the context of the preceding verse... in summary...

2:172-173... starts with "eat" (in the Arabic)

5:3... concludes with "hunger" (in the Arabic)... so the context is food

6:145... clearly mentions "eat" and "the one who eats" (in the Arabic)

16:114-115... starts with "eat" (in the Arabic)

Thanks guys, ...

You are welcome.

...I think that hadith has made it perfectly clear....

You mean hadees makes sense as to what?

Is it correct to assume that the Luton aloo store won't sell pork anymore?

Daggon it!

To Br. Hijaazi,

I wanted to checkout your references to Al-Bukhari(1212) and Muslim(1581) but could not see the hadith you are referring to. Please let me know the volume and chapter as it will help me tremendously. I know many brothers who want to get into fast food businesses that deal with pork and I want to share these ahadees with them.

I have 9 volumes of Al-Bukhari by Darussalam publishers and translation by Mumammad Muhsin Khan
and
I have 4 volumes of Muslim printed in India and renderred into english by Abdul Hamid Siddiqi.

JazakAllah khair

*Originally posted by zman: *
To Br. Hijaazi,

I wanted to checkout your references to Al-Bukhari(1212) and Muslim(1581) but could not see the hadith you are referring to. Please let me know the volume and chapter as it will help me tremendously. I know many brothers who want to get into fast food businesses that deal with pork and I want to share these ahadees with them.

I have 9 volumes of Al-Bukhari by Darussalam publishers and translation by Mumammad Muhsin Khan
and
I have 4 volumes of Muslim printed in India and renderred into english by Abdul Hamid Siddiqi.

JazakAllah khair

you think they will listen? they will probably call u an extremist and say leave us alone you fanatic mullah. if you can do it, then by allah you have courage and may allah bless you and us all.

but it is our duty to either stop a bad action by hand, if not that then speak against it if not that then dont accept it in our hearts and it is the least of iman. so your words are indeed good effort inshallah.

“Allaah and His Messenger have forbidden the sale of alcohol, dead meat, pork and idols.”

Just out of curiosity does this mean working in places such as supermarkets which sell animate objects (idols), alcoholic beverages, dead meat and pork also forbidden?

It’s actually a restaurant/takeaway, .....

Cool now we all know Aloo store has a take away section too.

Good luck mate. I realize, living in UK and running the aloo store is difficult. Especially when its hourly wageworkers refuse to handle pork chops. BTW are these workers OK with drinking or serving alcohol? During my oversees trips I have seen that Arabs in particular and Pakistanis in general are more tolerant of drinking and less so of bacon etc.

Well who said following Islamic principles is easy. But remain steadfast. I am sure AK 47 and you will get the same tent in Jannat. Ameen.

*Originally posted by zman: *

I wanted to checkout your references to Al-Bukhari(1212) and Muslim(1581) but could not see the hadith you are referring to...

and I have 4 volumes of Muslim printed in India and renderred into english by Abdul Hamid Siddiqi.

In the English translation of Sahih al Bukhari, look in Vol.3, Book of Sales, p.241... it's hadith #438

And in the English Sahih Muslim, look in The Book of Transactions, Chapter 34: Prohibition of the sale of wine, carcass, swine and idols... specific reference is hadith #3840

^ :jazak: