Scar Treatment?

Has anyone tried a product that actually works??I am looking for something to fade acne scars. Does anyone know that Stillmans stuff they sell in Pak work?

That stillmans stuff, ive heard it works but I dont like anything with bleach in it. I bought it but didnt use it for long enough. I use bio-oil, which is excellent - a vitamin e oil especially for scars, ageing skin, rough skin. Its soo good!!

Cat, where can I buy it??

I was going to recommend Bio Oil too. I used it on my stretch marks during pregnancy and it works a treat. I think you can get it at most chemists.

I've also seen scar reduction patches in chemists, they come in silicone sheets and you wear them on your scar for a certain amount of hours each day.

Thank you Shahreen and Catty. I couldnt find a website that sells it in US so I ordered it from a UK website. Cant wait to try it out!!:D

bio oil huh?
wonder if its avlbl in pak...hmmm....
what exactly is it guys? is it just vitamin e oil or is it by come specific company etc?

ok,

the best way to treat scars is to prevent them and if they occure early treatment.

Scar reduction patches I don't know much about. I do know that they were used by therapist and doctors for acute injuries/burns to reduce scars, I'm not really aware of how well they work for older scars...but Then again...you can always try.

vitamin E helps with healing too...

One thing with scars is that they tend to tan much easier. I was told by a Plastic surgeon once that the best thing to do was to make sure you avoid any sun on the scar and use tons of sun screen, thus the scar won't show up as much.

Irem, Bio Oil is made from different oils like vitamin e, vitamin a, lavender and some other stuff. But its not a greasy oil, its 'dry' if that makes any sense.

They used to send out samples from their website but it seems like they have stopped that now.

Another scar treatment thats supposed to be good is using Emu Oil, but I haven't tried it mysel and don't know where you could get hold of some.

thanks shahreen :)
i dont think bio oil is avlbl in pak...
i usually use desi totkas for this kind of stuff but they do take a long time to be effective so bio oil sounded like a cool option...o well...

I recommended it to someone while I was in pak recently and she managed to get hold of it (in islambad). But if you have any problems getting some then I'd be happy to mail some over to you.

Ive been using it for a couple of years now. Ira I hope you invested in a large bottle, because you end up using it all over your body. I just bought it for my feet to tell you the truth, and when the scars became considerably less, I started using the oil on my face and other parts of my body. Now I just use it on my face, put it on before I go to bed. (thats because I only have a little bit left!) You cant walk around with an oily-looking face during the day :slight_smile:
Shahreen, I always thought it was a South African product. :hehe:

You can get it in Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and England. Maybe the manufacturers think we are extra 'scar-ry' then other nations?!

Anyway I read some rave reviews in one of this months glossies for Palmers Cocoa Butter Scar Serum. I don't have any scars but I still want this product....should I be worried?

Also try Lancome Brown Spot Remover/Fader(i think thats what its called). I used it a few years ago and it works really well. Its quite expensive £30-£40 I think.

Re: Scar Treatment?

the acne scars n other’s too just fade way wid time…

i never used any of the products… as such…

3 months back i broke my nasal bone… n there was a big scar left… but Allah ka lakh lakh shukar hai… that scar also vanished…

i guess time is the best healer…

:flower1: