Sensitive mother

Do you ever get told you are a sensitive mother?
I am at multiple occassions by different ppl.
Personally i think its because of the difference in culture. Most of my upbringing was in NOrth america. Agter getting married i moved to pakistan and have a noticed a hige amount of difference between how kids r raised here n over there. I mean come on i am the type of mother who worries if her baby doesnt eat much and my baby is already in the very bottom percentile for weight. I worry for germs (everyone wears outside shoes inside the house where baby crawls–no carpeting).
And my baby is high need baby so he demands me a lot.
I dont like it when im told i m sensitive but ppl still do. Thot wud ask other mothers. Do u get told that?

Re: Sensitive mother

I’ve never been told that but I do get people question why I do things a certain way.
Like this aunty was holding my son in her lap. She had a bowl of rice in front of her (this was at a party) and she asks me if he eats rice. He had just turned 6 months old!!! So I told her that we haven’t introduced it and he just started purees, so no. What happens when I look the other way for a second? My son is choking on the rice she put in his mouth!!! Pissed me off. All she says is that maine to apne sab bachon ko iss umar main chawal diye te, tum apne bache ko zyada baby bana rahi ho. Wth.

Just remember that he’s your child. You are the only person (other than your husband) who has a say in his upbringing.

The ‘comparison’ is just purely un-necessary lip service…in one and out the other ear!!!

I don’t think you should worry about what people say…please don’t allow this to upset you. YOu know your kid better than anyone else on the planet - do what you think is right for them.

Funny you said that Reha… My mother in law claims that she knows my son better than I do .. Not just that. She also claims that she loves him more than me. Ummm ok whatever… She’s a nice lady but when it comes to my son she’s super possessive. His ped said I can start chicken when he turned 7 months she won’t let me give it to him and few other things. But when I wasn’t around she made chicken and fed him :frowning: she says I m not raising him right I told my husband she raised her kids now she needs to let me raise mine

Grandparents can be possessive…but you keep doing what is best for your child. You don’t have to listen to anyone else or do what anyone says. At the end of the day, who is held responsible? You or your MIL? So if you’re the one responsible for your son, its also your right to do what is best for him.

My nephew started cereal at 4 months and chicken at 6 months - kinda early but his ped said he was ready so that was it. Lots of people have opinions on how to raise kids…but seriously…unless you’re raising the kid yourself…I say butt out.

My son has severe severe seperation anxiety, he is few weeks shy of 14 months, his doctors say it is very common b/w 12-18. At around 18 months it slowly starts to fade away.

When are in desi gathering, we always come across couple aunties who would try to makes me feel embarrassed by saying things like “iss keah saath masla kiya hai”, “yeah kiya her waqat assay rota hai kiya”, etc I just tell them it’s seperation anxiety and I move on.
All you have to do is listen from one ear and out from the other.