well, i dont know if this thread fits here or not.. everyone here is highly qualified and talking about career and all that..
but my problem is really making me sick…
I am a mother of a 3 yr old son, living in Dubai… I have to start his schooling, i dont know much about nursery and preschools here.. I was hoping if someone could help me with that. I need to know of a good international school, not-too-expensive type.. as schooling here is really difficult for the parents. I think i am not going for the pakistani or indian school…
If anyone can please advice me what to do cuz pehla pehla bacha hai, aur pehli daffa school search karnay nikli hoon..
Re: Schooling in Dubai
http://www.isbi.com/istd-viewschool/4174-International_School_of_Choueifat,_Dubai.html
Worth it.
Choueifat's an awesome school.
Personally, I went to Cambridge high(now Cambridge international). Did 12 years of school there and have nothing but praise for it. Worth a look.
thanks...
yes i have heard a lot about choueifat.. will call and check out the details.
Check out Saint Mary’s, they’re pretty good. Arguably the best when it comes to academics.
cambridge seems too expensive for us :( ... Although i have heard about it from somewhere else...
Thanks sharaabi, will check the fee structure and curriculum of st.mary. :)
Well, someone has told me about oxford school.. I am going to check it out as well
hmmm... I may be really really old but all these schools sound pretty new - at my time, we had "Emirates Private School" and "Arab Unity School" being the schools of choice for an English style education. Chouefat was there, but then again, it catered to the elite/rich and there wasn't much difference in the standard of education... they all were affiliated with Cambridge University.
bhai, stone age ki baat na karo
Ab to there are schools in every nukar of Dubai and they are turning the Qusais Area into school region. Yaani all school will shift there. The main thing which i am looking for is how much of Islam these schools preach, and someone told be Oxford was the best.. Lets see. Their admissions will start in next sept. so i have a lot of time to think about that
And one thing which i am concerned about is we moved here recently so my son was brought up in joint family he communicates only in Urdu. He has just started to make sentences. I am worried if i start talking to him in english and he goes to the school which is totally english what will he do, will he get confused b/w the 2 languages. Because i know a child who didnt start talking until the age of 5, she’d talk for hours but in her own language. The same thing happened with her.
DOnt know, abhi to bacha bohot hi chota lagta hai, school ka soch ke dil ko kuch hota hai ![]()
from what i have heard 'Cambridge' is good and also Arab unity. For Pakistani education, "Pakistani national high school' is the best but not sure if it still exists.
did my junior 1 through 6 from Cambridge High and the my Senior 1 though A' Levels from AUS
and both of them are worth it.
As far as an Islamic Education is concerned, my expeirence from AUS was kinda strange. Had a teacher who would taught us islamiyaat but she would come dressed in a sari with her belly poppin out - so the lessons being taught were very self contradictary
but I am sure you dont have to worry about that in these pre school years