How common are they in Pakistan? Are they looked down upon?
Re: Segregated weddings
As much as I have observed, there is more or less 70:30 ratio between non-segregated and segregated weddings. Not looked down upon as such. Many conservative families take segregation route and their guests attend with the knowledge, k miaan ji/ begum saheba say thori der ki doori bardasht karni he paray gi.
reacently attended 3 weddings in pak:
1st: barat segregated and welima non segerated and felt very unconfortable as there is mostly segregated weddings in pak and throughout the function you could notice gents staring ladies.
2: totally segerated
3rd: barat semi segregated....hall was divided by pillers and that kind of gave semi coverage but really good
welima: segregated totally.
overall i preferred segregated in pakistani atmosphere
Commonly not segregated They are mixed.people here don't prefer segregated may be a culture of mixed gathering very common in karachi specially i dont know the other parts of the country but i really like segregated which is properly segregated like waitress are there to serve...attented few months back valima of my friend...barey he nahi pasand karty segregated tu baki choty kiya karein..may Allah guide us Ameen
The weddings i've experienced in Pakistan... mehndi always segregated. Barat is mixed in that there is one hall but one side is for women and the other side of the hall for men. Walima almost always segregated as well... one venue, different rooms/parts.
In the US/Canada... all events are mixed, except fo mehndi when the girls want to dance...from what i've seen.
Most aren't segragated.
Segregated weddings are weird.
As much as I have observed, there is more or less 70:30 ratio between non-segregated and segregated weddings. Not looked down upon as such. Many conservative families take segregation route and their guests attend with the knowledge, k miaan ji/ begum saheba say thori der ki doori bardasht karni he paray gi.
reacently attended 3 weddings in pak: 1st: barat segregated and welima non segerated and felt very unconfortable as there is mostly segregated weddings in pak and throughout the function you could notice gents staring ladies.
2: totally segerated
3rd: barat semi segregated....hall was divided by pillers and that kind of gave semi coverage but really good
welima: segregated totally.
overall i preferred segregated in pakistani atmosphere
Commonly not segregated They are mixed.people here don't prefer segregated may be a culture of mixed gathering very common in karachi specially i dont know the other parts of the country but i really like segregated which is properly segregated like waitress are there to serve...attented few months back valima of my friend...barey he nahi pasand karty segregated tu baki choty kiya karein..may Allah guide us Ameen
The weddings i've experienced in Pakistan... mehndi always segregated. Barat is mixed in that there is one hall but one side is for women and the other side of the hall for men. Walima almost always segregated as well... one venue, different rooms/parts.
In the US/Canada... all events are mixed, except fo mehndi when the girls want to dance...from what i've seen.
Most aren't segragated.
Segregated weddings are weird.
Thank You for the replies.
We have segregated weddings where I live and I like it that way.
Have mixed weddings always been a part of Pakistani culture?
In UK a lot of them are segregated.
Pakistani weddings?
I've never been to a desi wedding which was completely segregated - like the arab weddings, where male family members aren't allowed either. Usually, from what I've seen, most desi weddings here are semi segregated - male family members are allowed at the female side for photos etc. But it's def becoming more common to have mixed weddings now compared to before, IMO.
Pakistani weddings?
Yep. Infact so far other than twice I havent been to a wedding which wasnt segregated
Oh wow... That's Interesting
I've never been to a desi wedding which was completely segregated - like the arab weddings, where male family members aren't allowed either. Usually, from what I've seen, most desi weddings here are semi segregated - male family members are allowed at the female side for photos etc. But it's def becoming more common to have mixed weddings now compared to before, IMO.
Apparently mixed weddings are more common in Pakistan.
I've never been to a wedding that was completed segregated lol. Here in my community in the US, weddings are all mixed. A mehndi may be ladies only buy the actually wedding/nikkah is always mixed with the nikkah being performed with the bride and groom seated together side by side in front of all. I've never seen it done any other way.
Oh wow... That's Interesting
I have found some people here are far far more religious than some of the people I know in Pakistan, which is bizarre. Some of my friends are too religious for my liking that I find myself completely out of place lol.
I have been to only one wedding segregated wedding. Wo bhi..segregated nahi tha etnaa...Mostly dinner kay b'aad ppl were just hanging out here and there. (Beech mayn parda thaa).
I prefer to go mixed wedding. Segregated not my cup of tea.
I have seen both segregated and non-segregated weddings here. Both turned out well. The former doesn't bug me since I hang out with the ladies anyway.
Mixed weddings have greater chance of more mixed weddings... You never know, when an opportunity arrives...
I have attended both kind of weddings. Segregated were very common back in 90s, now segregation is limited to religiously conservative families.
Why should that looked down upon?