Scared

Hello everyone

so after living in Germany for 9 years,we will be moving to UK in coming months.the reason to move was to live where there will be no language barrier and my kids can study better as i will be able to help them.

When i moved from Pakistan to Germany 9 years ago,i was lonely and depressed.my husband was working full time.he was not very social so we had basically no friends.it was hard.very gradually,i started to make friends and now i have a good network but we are moving now.

The question is how to deal with the move.I know my life will be much easier than in Germany as i will understand almost everything and can communicate without trouble.but we are moving to subarbs as apprently good schools are usually situated there.I am just scared of the relapse of loneliness and depression.

Has anybody went through this?what are your thoughts.thanks for reading.

Re: Scared

Where in the UK are you moving to?

We are moving to Birmingham.not in the city center but 20 minutes drive outside.

Per chance, is your husband's name Pumpkin?

There are so many pakistanis in the UK, I doubt you'll ever be alone :) I'm sure you'll love it once you've settled in a bit.

Hey honey, Brum has a huge pakistani community, so you will be fine friends wise. u can also meet other parents through play dates for your kids and make friends that way.

You will also make friends with your husbands friends wives and soon make your own social circle.

I am not sure about your exact location but you won't have any problems in and around Birmingham as it has a very large Pakistani community. In fact, it has the second highest Pakistani population in the UK, after London. 11.7% of the people are of Pakistani origin. It is close to London (2 hrs drive), Sheffield (1.5 hrs drive) and Manchester (1.5 hrs drive). All these cities have large Pakistani/Indian communities so settling won't be a problem.

I have lived in the UK for over 3 years as a student and have enjoyed my time here alot. Its like a second home.

I've been in your position.

InshaAllah you'll have a good experience in Birmingham. Keep positive. You'll quickly settle into your new life with ease, InshaAllah. Best of luck with your move.

@partyslims,no idea what you are talking about?

This is another strange thing.i think so far the plan is to move to solihull.and without exception,every pakistani has told us to stay away from densely populated pakistan areas.there isnt a very large pk community in Germany so i really cant say much about Immigrants living abroad.but i found it rather shameful that Pakistani community does not carry the best of repute.

Also i think that making friends depends upon your luck.you can live in Pakistan and can have no good friends and can live in Atarctica and still can find some.thanks for your input,people.

Pulp Fiction reference :p

Good luck with the move. Yeah some of it does depend on luck, hopefully things will work out well for you guys out there.

Dont worry, there are millions of Pakistanis in the UK from all backgrounds, specially form interior punjab and kashmir.Pakistani products, food and people are easily available everywhere.There is even aislamic/pakistani school.Mashallah I feel so proud when I look at apnay loug in the Uk, they have kept our culture alive, most of the guys are typically awara, they master the art of no-tax but own beamers.Girls are double faced, ghar mah khanay ko nahi hai but they only use/wear branded stuff like 200 pound jimmy choo limited edition shoe with those made in china tights.

Honestly LHR1?

LOL, massive generalization by LHR1

I recently moved to Germany from Canada after my wedding. It's been hard. But mostly because of the language barrier. So I know how it feels. But I think this time it will be different for you because it will be much for easier to get around and meet people in London as there won't be any language barrier. You'll be able to find a job easily, or if not work then you can find volunteering opportunities or some sorta classes easily as well, which is tough doing in a country you don't know the language for. So you'll meet people that way.

Well that what I have seen.Honestly you should not find it very difficult to adjust in the Uk, since weather, environment, ambiance is alot like germany.There are areas which are densley populated by our community, they sometimes give you a feel that as if goray have come to our land.Our community is very strong and active, they are very helpful.They help new people to settle down, find jobs and to get maximum advantage of benefits/rights.

PS: Dont forget to put gel on hair or else locals think this lad is FOB.

I vaguely remember posting the same question, some 5 years ago. :)
We had lived in Germany for 8 years back then, n moved to UK in Dec. 2007. It didn't work out for us though n after 6 months we moved to Pakistan. Ever since then, I have had sooo much in plate that I can't really say what's working for us and what's not. Life is a roller coaster ride!

PS...I learnt the language ...n I must say, ich liebe Deutsch. :)