Scholarship

Re: Scholarship

You'd be the perfect president for Pakistan. PCG, you've officially been pakterized.

PCG ..with due repect.. i will not agree with you at this point..no one is restricting women in houses..but the most important institution of child begins at house... he learns from mother..he or she idealized her.. the roots of a child developed there...the blue print of this this impact remains on his nuerons for the rest of his whole life... but unfortunately ..in "modern" times..we have broken this greatest "institution" at home... mothers are eager to test thier qualities of education in a practical field.. fathers are are too outside home...and the next generation..which have to pillar the future of country .. now in hands of "aya" or some maid servant...thus shattering the whole concept of lap of mother is child's first school....yes..we have gained some money..some boom in economics.,.. some 50 % in country growth.....but sorry to say..we have ruined our "next generation" !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Good post Mash'Allah!

Aw that's sad. I wonder whether you think the prophet was worse off by being raised by a wet nurse who was not his mother? Do you know his biological mother took him back at the age of 3?

Excellent example of twisting Islam to suit your own needs, when the evidence of the Prophet's life doesn't support your self-righteous theories. Now where is the proper research in this area? Most books on women, you'll pick up, will say exactly what mr. dawa-of-his-dil is saying. Does a scholar have the guts to point out the fact that the Prophet was not raised by his own mother for the first 3 years of his life, and that he came out fine despite it all? In fact, his mother died soon after he came back to her, and most of his later childhood was spent with his uncle as his guardian.

And to take the example further, we scroll down and see Cricket Player praising the words of this so-called Mr. Dawah'ed Up - most likely registering in a word of support immediately, simply because what Dawah'ed Up is saying is exactly what Pakistani males cherish about their culture. Mummi jee sitting at home making their parathay.

Sister, your arguing just for the sake of it. That point is not relevant because here we're talking about Muslims families.

It becomes irrelevant when you have no response to it. :rolleyes:

True for the present AND the past... The correct word is "Canonized" or "Sponsored" scolars. This has been happening since the time of the Umayyads, Abbasids, Fatimids and those who followed... be they of the shia sect or the sunni sect.

PG,
first off, your realization of the outdoor cafes, street life and the webbing is sadly true of how we are transformed today.

the human emotions, are there they 're simply abandoned, or buried away in the race of tangible possessions and who can shine more brightly, shout more noisily.

what we as Muslims can do, is that have an understanding first of what we want to make of our religion.

what is true Islam?

ho can we implement it at many levels in a truly Islamic society?

who will make up that society?

will everyone abide by its laws or not?

if yes, then, how will we interact with those not from our Islamic society?

what lines can we draw on the map of this earth - to call Islamic, certain territories and better yet, how can we make Muslims and Islam universally integrated into non Islamic, non Muslim societies?

can we break off from the made-up patriarchal and collective greedy notions of what Islam and Muslims are and how can we be following our true religious edicts?

what we can do is, assimilate what each Islamic Nation or Culture has.
bind it in the Muslim brother and sisterhood ideology.

secure our lands, and train our generations for self sufficiency THROUGH EDUCATON AND SELF AWARENESS.

& FINALY, HAVE MUTUALLY SELF-RESPECTING MUSLIM-COUPLES WHO, AS WOMEN AND MEN, CAN DO ALL THIS WORK, together, wth full faith in their hard work, honest intentions and help from Allah.

Dushwari, it would do you best not to pull things out of people's journals and bring them out in the forums. That's something personal to me.

i am sorry, you totally misunderstood me.

i DO NOT even know that your journal exist, if it does, i know enough about privacy and its safe guard.

i only quoted your query and also concurred with you, on your signature.

'My place is with the cappacino's and the side walk cafe's and the warm breeze and the music in the background, and ideas slipping out of my head, connections clicking, and great things happening.

Its not really in the muslim world anymore. '

i appreciate your over reaction, yet it is absolutely mis-directed.
best,

acha, the sig. I don't even see the sigs anymore on here.

Its not really surprising to me that you automatically assume I'm converting out or something. "I just don't think my place is in the muslim world" is simply my way of saying that I'm tired of hanging out with and associating with muslims, because I just don't think the typical "desi" or "arab" version of Islam is the real Islam.

How the HELL are cafes unIslamic?

I mean, you people need to get a grip on your realities here.

Can I make a suggestion, go onto www.sunniforum.com, you will find more knowledgeble people and maybe even more sisters who are closer to the deen of Allah. InshAllah.

Is that seriously your response. I pull out an example from the Prophet's life, which is sunnah. You can't come up with a response. So then you direct me to a website on the sunnah?

Wow.

CricketPlaya, please understand there's a reason young people are abandoning the religion. It's because of narrow minded, stuck up, arrogant Muslims like you. That's right. The biggest problem in our religion is not a Jew or Christian distributing pornography to little children - but Muslims that shy away from anything remotely controversial. You have been confronted by PG with a very legitimate question. Deal with it yourself. Dawah is an idiot.

As it stands today, question anything about Islam and you'll be knocked down for being less of a Muslim. It's not even about questioning, it's about INTERPRETING. Interpret something and you'll be told there are better Muslims than you. That you should be ashamed. That you don't know what you're talking about. That you should read a book by some cave monkey because he knows how to read the Quran better than you. You'll be ignored and insulted but you wont get your answer.

How easily we forget reason and questioning reason are what made Muslims great scholars and their famous cafes. Today we see bickering instead of debate. Muslims eh? Pathetic.

Let's see what to make of this

Maybe and maybe not. The question is... what is the function of scholars. Do you want to depend on scholars or do you want to be one? Going down to the wire, a true scholar happens to be a true student. That is where you begin... seeking knowledge is not only necessary, it is ordained. Perhaps collective effort is required to sponsor studenthood and then scholarship.

Well there are those Saudi elements who sponsor wahaabi training :)
As well, a bit of the collected "chanda" also goes in teaching people who to read (and only read) the Quran.
A bit of the donation also goes on to the Dars-e Niami (which I have completed 8 years of)

:) If they do try (and they have tried since the time of the Islamic empires) they have been either flogged or killed... Much of what is considered Islam today has been peddled as such over a thousand years based on "word of mouth". People who 'converted' to Islam also seem to have brought in their ideologies and their religions into Islam (which is not a religion but a way of life/conduct).

Well this is an age old mindset... I call it "following the sunnah/tradition" (and I am not targetting sunnis btw ... this goes to all sectarians)

Much of these traditions are alien concepts from Christianity, Judaism, Zoroastriansim, and believe it or not, Hinduism; and have no basis if you look at the Quran.

typical practice...

The only way to fix it is to have an open mind and to ask questions boldly, much the same way as you have right now. Obviously there will be opposition but that's the test of how sincere you are to what you think is right.

If you are not getting the answers, you can start out by gaining knowledge in these areas and challenge the present paradigms... no one will come to fix it for you. You have to fix it yourself.

You were talking about the Prophet's mother and I believe it was dawa-edil who said:

PCG ..with due repect.. i will not agree with you at this point..no one is restricting women in houses..but the most important institution of child begins at house... he learns from mother..he or she idealized her.. the roots of a child developed there...the blue print of this this impact remains on his nuerons for the rest of his whole life... but unfortunately ..in "modern" times..we have broken this greatest "institution" at home... mothers are eager to test thier qualities of education in a practical field.. fathers are are too outside home...and the next generation..which have to pillar the future of country .. now in hands of "aya" or some maid servant...thus shattering the whole concept of lap of mother is child's first school....yes..we have gained some money..some boom in economics.,.. some 50 % in country growth.....but sorry to say..we have ruined our "next generation" !!!!!!!!!!!!!

and then you went on saying:

Aw that's sad. I wonder whether you think the prophet was worse off by being raised by a wet nurse who was not his mother? Do you know his biological mother took him back at the age of 3?

If that was a SERIOUS question then here is my response:
1 - He was better off raised by Halimah because that was their tradition at that time. We can't change the history can we...
2 - His mother died when he was 6 and so his grandfather took care of him.

Alhamdulillah, that is why I said this had nothing to do of what we were talking about other than Halimah (may have been) a great mother. Allahualim.

If that was a SERIOUS question then here is my response:
1 - He was better off raised by Halimah because that was their tradition at that time. We can't change the history can we...
*2 - His mother died when he was 6 and so his grandfather took care of him. *

Alhamdulillah, that is why I said this had nothing to do of what we were talking about other than Halimah (may have been) a great mother. Allahualim.

That was their TRADITION? Isn't that called Sunnah? Because the Prophet certainly didn't go back and outlaw it! So, how is this not replicable in today's time period?

Just the fact that his mother died at the age of 6, and he still grew up fine, seriously questions the legitimacy of a claim that a child NEEDS his own biological mother around him all the time as he's growing up.

I don't see how if I have a kid, and I get a babysitter for that kid, that the babysitter can't possibly be another "halimah" to that child.

I hope you realize you JUST agreed with what I said, and yet you still stick to having a tradition that is OPPOSITE to what we see in the Prophet's life.

LOL, seriously you need to re-read posts at least three times. ;)

When I replied I didn't really emphasize on the words he used (ie: mother)... I mean I can be raised up by my phupo and still be fine inshAllah. But if your mother is there then why not? (In no way I am saying this for the Prophet (PBUH). By tradition I mean, it was common for them to stay with their mothers that's all.

This is what a sheikh said:

Islam is the religion of women because Madina had no place for Oedipus.

** But if your mother is there then why not? (In no way I am saying this for the Prophet (PBUH). **

You're contradicting yourself.