Saudi Govt expects 30% rise in food prices

Govt Expects 30% Rise in Food Prices
Saturday, January 5, 2007

JEDDAH — The Ministry of Commerce and Industry announced yesterday that prices of food products could go up by a further 20 to 30 percent this year due to a worldwide shortage.

In its annual report on supply and prices, the ministry also blamed the declining exchange rate of the US dollar, fall in agricultural produce caused by drought and hike in export duties for the record increase in prices of essential foodstuffs. …

Arab News

Not exactly a Pakistani news, but just to show you that food prices are going up all over the world and not just in Pakistan due to a shortage of supplies.

In Pakistan, there exists a large Middle Class now which means there are far more people who can afford to eat alot more than they did in the 1990s.

Re: Saudi Govt expects 30% rise in food prices

I am surprised the Saudis have not blamed Pakistani govt. or this. Surely, this must be Pakistani govt. fault?

Please stop comparing Saudia Arabia with Pakistan...

Also, reading your signature

Fearless, Feared & Ferocious
President Pervez Musharraf

(He is my Quaid-e-Azam)

Just shows whether we should take you seriously or not.

Yeah, but unlike them, Pakistan has had a bumper crop..

But you seem to think the food shortage and price hikes are due to increased oil supplies and a large middle class that are eating more?!?!?:rotfl:

Damn that Musharraf for increasing Saudi prices. :mad:

Has Saudi govt announced load shedding yet?

They thankfully don't have WAPDA (stealer of smaller provinces resources ) to deal with.

and just why do WE have "WAPDA" even after 8 yrs of one man show.

lol wasnt Wapda run by the ‘army’ :hehe:

Thank god for Musharaf, otherwise WAPDA would be getting away with it… :jhanda:

One of the main reason for this price hike is that Saudis are becoming profit takers i.e. haraam khor like most of Pakistanis traders. May be Musharaf's too many visits have taught all the tactics to locals here as well.

I live in Saudi Arabia and I have never seen such greediness among traders here.

These Chaudries, Mullah diesel and co. ko sab loguN kay saamney june ki kari dhoop maiN kaan pakarwa dainay chahiye.

Man, did they ever catch those wheat hoarders?

oh bhai jee, food shortage is because of mushi. Pathetic , Pakistan ki abadi barh rahi hai its also coz of mushi...

The food shortage in Pak is definitely because of the Chaudry greed. There is no doubt in it. Had they not exported it to Afghanistan and Iran, we would have surely seen better days.

Laanat esay loguN pay.

As for population increase.... ab ghareeb loguN kay paas ek hi to entertainment hay, :D

Oh bhai... Why is this sooooo beyond your understanding... The govt has a responsibilty.. If all it is, is the growing population, then why havent we seen any substantial investment in Agriculture? Why these half hearted gestures!

The govt has responsiblity to make sure that its growing numbers are fed! Mush and his govt have failed to meet the needs of the people...

THATS WHY PEOPLE HAVE GOVT! The govt is supposed to look after the people! This govt hasnt done that! Mush and his govt should have invested in agriculture on an emergency bases! They should have hung these wheat hoarders!

What is the purpose of this govt if it isnt serving the people and making sure their needs are met?!?!?!

Thats another issue... The govt never went after these people because they happen to be rather influential from what I understand...
But isnt this a crime against Humanity?!??! People are poor and hungry, and these people are hoarding the food so as to increase their profits!

This is a crime they should be hanged for yet Mushies hands are tied.

^^ the moral of the story is whatever happens in Pak is coz of Mushi right? Ok let's assume their is no mush, its imran bahi we have shortage what will we do , blame him too? If that's a solution keep crying . Being a citizen of Pakistan we also have responsibility and that is i don't know ? Do you know?

:hayaa:
aur price rise in saudi arabia…
meyra kya hooga…:frowning:

We might hear a few announcements once they're current 21 million population reaches 165 million!

^^ Talking about loadshedding, it seems the Pakistanis themselves do not want to resolve that issue. Large scale HEP plants, like the three-gorges dam in China, are the only solution to Pakistan's current electricity crisis if it doesnt want to import expensive fuel or electricity from the western neighboours or the gulf. However, that's not going to happen, despite every push from Musharraf, due to inter-provinicial grievances.