Sena MP forced a fasting Muslim to eat Chapati

lo kar lo gal… Amir Liquat ke aam ka rona kam tha jo ab ye log :smack:

Sena MPs

A group of around 11 Shiv Sena MPs, apparently angry over not being served Maharashtrian food, allegedly forced a Muslim catering superviser who was fasting for Ramzan to eat a chapati at the new Maharashtra Sadan in Delhi last week.

The Maharashtra government has said it is examining the matter, and has promised “appropriate action”. The MPs have said that they were “insulted” at the Sadan, but claimed that the allegations against them were “wrong”.

In an email sent to Resident Commissioner Bipin Mallick on July 17, IRCTC Deputy GM Shankar Malhotra wrote: “Today there was a meeting of 12-15 MPs at New Maharashtra Sadan in the Press Conference Hall in which they were complaining about the services of Electrical, civil, housekeeping, catering, etc. which they are facing from the last several months in the premises of Maharashtra Sadan.

**“The entire delegation along with the electronic media and Manager, Maharashtra Sadan, walked inside the public dining hall and started throwing chafing dish covers in the buffet area. They also issued physical threats to the kitchen and service staff while using highly objectionable language. The specific incident happened with the Resident Manager/IRCTC, Sh. Arshad who was forced to consume full chapati whilst he was having fast on the eve of Ramzan. The concerned has been deeply pained and hurt on this account as religious sentiments are attached.”

Malhotra said that the MPs “demanded [a] Maharashtrian caterer in the NMS [New Maharashtra Sadan]. It may be noted that this is not the first time that such an incident has happened. We have received no support from the NMS management in this regard.”

In his complaint, which was forwarded to Mallick, Arshad said, “All the guests along with media reporters and staffs of Maharashtra Sadan got into kitchen where I was getting the orders prepared. They caught me and put the chapati into my mouth. I was wearing a formal uniform set as prescribed by IRCTC and everybody in the panel also knew my name as ‘Arshad’ as I was wearing the name tag. Even then they inserted chapati in my mouth which caused my fast to break on the eve of Ramzan. I was hurt with the thing they have done as religious sentiments are concerned.”

Soon after the incident, IRCTC pulled out of work at the Sadan because of “instances of manhandling of staff, use of abusive language, discriminatory actions with regional and religious biases and veiled threats towards the personnel of IRCTC as well as the service provider”. The canteen at the Sadan is currently shut.

Mallick, the Resident Commissioner, sent a letter of apology to IRCTC, expressing “his shock” at the incident.

“I can understand the pain and the agony of your Resident Manager, Mr. Arshad who was forced to do something against his religious belief. On behalf of my state government, I convey sincere apology to Mr. Arshad for the indignation caused to him by a few Hon’ble MPs while he was performing his duties and rendering services for our government. I would like to meet him personally and convey the sentiments of our government,” Mallick said in the letter, which has been accessed by The Indian Express.

Re: Sena MP forced a fasting Muslim to eat Chapati

Thugs. In the late 60s the Sena targeted south indians. Now moved on to muslims. Throw the book at the perpetrators. No room for such nonsense.

I’d shower him with gaaliyan, but it’s Ramzan. Not that it’d be allowed outside of this month either.

The shocking point is it was done before the media. Means these people have full leverage to do what they want to do.

Also this statement by MP is adding insult to the injury.. with an attitude… jo bigaR sakte ho bigaR ke dikhao:

"Mumbai-South MP Arvind Sawant said, “I have been living there for the past two months, and have faced nothing but** insults**. There are so many rooms here for MLAs, Ministers of State and Secretaries, but all the MPs from Maharashtra have been boxed into tiny rooms. All of this, even as 4 MPs from Uttar Pradesh have larger rooms. Is this not an insult?”

Sawant added, “The food at the Sadan is terrible. It is run by the Railways people who know nothing about Maharashtrian food. If you go to Andhra Bhawan, you are served Andhra food, but here Railways people make the food. They even gave stale water. We wanted to sort these issues out amicably, and did not come with the intention of committing violence. But even on that day, the Resident Commissioner refused to meet us, and after a lot of delay, said that he had gone to receive the Chief Secretary at the airport. Is that not an insult? No tod phod happened at all, but we have been provoked in a sustained manner. Nobody was manhandled, but if you keep abusing, will someone not slap?"

Typical desi politician. small things like not being serviced tasty food, is insult to him, but doing that act was like showering flowers.

Shiv Sena, they always need some enemy of Maharashtrian to thrive on :slight_smile: from lungi to muslim now :slight_smile:

Shiv Sena has always thrived on the politics of hate…it’s now Modi’s job to reign them in or else he will not win the next election.

A short Roza for this guy. Niyyat ka sawab tou mil hi Gaya ho ga usko.

Where is that guppy, who is always singing songs of Terrorist muslims?

I don’t know how to TAG people. His nick is Arleitter

Horrible. And now they are claiming that it never happened.

You lost me at “Shiv Sena MPs”..

People should be respected and not discriminated against regardless of race, religion and sexual orientation. No exceptions.

Those of us who rightly feel outraged at this should feel the same when the other two categories listed are adversely affected.

the world;s biggest so-called “democracy” eh

Shiv Sena MPs ‘force’ fasting staffer to eat on tape - YouTube

so this was all live and still they are saying it didn’t happen. hadd hai dhitai ki :smack:

Seems that all is not well with these politicians.

http://www.firstpost.com/politics/shiv-sena-mp-force-feeds-fasting-muslim-a-curious-case-of-communal-chapati-1630795.html

Now, we are used to goondagardi from elected officials and their minions. Shiv Sena MLA Anil Kadam and his supporters ransacked a toll booth in Nashik because the staff had the temerity to demand toll from him. MLAs are exempt from toll but Kadam was in a private car. “I’m warning you, I will ask the women of my family to strip you,” Kadam threatened all the women staff at the booth.

Before that, Gujarat Congress MP Vitthal Radadia flashed a gun in a toll booth in Vadodara because he had been asked to pay up as well as did Samajwadi party MLA Abdul Rashid. Our politicians, who disagree on so much, are united by thuggery. Buses. Toll booths. New Maharashtra Sadan. These are all examples of public property that can be defaced and ransacked at will to show displeasure. An MP or an MLA should be a guardian of public property. Instead it is treated as their own property, baap ka maal, to be destroyed at will and with impunity.

We are all accustomed to living in an entitlement society. Otherwise the bahu of a the Samajwadi Party leader Ram Gopal Yadav would not threaten a hapless chemist for not stocking the brand of cough syrup she wanted. "S*e tere ko dukan se hi uthwa loongi, tu wahi rook," Richa Yadav yelled at the Delhi chemist for his unforgivable offence. After that five goons, including two policemen carrying machine guns came and beat the man up. This is lal batti culture run amuck.

Interesting analysis:**

But the Maharashtra Sadan incident marks the unholy union of goondagardi culture and an entitlement society made even more noxious this time because it involves the Shiv Sena’s patented brand of communalism – i.e. offending the religious sentiments of a despised minority. Had Arshad Zubair S. not been Muslim he might have just been roughed up. But he had a chapati shoved in his mouth because when the Shiv Sena gets an opportunity to humiliate a member of the minority community, why pass it up?

Amravati MP Anandrao Adsul has denied any communal intent: “I was present there, the food served was of poor quality so we asked attendant to check quality. We didn’t know his religion and to make an issue out of this is wrong.”

Shiv Sena MP Rajan Vichare – who was captured on camera footage as doing the deed – did one better. He was outraged at the outrage. “The facilities aren’t proper at Maharashtra Sadan. **Incident is being given a communal colour, must not do so. **It is the same thing as going to a restaurant. If you are served bad food, won’t you call the manager and ask him to taste it? We did the same,” he said.

In other words, that Arshad is a Muslim fasting for Ramzan is entirely irrelevant – and should not impinge on Vichare’s right to shove food that offends him into the mouth of lowly staff. This then is the Shiv Sena’s pretence to secularism: They are equal opportunity goondas blind to creed, caste or religion. If they happened to add religious insult to usual thuggery because Arshad happened to be Muslim, it is hardly their fault.

Absolutely disgusting and unacceptable.

But let me be the devil’s advocate and repeat the line that gets thrown around everywhere in this forum by every second person - “where is the outrage?”.

The Government has said that it will verify the incident.

Govt plays it safe as Shiv Sena denies MP forced fasting Muslim man to eat chapati - Hindustan Times