Sayyid

Kitaab At-Tawheed, Chapter: 63

What Has Been Said About the Prophet’s Safeguarding of Tawheed and His Blocking All Paths to Shirk

It is reported on the authority of Abdullah Ibn Ash-Shikhkheer that he said: "I went with a delegation of Banu Amir to the Messenger of Allah and we said (to him): "You are our Sayyid."1 He replied:

“As-Sayyid is Allah , Most Glorified, Most High.” We said: “And you are the most excellent and superior of us.” He answered: “Say what you have to say, or part of what you have to say and do not let Satan make you get carried away.” (Narrated by Abu Dawood with a good Ssanad)

The narrator informs us in this Hadith that some of the Companions wished to show their love and respect for the Messenger of Allah by praising him while in his presence; and though they spoke the truth about him, the Prophet wished to cleanse their hearts and souls and protect their beliefs from Shirk and so he forbade them from praising him excessively, especially in his presence in order to protect them from all paths by which the devil might lead them to the darkness of Shirk after they had escaped from it. Then he permitted them to praise him in a manner allowed by their Religion, befitting his position as Allah’s Slave and Messenger.

On the authority of Anas (ra) it is reported that some people said: "Oh, Messenger of Allah ! Oh, the best of us and the son of the best of us! Our Master and the son of our Master!" He replied:

"Oh, you people! Say what you have to say and do not allow yourselves to be seduced by Satan. I am Muhammad, the slave of Allah and His Messenger . I do not like you to raise me above the status assigned to me by Allah , Almighty All-powerful." (Narrated by An-Nasaa`i with a good Ssanad)

Anas informs us in this Hadith that a number of people addressed the Prophet in terms of excessive praise and eulogy and that the Prophet rejected this, informing them that such was the temptation of the devil, that he might lead them by this means into Shirk. Then he informed them of the correct manner of addressing him which is to say: Muhammad, the slave and Messenger of Allah ; and he indicated to them his dislike of being elevated above the position which Allah has designated for him.

[thumb=H]list1-317379_63337231.JPG[/thumb]
Sahih Al-Bukhari, Kitaab al-fitn

*Originally posted by laeeqkhan: *
[thumb=H]list1-317379_63337231.JPG[/thumb]
Sahih Al-Bukhari, Kitaab al-fitn
**Third line of Arabic is translated incorrectly into Urdu language in the scanned image from Bukahri Sharif provided above. This is to hide certain facts.

Don’t start Sectarian discussion - This was just FYI **

Wasalam,

inuit

Nice post laeeq.

inuit, you're the one trying to give the hadith a sectarian twist, and no one else.

*Originally posted by ammarr: *
Nice post laeeq.

inuit, you're the one trying to give the hadith a sectarian twist, and no one else.
no one wants to talk against his belief! why not you translate it. It not nice, he has made a mistake.

Dear brother, I would not go into any argument but the Hadith is translaled accurately as in the Arabic language, ashaab does not necessarily mean the ashaab al nabi. So it is a general term. Consider this my last and only response in this issue. Thank You for pointing out which you believe differently. However this is not the way majority of Muslims view this hadith. JazakAllah! :jazak::flower1:

Dear brother
This might get out of control but oh well, :slight_smile:

Contrary to your sweeping statement. This is not the way majority of Muslims view this hadith.
Heres the hadith at http://www.muslimaccess.com/sunnah/hadeeth/muslim/002.html
Abu Huraira reported the Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) said: My people would come to me on the Cistern and I would drive away persons (from it) just as a person drives away other people’s camels from his camels. They (the hearers) said: Apostle of Allah, would you recognize us? He replied: Yea, you would have a mark which other people will not have. You would come to me with a white blaze on your foreheads and white marks on your feet because of the traces of ablution. A group among you would be prevented from coming to me, and they would not meet me, and I would say: O my Lord, they are** my companions ** . Upon this an angel would reply to me saying: Do you know what these people did after you.

Another one at

http://www.usc.edu/dept/MSA/fundamentals/hadithsunnah/bukhari/055.sbt.html
Volume 4, Book 55, Number 568:
Narrated Ibn Abbas:

The Prophet said, “You will be gathered (on the Day of Judgment), bare-footed, naked and not circumcised.” He then recited:–‘As We began the first creation, We, shall repeat it: A Promise We have undertaken: Truly we shall do it.’ (21.104) He added, “The first to be dressed on the Day of Resurrection, will be Abraham, and some of ** my companions ** will be taken towards the left side (i.e. to the (Hell) Fire), and I will say: ** ‘My companions! My companions!’ ** It will be said: ‘They renegade from Islam after you left them.’ Then I will say as the Pious slave of Allah (i.e. Jesus) said. 'And I was a witness Over them while I dwelt amongst them. When You took me up You were the Watcher over them, And You are a witness to all things. If You punish them. They are Your slaves And if You forgive them, Verily you, only You are the All-Mighty, the All-Wise.” (5.120-121)

I could go on but you get the idea. Infact why dont you try searching ur self. So either majority of the Muslims dont agree with your translation, or majority of muslims dont know how to translate into English.
As a side not, why not utilizing ones own plentiful supply of grey cells and think. what does Ashab, the WORD Ashab, mean?

picarday sup u wannabe trekkie.

Kitaab At-Tawheed, Chapter: 63

What Has Been Said About the Prophet's Safeguarding of Tawheed and His Blocking All Paths to Shirk

It is reported on the authority of Abdullah Ibn Ash-Shikhkheer that he said: "I went with a delegation of BanuAmir to the Messenger of Allah and we said (to him): "You are our Sayyid."1 He replied:

"As-Sayyid is Allah , Most Glorified, Most High." We said: "And you are the most excellent and superior of us." He answered: "Say what you have to say, or part of what you have to say and do not let Satan make you get carried away." (Narrated by Abu Dawood with a good Ssanad)

The narrator informs us in this Hadith that some of the Companions wished to show their love and respect for the Messenger of Allah by praising him while in his presence; and though they spoke the truth about him, the Prophet wished to cleanse their hearts and souls and protect their beliefs from Shirk and so he forbade them from praising him excessively, especially in his presence in order to protect them from all paths by which the devil might lead them to the darkness of Shirk after they had escaped from it. Then he permitted them to praise him in a manner allowed by their Religion, befitting his position as Allah's Slave and Messenger.
Br. Explain this again. what does this mean? you mean if we say someone "Syed" OR "Sayyed" OR "Sayyid" (english different spellings). Is it shirk ?

From the HAdith it is quite clear that calling the Prophet :saw: sayyid is not right since sayyid is only Allah.

Well brother, You can not run from the topic after giving a wrong translation. You must have to prove it that the word these people were not from the “Ashaab” of Prophet Muhammad(PBUH). We can not apply this word as a general term for Ummah because of the following reasons.

(a) Prophet is addressing to the people particularly which were present at that time. This is not for the general Ummah.
“aur tum main say kuch loog mayray pass laay gaain gay”

(b)These people were present at the time and also lived their lives after Prophet Muhammad (PBUH). They could not make any innovations in religions during the life time of Prophet Muhammad but after his death. And Then Allah will tell Prophet(PBUH) “what innovations these people have done after you.”
tum nahin jantay kah inhoun nay jo jo (deen main) na

(c) The Prophet (PBUH) will recognize them and call them “These are my Aashaab” Then Allah will say “what innovations these people have done after you.”

This is an excellent way of twisting meanings; Translate whatever way which favors you. Plus majority is not authority. The translation you have done is absolutely wrong.

Note: keep this thing in mind these are some not all but you cant say there were non.

Since you yourself are not from a Syed family; maybe you are quoting this Hadith because of Jealousy against them. Be aware of those who spread evil using the name of Islam and Allah. Are you sure that you never read any hadith in which the the word Sayed is used for Holy Prophet Muhammad and his family (PBUH). Are you sure that if give a title to Allah, you cant give you anybody else?

What do you think, Devil cant lead you from the path, for which you are talking.

What does this excessively mean? Do you have a measuring tool to gauge what is excessive and what is reasonable? What do you think that our Prophet should be demanding person. Who always ask people to love him. Instead?

May God guide you.

The first Hadith interpreted can be debatable and I would not comment.

My brother, do not go for my name. How can you judge my intentions and my feelings for the family of the Prophet :saw: and his blessed households and decendants? You straight away labeled me “jealous” May Allah guide us all. I simply qoted the very words of the Prophet :saw: My nick “laeeqkhan” will not tell you what I really am! My being Prophet:saw: descendant (which I partly am) does not make me any better than others. I will be judged in the same way others will be. The important thing is that Prophet:saw: himself said that Allah is sayyid.

Regarding,** “excessiveness”**, lets just stick to the way of praising and sending blessings on him as Allah did and his companions did. Islam is very simple, lets not complicate it.:flower1:

^^

How strange it is? It is debatable; but no comments, somebody stopped you. Brother dont feel yourself under kingdom of Roman Catholic Church, which dont allow you to speak against the doctrine of Trinity.

I did not label you "Jealous". I said "May be".

Those who are not from Syed family; In addition to every things else, those all will also be judged that how much respect they give to the Syed Family. and Syed family have even more (double) responsibility that how much they follow the teachings of the Holy Prophet (PBUH) being his descendants. However they must be treated differently in a society.

Question: In your fiqah is a Syed allowed to take Zakat from a non-Syed.

Question: No one restrict them praise in companions’ own way. They used lots of different ways which method should we stick to.

Wasalam,

inuit

Descendants of the Prophet :saw: cannot be given zakat. However, there is no different treatment in any other matter. Do you remember the incident in which Prophet :saw: said in a theft case that even if it were Fatmia :razi2: the hands would be cut. So that shows that there is no special treatment except that they cannot be given Zakat.

Why is this difference - Zakat? isnt it Racism? Dont tell its in Shariyat- i know, but why?
How would they (Syed) survive, in case they have no money for life?

*Originally posted by inuit: *
Why is this difference - Zakat? isnt it Racism? Dont tell its in Shariyat- i know, but why?
How would they (Syed) survive, in case they have no money for life?

I think they can be given gifts. Allah knows best.

Gifts are not specific for Syed Family. It can be for anyone.

2ndly Gifts are not the true source of income.

And 3rd its not Fard (Farz) on Ummah to give gifts to Syed Family. However its Fard (Farz) on Ummah to pay Zakat. That is why its not the true alternate of Zakat for Syed Family.

Its true that Allah knows the best but Allah never left you un-answered in Shariya matters.

What i will tell you, that you will not accept. But you dont have answer at your own. Do you want to keep yourself in darkness?

Previous answer is incomplete

Wasalam.

Inuit,

Yes we understand that there were hypocrites amongst the companions and those who would have been waiting to take actions against Islam. Now what exactly have you proven by saying that?

Does that lessen the credibility of any of the companions of the Prohpet (saww) (including Ali (ra))?? I dont think so..

Yet again you guys have started the same shia sunni discussion! :smack2:

Inuit, seems aap ka khaana hazam nahi hota jabb takk harr thread mein aakar aap sectarian angle na daal dein.

Guys, give it a rest. GS is not the place to have shia-sunni discussions anymore. Find some other place.

Jazak Allah.