Saving Face

Haven’t seen the documentary but I did flick through some of the comments on youtube:

“Hmmm, great to see how the religion of love expresses itself!”

“Religious pigs!”

“Misogynistic religion!”

“Husbands and Mother-in-laws are responsible for most of these horrific injuries. Nobody can tell me that islam is a peaceful, gentle religion.”

“Islam is a hate filled religion where women are treated like dirt and are expected to take it lying down.”

“This is how they treat each other; imagine how we INFIDELS would be treated..Religion of Peace, my ass!!!”

Sounds to me like “Islam tells men to throw acid on women” is all that an average westerner understood from this documentary. Discuss.

Re: Saving Face

yes....

discussed....

Have you seen it?

why would i?

Youtube comments are always full of ignorance, dumbness and hatred. No matter what the topic of a video is.

The majority of the comments are pretty much the same everywhere on the net.

On Yahoo, for example:

"Why its happening?.

Because the men are trapped in a stone aged religion and view women as nothing more than property."

^ 276 likes this one got.

"This is happening for the same reason as the stonnings, limb amputations, hanging of gays in public squares, beheadings, genital mutilation,etc....ITS THE RELIGION OF PEACE.
And you better believe it, otherwise they
ll chop your head off."

^ 127 likes.

It is all ignorance. And because people have more guts on the internet, they say things that are bigger than their mouths.

hahah.......average western person is no more aware of real issue then, lets say, a tribal living in remote mountains without electricity......and no education.

that's the whole irony about the documentary. Sharmeen Chinoy might have brought the Oscar laurels to Pak BUT my question is ... has it been given this much attention because it portrays a negative image of Pakistanis and Muslims in general...as extremist terrorists throwing acid on their own women from underneath??

Saw her today in Jaipur at the lit fest.
Unfortunately her talk was covered by BBC hence couldnt talk to her.

Good speaker, not the greatest but still good.

Hate filled bigots were always there, now they just have another medium to share their hate in. We just did not interact with them as much. Ignorance is not always sorted with primary and secondary education.

It’s people who need to hate someone, and their ignorance fuels it, found in every place and every nation. Usually only visible as part of groups, in areas where there is a large number of like minded jackasses, or online hiding behind anonymity and distance.

Bigoted chickens really

Where is OP?

the tragedy is that people who are not muslim are forming opinions of islam based on the actions of muslims which are not always in line with the teachings of our religion … but badnaam toh islam hi hota hai…

people form opinions based on what they see…they dont consider that how these “muslims” are behaving or how these “muslim” countries are run may also be affected by culture or the persons own way of thinking… the automatic thinking is …islam is the problem

Excuse me?

Who are these ‘we’, ‘our’ and ‘us’ you are talking about?

You?.. I certainly hope not!

Strange as it may sound, imma have to agree with diwana.

lxxl please only speak for yourself.

im not trying to get personal with anyone here guys …you guys misunderstood me …

instead of trying to explain my post i’m just going to edit out the ambiguous part

yea myself included, why not? …am i not to blame? when all kinds of horrible stuff happens around me and I do nothing?..I think i am to blame, i dont speak up so i would venture i am just as much to blame as the person who commits the act

Let me ask you please.

When a driver drove wrong way and killed another person somewhere, did you ‘speak out’ or do ‘any real act’ for that?

If not, then do you consider yourself responsible for that? I hope not.

The point is that please do not include everyone in to your pessimistic and apologetic thoughts.

There are a whole lot of people you tried to blame (perhaps inadvertently) for bigots and hatemongers by saying ‘we’ ‘us’ and ‘our’. :slight_smile:

It takes more time and effort to read up on a religion, to analyze the text, rules, to understand the that culture and societal beliefs and a person’s psychological issues don’t necessarily mirror religion’s teachings . Whereas it’s far more convenient to just jump to a conclusion based on personal experience, or that of another person’s, or what is oft reported in the media. It’s based heavily on emotions and not real logic or research. That said…such ignorant assumptions can be made about any religion…sometimes even by followers of the religion.

These people are hypocrites and nothing less or more (maybe more).

They know exactly that this is not what Islam teaches and that this is not what muslims are like. They just love to generalize when it pleases them and unfortunately people understand them, because that is what the becharays see on television. Aur kya karain, becharay.