Sapphire ring

I was confused whether this was a religion topic or a relationships one. But I guess I’ve made my stand and I believe it’s just a Hindu influenced superstition. So right now, I just need relationship advice.

My inlaws-to-be want to buy me a Sapphire engagement ring instead of a Diamond one. I don’t care what they give me, but my nani’s side of the family is being very annoying. They’re saying that Sapphire is a very strong stone and it suits only some people. People who wear Sapphire without checking their Istikhara (and if it doesn’t suit them) will be affected by misfortune and calamities.
I have read that the Prophet (saww) and his family members used to wear certain gemstone rings, and it is recommended to wear carnelian (aqeeq), turquoise (firoza), and ruby (yaqoot). All the websites I visited said that gemstones are Allah’s gifts on Earth. I’ve been researching Sapphire and this stupid suitability thing, and I can’t find any Arab or Iranian websites that mention any negative aspects of any stone.
I’m wondering if my nani’s side of the family is superstitious due to Hindu influences from the pre-1947 era? I believe all gemstones are good and positive and a sign of Allah.
How do I deal with my relatives? And how do I tell them, in the sweetest way possible, that their superstitions are total BS?And if you guys think that I shouldn’t wear the Sapphire ring, then how do I ask my future MIL not to buy me one without sounding so…jaahil?

Re: Sapphire ring

Tell your nani that you checked your janam kundli instead and…lo n behold…the heavenly chart revealed that an anarth can only take place if a kaniya kumari’s third finger remains ringless…for that is a far greater shame (thoo thoo…laug kya kahain ge?) than one adorned with sapphire. :stuck_out_tongue:

More seriously, Nida…refer to the link below and consider showing it to your mom’s side of the family.

http://www.onislam.net/english/ask-the-scholar/muslim-creed/muslim-belief/450683-does-belief-in-stones-amount-to-shirk.html

I might be wrong, but I think that with time they’ll eventually get over their complaining.

Tell your nani you're getting a blue diamond. It's a heirloom that has darkened over time and has been with the family over centuries. That might divert her attention to the possibility that her grand child is getting married into a dynasty.

Hathi k daanth khaney k aur, dekhaney ka aur

got the clue?

Show your nani the movie, Titanic…which also featured a huge sapphire. :hypo:

draw me like one of your french girls, nani..

Sapphire ring

I have heard of the stone having strong asr on the person who wears it and how it affects the person either positively or negatively and all this mumbo jumbo has made me swear off my ami's feroza set!! Apparently it didn't suit her but the lalchi aurat that I am I took it and refuse to wear it!! Your nani is just being superstitious and just tell her you went to peer farangi sahab and he said this pathar will bring you joy. Problem solved!!!

And no I forbid all guppies to question my superstitiousness bas!!!!

wow , my best friend told me the same thing about sappahires! i always wear a diamond-sapphire ring (sapphire being the main big stone) and she asked me to 'get it checked' to see if 'suits' me. lolz.

i dont believe in all this- ive ordered kate middleton's sapphire ring already!

Thank you guys! I'll just tell them I checked and it's suitable. I'm not about to teach them Islam 101.
And by the way, Lady Diana's sapphire ring and the Titanic is part of their "proof" that it's a dangerous stone to wear. I told them I'd rather have that fate than be part of this wonderfully insane family :D

Yes, your nani's information is very relevant.One should not wear stones without proper knowledge about it & must check if it suits you well.Saphire, Turqious, Diamond are power packed so they affect very quickly unlike Aqeeq which Prophet PBUH used to wear.

yeah I've heard it too.

Yes, prior to wearing the sapphire stone one must spin around counter clockwise three times, do a head stand, and then moonwalk 6 paces.

Just asked my friend she said her mom will do some gemology thingy and check for me if the sapphire suits me...

Haha.