Sending abusive husbands to jail

Re: Sending abusive husbands to jail

funguy, thank you. I had no idea domestic violence related visits to the jail won't count as criminal offence or wouldn't make a difference when it comes to getting a job.

ahmedjee, I never even once suggested that the wife should shut up and continue living with such a man.

pcg, I wasn't thinking of extrme cases. Definitely broken bones, death threats and the like need to be addressed to the police asap.

I was thinking more like the husband hitting you where it may not even leave bruises on you. Am I going to bother reporting that? Most likely no. Am I going to continue living with a man who raises his hand on me once? No. I'd rather walk away than getting him thrown in the jail, unless he badly abuses me and at that point I would report it to the police and leave him.

I should've been more clear in my initial post. I apologize.

Sadiyah, I know you didn't. I was just making a point out of my own observation.

I am 100% in favour of domestic abuse cases getting sent to court and the husbands getting at minimum 5 to 7 years in jail. Domestic abuse is not acceptible under any circumstances. Secondly the reason most women don't report abuse cases as they are afraid of what will happen to them and their family. They also may not know their rights as such dirt bags like to force their women to be incapable of doing things themselves. Lastly they don't do it because they have some stupid notion that he will change or for the sake of the kids. A man who can hit you can hit your kids. Plus who knows what else he is capable of.

Any man who hits a woman deserves to have his testicles removed unsedated. Look a man who hits you once will hit you again. If women folk don't stand up for the first time it is a green light to do it again. The problem is that domestic abuse is not a serious crime anywhere in the world. If you go out on the street and beat a man, you get 2 or 3 days in jail and you have to do some sort of service. If you do it regularly you can get longer jail time.

Domestic abuse is much worse than this above case as it is physical, emotional and psychological abuse. Added to that it destorys a person's sense of worth and identity. That is much worse tha physical damage. That should be considered heavily when the *******s get jail time.

what if women hit their men instead? or just tell lies to police to get her husband in trouble. aur agar husband shareef sa admi ho, doesnt report the abuse.. should the woman be thrown in jail as well?
kuch achi khasi khatarnak qism ki bhi khawateen hoti hai akhir. what should a husband do in that case?

File for divorce. A woman has to make sure her house is in order. If she can't do that and fights with the man he should find someone who will make him a proper home. Finding eligible desi women is not hard from what i have heard. Finding the men is a major problem.

First of all, if kids are involved in an abusive marriage, make sure you have a case registered against him/her, else you will most probably end up sharing your kids with a violent person for a very long time, even if you're divorced.

An abusive husband or rather a desi husband doesn't just let his wife divorce him, its a matter of ego. You can't just divorce a jahil, he will involve the entire extended khaandaan who wont agree with the abuse being serious enough to validate a separation let alone divorce.

As for laws to protect her, in worst case she can be removed from her house and husband will not be told about her whereabouts. In Dk, the welfare system takes full care of you, provides a house, money, school for kids and if you need help to start afresh, schooling for you too. The husband will most likely not be allowed to see you, they'll move her to another island if needed. If he's a desi on visa, his visa will be cancelled and he'll be thrown back.

Waise a violent husband in most cases is violent because they know you can't do anything to stop him. Once you take a stand, he'll be terrified and on his knees. In anycase, zulm karna aur sehna dono jurm haiN.

Sadiyah -- You definately do have a point. In a lot of cases after the husband gets out of jail he actually tries to look up the wife and family just to get back at them. I know of such cases and the thought is scary! People have to change cities and names and the children have to be taught they must never reveal their background.

As scary as it is when the guy is after the family like that, it is still far better than being in such an abusive family. Too many women stay in such a marriage because they are terrified. Of what he might do if he finds she informed the police, or what he might do after he gets out. But this fear should not over power their fear of what he might do if they stay with him.

I think any woman who is in an abusive relationship should go to the police, take the kids, and never tell him she plans on "telling on him" . If you look up stats for abusive marriages, you would be shocked. Some women tell the guy they wil lgo to the police, he either harms them or the children.

Its better to leave him and take chances rather than stay and risk lives those of herself and those of her children. And plenty of help IS available for such women and families.

This is the second time in a day, I cannot disagree to your ideas.

However, both the partners in a marriage are guilty of emotionally abusing the other, at one time or another. Women are much better at it then men.

PCG: You make it seem like all the desi men are abusers. Come on. Come out of it. This is not true.

LOL! Its a rarity when people agree with me for the first time. A second time is unheard off. Personally i don't think women emotionally abuse men. They do use emotions to for a lack of a better word blackmail the men. I am assuming you are a guy of course, but hey we expect it. A woman being emotional is expected and acceptable. If my lady fair was not being emotional and bottled it up and was all logical, i for one would be very afraid of what was in store for me :o :p