Scrapbooking

Hey gals! (n guys) I want 2 know if some of u “practice” scrapbooking. If yes, cn u post ur making, coz I want to do a scrap on my shaadi but i really dnt hv any inspiration:(
So if u guys cn help me dat ll b really gr8

(I didn’t know on which section, I had to open this thread bt as it s related on my shaadi i put it here on wedding)

^ CUTE idea! It just let my imagination n creativity run wild! Get urself dried flowers, ribbons, buttons n bows, diff fabrics and big sturdy albums!

So I guess I dnt hav imagination n creativity :halo:

Re: Scrapbooking

I did the whole scrap album for my sister wedding. It turned out really good everyone who look at her album goes oh my god could you do it for my wedding.

At our work we host classes every 2-3 months for scrap booking and card making. I learned a lot of techniques through there and i got some book on wedding scrap booking. I am doing my won cards for the wedding also. Just let your imagination run wild. As "Gina" said go to any craft stores and get some ribbons, flowers, buttons, and shape cutters and grab a good book on scrap booking and believe me once you look at the books and stuff ideas will just start popping in your head.

Try it it's a really time consuming but stress reliever hobby for me :)

Thats my passion too, I love doing these kinds of things, i’m posting u few things ,hope they will help, though they r western scrap book images which i recorded from the tv so images r not very clear.3747]DSC03706.JPG[/gsmedia]

Regarding a Bridal shoot, i think the photographers decorate the album by themselves, my engagment's album was decorated Beautifully by the photographer, but u can decorate other halls pics, so wat have u decided teddy bear? whats ur theme? & do u want to decorate only bridal shoot pix or all wedding pix??

Tx for the scrap caps :) The fact is that I want to scrap all my shaadi's pics (mehndi, barat and walima) but I can't start. I guess the starting is the most difficult, once you are in, it's smooth. I have no idea, I don't know how to put the pics, what stuff to use :( I'm useless

Here're a few simple tips to get you started.

what color was dominant on each of your weddings days?
Get decorative papers, patterns and embellishments that coordinate with each of the colors of the days (or what you wore each of the days). This will act as the base to get you started.

Pick a favorite picture. Now, notice what stands out most from that picture. For instance, if you take a baraat picture of you and your husband, you might see lots of sparkle, gold, reds etc..SO there! Make the theme "jewels". Start with that. Eg: Get a nice picture of you and your husband from the baraat day and paste it on the paper (above), make borders with coordinated patterns and embellish it with jewels. Then highlight with glitter, desi ribbons, gold, reds, nets etc.
You could pick a theme for each day.

Mehndi could be yellow:
(if you wore it or if it was a dominant color).. use flowers as a theme.. stay in the yellow tones.... organe..greens..peach etc.. stay away from red as you might want to use that for barraat.
You can get great flowers of all shapes and sizes from any store. Use them.

Barrat could be red: Use the jewel theme.
Get small sticky mirrors, jewels, glitter, translucent paper etc.

Valima could be lace.. whatever color you wore, you can buy lace or net of the same color.
Make it princess-y, lacy... use angel wings, bells and crystals etc.

All the materials can be bought inexpensively at wal-mart. You could also go to Michael's or other craft stores. Depending on how serious you are.

One thing I have seen time and again is that people buy tons of scrap booking material but never get around to using it. I suggest you buy materials for one day. Mehndi, baraat or valima.. whichever. Then work on that. Sometimes, people never go through with all their scrap booking ideas and are left with crafts and a lot of wasted money. So start small and precise and work for there.

Hope this helps.

Mmh this helps a bit more! Thanks a looot :) The colour idea is a gr8 idea. That's a good beginning. I'll try to do it and I'll show my "work" on GS as soon as I'll begin.

Well, I have practiced the techniques in my engagement album, and at that time I too searched different online links to have any impressive idea, couldn't find any... because my sketching too isn't good... secondly I dont want taking any risks... because the album itself is too nice...

So what I did is simple... put all the photographs in an envelope (and before putting, just sort out the snaps, I mean there are some MAIN snaps of photoshoot etc, where you need to put single snap in a page, and there are some where you you to put 2-4 snaps in apage, put them in different envelopes) and go to some art and crafts shop.. or what I did was, I then went to the shope where laces, ribbons and that stuff is available...

I took out a snap one by one, matched ribbon (thin ribbon) because in Pak, thin ribbons are not easily available). Match ribbon with the photograph, I mean Like the black and white snap, I matched a gray toned riibbon (I would really help if you have snap with you, the color would be exact matching)...

And when I have that ribbon collection... I then matched some beads, pearls, sequences, cut-daana, kundan pearls etc...... of some contrast color.... like in the black and white snap I added some silver beads etc...

And believe me the album looked great! Even if you are not satisfied with the decoration, you can change it (unless painting/sketching).

I have pretty more ideas too, which insha-Allah I would apply on later occasions...

Like you can use emboss fabric colors (again in match with the snap... or you can have a theme color, like orange, pink, yellow for mehndi/mayoun etc).. add some SMALL motifs with the emboss colors.. and dry it up with the hair-dryer... I havent dried it, but that would surely look awesome...

Similary.. for Baraat/walima, again you can have beads collection.. or dried flowers.. Orignally when I was decorating enaggement album, I have that dried flowers ideas... but I have searched almost all big superstores of Pindi/Islamabad to find the flowers I like, couldnt find them (I like SMALL flowers, unlike big rose petals).... but better not to use MORE flowers... because when the album is closed... they may be damaged... and can convert to dust...]

Just give me a week time.. once I am free, I'll capture some photographs for you.. BUT just hang on...

And yeah, when you're done, do let me know.

Regards-

Aww Tashfeen u r too good :) Thanx a lot for ur advices. I'm waiting to see ur pics in order to hv an idea.
I'll definitely post mine when I'll start it .
Huge kiissz gals

**Here it goes… Phewwwwwwwwww.. I had gone a longggg way to post these images here (they’re sayin that to post some URL you need to have 25 posts)

^pretty!

Awww love it!! Thanks for posting them!I have sum ideas, jus need time to begin. Btw, which type of album do I v to buy?

Are you in Pakistan? and where?

just go to some big bookshop/giftshop and ask them to show you some imported albums

Mmh ok I'm in Paris, I'll go to some bookshop on saturday and ask them. Thanx!

Hey tasho nice album yara

pehlay kyon nahi post ki aisay???

dis idea really luks fab,i also done it wid my wedding album but i used my niece old water painted sceneries i made their cutworks n i pasted em into shapes , u can use old bori's dori n ribbons, beads etc..best tip is to go wid natural loght colours so ur pictures ll be enhances more[if ur pics r in bright colours then use this option]....
i also used dried leaves wid bori 's dori etc.

i ll advice you to go for a theme.
water theme[use blue,light blue n cyan blue paper cutwrks,small mirror white n blue crystals etc]

fairy tale theme[use white n lightish baby pink flowy ribbons,net,pearls,glittery stars..laces etc]

traditional themeuse gotas ribbon,gotas star,draw small matkas on a paper n make their cutting,golden red lace,u can use ur old kaanch ki chudi's stick one by one bangle of different colours,use tatto mehendi patches etc

n list goes on n on n on........