Saudi punishes gang rape victim with 200 lashes

These are barbaric and cowardly judges who ordered such a punishment onto a rape victim.

A court in the ultra-conservative kingdom of Saudi Arabia is punishing a female victim of gang rape with 200 lashes and six months in jail, a newspaper reported on Thursday.

The 19-year-old woman – whose six armed attackers have been sentenced to jail terms – was initially ordered to undergo 90 lashes for “being in the car of an unrelated male at the time of the rape,” the Arab News reported.
But in a new verdict issued after Saudi Arabia’s Higher Judicial Council ordered a retrial, the court in the eastern town of Al-Qatif more than doubled the number of lashes to 200.

A court source told the English-language Arab News that the judges had decided to punish the woman further for “her attempt to aggravate and influence the judiciary through the media.”

Saudi Arabia enforces a strict Islamic doctrine known as Wahhabism and forbids unrelated men and women from associating with each other, bans women from driving and forces them to cover head-to-toe in public.
Last year, the court sentenced six Saudi men to between one and five years in jail for the rape as well as ordering lashes for the victim, a member of the minority Shiite community.

But the woman’s lawyer Abdul Rahman al-Lahem appealed, arguing that the punishments were too lenient in a country where the offence can carry the death penalty.

In the new verdict issued on Wednesday, the Al-Qatif court also toughened the sentences against the six men to between two and nine years in prison.
The case has angered members of Saudi Arabia’s Shiite community. The convicted men are Sunni Muslims, the dominant community in the oil-rich Gulf state.

Lahem, also a human rights activist, told AFP on Wednesday that the court had banned him from handling the rape case and withdrew his licence to practise law because he challenged the verdict.

He said he has also been summoned by the ministry of justice to appear before a disciplinary committee in December.
Lahem said the move might be due to his criticism of some judicial institutions, and “contradicts King Abdullah’s quest to introduce reform, especially in the justice system.”
King Abdullah last month approved a new body of laws regulating the judicial system in Saudi Arabia, which rules on the basis of sharia, or Islamic law.

Re: Saudi punishes gang rape victim with 200 lashes

The ignorance and screwed up sense of justice just leaves one speechless.

WTH

just as idiotic as the hudood ordinance in pakistan, glad that got discarded. saudis need to wake up.

they must Recite, and Understand Quran. :bummer:

And how thats gonna help?

A **victim **gets punished too in the great retarded state of saudizzzz......
Bravo

do it and find out. :)

I would but i dono how RECITING going to get me anywhere.....Aunti jee

It's become cliche to say Muslims are peace loving people.

can she survive 200 lashes...
few lashes are enough to peel your skin off!
where are the women rights goups...

buchay! yakeen say kero, jo bhi kero werna na kero :smokin2:

ALLAH tumharay damag k derwazay kholay ga bucha :biggthumb

Women rights? In a society that has yet to adopt basic human rights? I'd say give it a thousand years for some women rights group to establish itself.

Mushkil hai on ka jagna:chai:

well west is also not less than this :bummer:

Feminists bhi to tabhi banti hain (mostly jab sexist exist kertay hain) :smiley:

I feel for her.

LOL…cant guarantee that either cuz…they’ve been like this for ages…
I would hate to in a soceity like this… Yeh Demagh se farigh log hain.

LOL…this should be directed to saudizzzz

muali:

Recite in the connotation with the word "IQRA" means read and practice.

:hmmm: Bat tu hai. Masla yehi hai ky agar aik orat pyshawar twaif hai pysy ly kr sab krti hai or phir pury pysy na milny pr gang rape ka ilzam lagay tu manhoos zanion(Mardon) Ky sath saza tu osy bhi milni chahiy.
American media apni adalton ky bary main tu chusakta nahi dosron pr ungli uthani inhin bari atti hai:hoonh:

Why would any woman want to report rape or harassment after this? This decision is completely stupid, pointless and barbaric.

Have fun everyone when goras at work and school discuss this, and indirectly throw taunts at Islam and Muslims.

"Abdul, isn't Saudi Arabia where the two holiest sites of Muslims are and Islam originated from?" or

"Ok so you guys are not what they are, but you guys still look upto them, since so many fatwas come from there?" or "

"Do you guys also follow this Islam, or am I just confused", or

"Wow, I am glad I am not a Muslim woman in a Muslim country" or

"I heard when Muslims become more than 10% of the population anywhere, they start causing problems, just look at France" or

"Man, must be rough to be a Muslim female. Do all of them cover their face like that? LOL, I bet they are all ugly and fat"

"My brother is in Iraq these days, and he tells me a lot of similar stories. Those guys are just barbaric"