Sehwag breaks Sachin's ODI record, slams 219 vs Windies in 4th ODI

Re: Sehwag breaks Sachin's ODI record, slams 219 vs Windies in 4th ODI

Everything came out of the middle of the bat. Dam.

Re: Sehwag breaks Sachin’s ODI record, slams 219 vs Windies in 4th ODI

so? you think England Aussie ground are ‘correct’ and desi pitches are wrong? why because gora said so?:smack:

Inspired by Amitabh’s ‘Shahenshah’ (1988)

Afridi to Sehwag: 'rishtey main to hum tumharay baap lagtay hain, naam hai Sahibzaada!!

When did i said Asian pitches are wrong :rolleyes:

HAHA LOL

LOL !! Sehwag is what Pakistani fans dreamt that Afridi could become when he first came to the stage.

I finally got the time to watch the highlights. It was quite a massacre. A lot of intelligent shots in the gaps. A lot of strong cover drives. And of course a lot of thappars for 6. A lot of them were BIG 6s too.

What I reallly really enjoy about a Sehwag innings is that he doesn't give a **** if he is at 96 or 196, record or no record.. there is no slowing down for singles.. there is no change in attitude...there are no veiled expectations from the other batter to give him strike if they are running out of time..(unlike a certain other cricketing great, and many other good international batters) ...he is gonna keep smacking it no matter what .. what an entertainer!

The attitude is a bit similar to Afridi isn't it? Keep smacking no matter what. The difference is that Sehwag is largely successful in doing it so he keeps doing it.. specially since he opens and has a good group of batters to come after him.. in Afridi's case he is largely unsuccessful, but he still keeps doing it.. regardless of the situation and the fact that there is no decent batter after him.

There is no comparison of Afridi and Sehwag ......Sehwag is a proper tulla player ok i mean proper batsman and Afridi is a genuine All rounder

Still Sehwag couldnt break Afridi 37 ball century record :D

Yaar aap ne to dil pe ley liya!! ... It was meant as a joke . No knowledgeable cricket fan in their right mind w'd say that Afridi (I see him more as a genuine bowling allrounder in ODIs who can slog successfully at times as well) is a better batsman than Sehwag!!

When it comes to master blasters **in ODI who were/are **genuine batters as well, I rate them as follows:

1. Viv Richards
  2. Gilchrist
  3. Sehwag
  4. Jayasuriya
  5. Chris Gayle

Gayle should at No 5

just added his name to the list ... Thanks

:hat:

hahha Asif I know I know no clarifications needed from you.. Waleed bol de to main mithayan batoonga!

I think it's a shame that the IPL has not resulted in any 2 out of Sehwag, Gilchrist and Gayle opening together!!

Krishnamachari Srikkanth's name is missing (and rightly so)

Ok mein keh deta hon shart yeh hai pehla mithayi ka dabba mjhe bhejna :D

Is he the chief selector of India na

^ yes - but I was thinking of his days as a swashbuckling opening batsman, who coulld make one's fans tear their hair out in frustration or jump with joy - no middle ground

Gordon Greenidge was ferocious.

True … but rather surpringly his career SR is only 64.92!!

Even Sachin, Aravinda De Silva, Ponting, Gibbs and Dhoni have played some blistering one-day knocks but the above-mentioned names are more devastating when it comes to clean, pure hitting IMO

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/content/records/83548.html

^ i did not realize that. What was Viv Richards' strike rate in 1-day cricket? Could it be rules were different then in terms of field placing.

also if I recall they used to play 60 overs. So openers probably had to build the innings more than current day openers.

And the transition from Test was just happening - so some of the unorthodox shots seen now had not taken hold.

And other batting aids like helmet and other gear

90.20 and Viv played in an era in which (as you rightly mentioned) there were many 60-over one-day games (different demands to 50 over games!!)

If Viv had played in the present era of batting-friendly rules (and pitches) and not many quality fast bowlers, his SR I am sure w'd have been 100+

Wow - that is Class indeed.

Something tells me Clive Lloyd, The Cat, would also have had a decent Strike rate. Or was he called The Panther

I swear to god when I looked at it, it seemed like G U I L T _.

Fill in the blank.