Sanwali Saloni

Hello my wheatish colored sistas. It’s high time i asked this question. What colors, shades, makeup bases, even cosmetic companies do you use?

I find that it’s really hard to find a good shade that matches the yellow-based leaning towards the dark skin tones we have. So what eye shadow color, what color of lipsticks and lip glosses, what colored pressed powder etc etc did you find works perfectly for you.

Gori chittay people need no apply :snooty:

Re: Sanwali Saloni

good post :k:

I usually end up looking like a clown with all the make-up I apply.

i don't use lipsticks at all cuz all of them make me look like a choori. none of the colors match me. it's so frikkin' annoying!

and thanks sidra. :)

Hmm i always thought those wit darker skin were kinda lucky coz they cud get away with darker/brighter colors coz it wud blend in wit their skincolour..

nahh…it’s not that easy. for example, wear a red that’s too red, you look like a choori.

wear a parrot green that isn’t the right parrot green, you look darker.

wear bright blue eyeshadow, you look like a…umm…how can i say it in a family friendly way…street lady :rolleyes:

even whites can be tricky.

Hm weird.. all the magazines I read, they say fuschia/pink, violet, green, orange, those are all colours that look good on dark skin and they show the models wearing it and look gorgeous.. or maybe that applies to kaalis and not desi-dark? :konfused:

maybe...or they just pick the model that the colors would suit the best. plus, there's the lighting, and the makeup and photoshoping later.

I don’t wear make-up :smooth:

:clown: ← me after my last successful attempt at makeup…i’ve been banned ever since and they got a restraining order against me…not to come closer to anything/anyone that remotely resembles a makeup item…:phati: :wink: :stuck_out_tongue:

I don't use any of those things :D simple lipgloss or lipstick ;) does it all for me..

when i want to make a different and forever impression on someone then kajol and eye liner ;) does it all

I can't change anything on me - i cant pretend to be someoen else that i am not after putting makeup on :).. but i do like little colors on me.. so lipgloss or lipstick ... eyeliner or/and kajol sometimes... on weddings or special occaions i will do some eye makeup without kajol or eyeliner... i dont like too much going on .. on my face :) ..

no foundation stuff... i like my skin the way it is.. i learned to live with it over the years...

This is how i look at it.. all those fashion magazine have been edited trillion times by those graphic desingers atleast i am Original piece :D

*sigh hum dil ko ase hi kar ke kush ho jatey hain... jo hon jesi hon sahi hon :D

90% of the time... i am at work without any makeup... :)

I am not gorri or sanwali i think i am yellowish : crying: where the heck on earth i belong

yellow-land prolly…:wink: choozay waise yellow hi hotay hein so fiQer noT…ur not a choozi but a tweety [close enough]…so enjoy it while u can…:stuck_out_tongue: :clown:

uff…you guys. chalo, use whatver you do. par what do you use? i mean, for example nia, what color eye shadow looks best on you yellow thingy :stuck_out_tongue:

and you know what, not everyone’s blessed with a flawless, oil less skin :snooty:

khumar :smiley: i dont care i think anything will good :smiley: now people can think otherwise i dont care :smiley:

i even think orange looks good on me :snooty:

i dont care :stuck_out_tongue: logo ne kia kehna hai :stuck_out_tongue:

do u gals have something which we poor mundays can use to look much bootifull then u?:barbie:

you poor mundas need entire face lift.. so its a lot of work :p

where shall we start from?

eye brows or nose hair... :p some men have those hair popping out DISGUSTING

could u make this list a lil shorter… police:naraz:

Why did i read every post in this thread? Wtfudge? :konfused:

^ :rotfl: same here.

My original skin color is fair however i havent let it show for two years now.
I make sure I get enough tan to darken it cause I hate looking pale.

I can get away with Orange, Brown, Pink and Baby Blue, Black, Purple

However thats when I use colors.

BabyPink and BabyBlue go so well with dark skintone.

Orange looks good on eyes only if you pair it up with a black or a very dark brown eyepencil otherwise you end up looking like a mareez.

Pink looks awesome again but needs a dark brown or black eyepencil

I dun use much colors in lipstick but if i do then its Pink or Brown and only a certain shades, nothing dark.

As for foundation and face powder, i duno if its the right way but I use a darker colored foundation and dust it with a shade lighter powder.

Cause when they apply it for goras its always the other way around, light colored foundation dusted by dark colored powder.

But if you do that on desi skin it makes you looking like a witch.

I use origins for foundation. It matches my skin tone and you can’t even tell I’m wearing foundation. :blush:

Lipsticks … usually MAC. I do wear red lipsticks quite a bit. I can get away with it cause of my colouring.