Regardless it's your first or second marriage i think you should wear you like. So just cuz it's your second marriage you are not suppose to celebrate it? I m so sick of this desi mentality and worrying about what people might say... Who cares it's your day enjoy :)
For me, I would go ahead and do what I like but keep it on a smaller scale.
My reasons are not that I feel it should be a modest event because its the second time around.
What I feel is - I wasted a lot of money on my first and despite spending so much on flowers, stages, decor, etc...none of it came to my rescue when things got bad.
So, I will choose to keep things elegant, simple and focus more on my relationship than anything else.
a reason for people not going OTT for their second wedding could be because they realise that the wedding is just a day, its the marriage that matters, and they want to waste money in somethign so trivial.
but toning it down to please others and the whole what other people would think is just dumb.
ur wedding is ur wedding. whether its ur first, second or fourth.
its ur day and you could wear whatever you please.
Two of my aunties are divorcees.. One went all out the second time round like the first whilst the other went for something more low-key.. Each to their own..
u wear and enjoy it as if its ur first!..... wear watever you would worn on first!...... the excitement should not be decreased!.... it should be enjoyed as if first!
i know a few girls that got married the second time around and pretty much had it as if it was their first.. thats how it should be. people will make comment regardless of what you decide to do.. if you like red lenghas go for it by all means its your wedding day :)
You wear whatever you want...you make it however you want it to be. People will wag their tongues no matter if it's your first marriage or your third...and they'll do so till the crack of doom. You can't stop them. They will not pay your wedding bills. They will not help you out when you have marital problems. The only contribution they'll make is to show up at your wedding and stuff their faces with food. It's your special day...even if it's the second time around.
You do what makes you happy. It does not matter if it's your 2nd marriage you still have every right to be happy and to look good for self and for your spouse. It's a khushi ka din and don't let it get spoiled just because something bad happened in your past or your 1st marriage did not survive.
If I marry again I would like to have a small gathering with very few people who are close to me and I would want to dress decently with soft colours and soft make up. My reasons are that after my bad phase in life I came to know who are REALLY my folks and who really care and 2nd time around I don't want to be surrounded with a bunch of people who are just interested in food and gossiping. For soft makeup and dressing my reason is that I am a mom now and I want to take into account my age and my position as a mother now.
So this is probably not a topic we come across often - hope it doesnt offend anyone or wrinkle any noses but what do second time desi brides wear?
Specifically to the Mehndi, Nikkah, Rukhsati and Valima.
I've only seen a couple second time weddings but havent been able to gather many ideas.
Thanks!
I'm getting married the second time (end of december this year, inshAllah). The first time (I was 18), I had the whole wedding thingy going on, with dholkis', mayoun, mehndi, baraat and walima, and wore the usual colours as yellow for mayoun, red for baraat etc. This time though (now I'm 23), I am going for a more simple wedding, certainly NOT because it's my second wedding, but because I wan't to have the wedding done according to Islamic values and traditions. I am having a very intimate gathering, with my female cousins and my aunts at home, where we'll have dua-e-khair, and then later on apply mehndi and all that goes with it. For this I have a very simple dark blue suit, with a touch of banarsi on it.
For the nikkah/waleema ceremony I'm wearing a white/offwhite lehnga. My would-be husband is wearing a black simple sherwani, and yes, it's his first marriage.
My son (who is now 3 mashAllah), will be present at the wedding, and I will make sure he's very much part of all the ceremonies taken place at the wedding inshAllah. First or second marriage, do what makes you happy! It's your day, and no one else's! :)