A study out of the University of Tennessee Knoxville suggests that the secret to marital bliss may just be a skinnier wife. WRCB TV in Chattanooga, Tenn., reports:
A study by University of Tennessee, Knoxville, doctoral candidate Andrea Meltzer and psychology Associate Professor James McNulty shows married couples are happier when wives are thinner than their husbands.
Over the course of four years, Meltzer and McNulty followed 169 newlywed couples, tracking each partner’s height and weight and having each participant privately fill out marriage satisfaction surveys every six months.
The findings, after controlling for depression, income and education factors, showed that both men and women were more satisfied in their marriages if the wife had a lower body mass index (BMI) than her husband.
“We believe that the discrepancies between partners’ BMIs affected women only through their effects on men, which takes time to emerge,” Meltzer said. “In other words, we believe that the wives are happy because their husbands are happy.”
However, an essential clarification that the researchers were keen to highlight is that the key to happiness in marriage is not a supermodel skinny wife. Size 0 or size 16 was not the issue.
“Our study does not show that women have to be ‘thin’ in absolute terms,” Meltzer said. “Rather, it shows that women of any size can be happy as long as they are with the right partner. It’s relative weight that matters, not absolute weight.”
So, large women can be happy too, but with larger men.
Re: Secert of a happy marriage for men (supported by scientific study)..
Ok this might just be the topic to ask a question i have on my mind.
Does your weight/body determines how good or bad you are in bed? It's a serious question! Otherwise i don't understand this "obsession" with thin girls nowadays. The boys don't mind ugly girls (no offense) as long as they are thin and no i am not assuming i have heard it myself.
I always thought curvy/thick girls were sexier looking hence would be more attractive to the boys too but i guess not. So what's the deal here?
The only reason that comes to my mind is that most curvy/thick girls are conscious about their body thanks to how people around them percieve them so maybe lack of confidence in them is what is putting off?!
I had love to hear what the guys have to say to this. And please lets not act like 10 years old here.
ZK, There is no doubt guys like skinny girls. But I have also heard that some guys like little bit chubby and cute girls and not overly skinny girls. I guess, such men want more meat ;).
I guess, every guy is different in his choice of girl. But of course, no guy would be very attractive to an obese girl at first sight unless he is attracted with her personality and nature or any other thing. I have seen guys marrying very obese girls but then there might be reasons other than physical attractiveness. I know a case where a guy from Pakistan married a highly obese girl who had UK passport and he is now settled with his wife in the UK. So this makes sense.
ZK, There is no doubt guys like skinny girls. But I have also heard that some guys like little bit chubby and cute girls and not overly skinny girls. I guess, such men want more meat ;).
LolS. "Meat lovers"! Sounds so much like a pizza flavour :p
But the question is WHY the stress on skinny girls because i don't think they look better. Heck the guys say we don't care how she looks but just should be slim. So i am assuming they just are better in bed :D.
You know i went to a party last week and the aunties as usual couldnt help but gossip with each other about each other. So this one aunty was telling the other that did you see so n so's bahu n how she is chubby and that was the highlight and it didnt matter how pretty she was. And this aunty goes on to say that i would be ok with an average looking bahu but not a chubby one. N how she fears she just might end up with one such girl. And there i was dumbfounded by her stupidity. She didnt care if her bahu was shareef, educated, from a good family or anything of that sort but her "body" should be fit. Lols. So i am thinking there is more to the body than we think ;).
i dont know abt others but desi men will only marry a fat girl if there is a big bonus like a us/uk citizenship or a blank check attached to the girl. Skinny girls may or may not be good in bed but desi guys THINK N ASSUME that shes gonna be a tight fit...........
so you think guys will only marry obese girls for their other attributes? how shallow
my dear its not the thinking, its how it goes....i also know of a guy who is a doctor from pakistan n married an obese girl just because she had us citizenship.....i have yet to see a guy marrying an obese girl out of pure love .....it doesnt happen in real world agar hota bhy hai tu attay mai namaak kay barabar
i DON'T like stick thin girls, they look like walking dead people, sometimes you can see there spine or there ribs, Tis nasty. I am a healthy size 10. I am not sure what that is in US thingies. But I think anything beyond a certain weight is wrong - as in being 5ft 10 and 7 stone - WRONG.
Girls who are that thin with the height are in hospital
my dear its not the thinking, its how it goes....i also know of a guy who is a doctor from pakistan n married an obese girl just because she had us citizenship.....i have yet to see a guy marrying an obese girl out of pure love .....it doesnt happen in real world agar hota bhy hai tu attay mai namaak kay barabar
thats not entirely true I know of many couples who are married and the female is over weight and they live and were born in the same country! (Pakistan and UK)
I don't understand why women should tolerate men being obese while the women have to be skinny. What if the skinny girl you got married to was pure evil?
You know i went to a party last week and the aunties as usual couldnt help but gossip with each other about each other. So this one aunty was telling the other that did you see so n so's bahu n how she is chubby and that was the highlight and it didnt matter how pretty she was. And this aunty goes on to say that i would be ok with an average looking bahu but not a chubby one. N how she fears she just might end up with one such girl. And there i was dumbfounded by her stupidity. She didnt care if her bahu was shareef, educated, from a good family or anything of that sort but her "body" should be fit. Lols. So i am thinking there is more to the body than we think ;).
A woman is pretty no matter her weight, but the weight is controllable, and the weight gain is a point of gossip. you cant control your beauty... so control your weight at least.
Ok this might just be the topic to ask a question i have on my mind.
Does your weight/body determines how good or bad you are in bed? It's a serious question! Otherwise i don't understand this "obsession" with thin girls nowadays. The boys don't mind ugly girls (no offense) as long as they are thin and no i am not assuming i have heard it myself.
I always thought curvy/thick girls were sexier looking hence would be more attractive to the boys too but i guess not. So what's the deal here?
The only reason that comes to my mind is that most curvy/thick girls are conscious about their body thanks to how people around them percieve them so maybe lack of confidence in them is what is putting off?!
I had love to hear what the guys have to say to this. And please lets not act like 10 years old here.
I guess, every guy is different in his choice of girl. But of course, no guy would be very attractive to an obese girl at first sight unless he is attracted with her personality and nature or any other thing. I have seen guys marrying very obese girls but then there might be reasons other than physical attractiveness. I know a case where a guy from Pakistan married a highly obese girl who had UK passport and he is now settled with his wife in the UK. So this makes sense.
LolS. "Meat lovers"! Sounds so much like a pizza flavour :p
But the question is WHY the stress on skinny girls because i don't think they look better. Heck the guys say we don't care how she looks but just should be slim. So i am assuming they just are better in bed :D.
Did anyone else find these posts ridiculous/hilarious or is it just me?!
back to origianl thread, i think its a valid true point, most successful happy relationships ive seen both people are physically similar, in weight and height, also appearance ie they match in attractiveness, and age, and inteligence.