Samosa Pastry Recipe - By Mr Maroush

**Ladies and Gents , **

**A very special recipe was shared with us by our very own Maroush’s Mr :@: **
**with her permission , I am posting it for you all . **

**May we be the samosa experts soon inshallah … :salute: **

Ingrediants:

• 500g, plain flour
  • 2 to 3 tbsp, oil (olive oil, vegetable oil, butter, ghee; it’s your choice, though i personally use ghee)
  • 1 tsp, salt
  • Water
  • Rice flour (for dusting)

Optional:

• 1/2 tsp, cumin or ajwain seeds - lightly toasted in a dry pan
  • 1/4 tsp, red chilli powder

Instructions:

1. Sift in the plain flour into a large bowl. Add the chilli powder, salt and toasted seeds.
  2. Add the oil a tablespoon at a time. The mixture should be crumbly. Add enough water to bring the mixture together. Knead until a smooth dough is formed. Cover the bowl with cling-film and leave the dough to rest in the fridge; a prefer to leave it overnight but a few hours should suffice.

When you’re ready to use the dough:

1. Divide the mixture into equal pieces. Dust your work surface with the rice flour. Take one of the pieces of dough and begin to work it in your hands, like you do when you’re making chapatis. Roll out the ball of dough into a thin circle. Cut the circle in half, leaving you with two semicircles.
  2. Now, people differ in their methods of how to make a samosa shell. You can place a teaspoon or two of your samosa filling in the centre of the semicircle, lightly brush the edges with water and carefully fold the edges over the filling to form a triangle. OR, you can brush the edges of the dough with water and form a cone shape in your hand and stuff with filling from the open edge, sealing it after it’s stuffed.
  3. Make sure you seal the edges of the samosa properly; there is nothing worse than a samosa that has burst, with a filling drenched in cooking oil !!!
  4. When you’re ready to cook, them, simply fry them in a skillet until they’re crisp and golden brown.

I believe that sifting the flour, rolling the pastry out using rice flour and the prolonged chilling time makes for a crispier, flakier samosa pastry. Make sure you enjoy them whilst they’re hot

re: Samosa Pastry Recipe - By Mr Maroush

yummmm

Re: Samosa Pastry Recipe - By Mr Maroush

Sounds great, I'll be trying this out for Sunday Iftari.

My wife made samosay using flour first time , the pastry sheets did not taste as good as made with maida. :naraz: I asked her to use maida next time.

CB i just saw this!! :smiley:

Mirch bhai, what’s the difference between plain flour and maida?? Isn’t it the same thing?? :konfused:

Ohh dear now i am all confused as well .. :konfused:

Unless i need correction, I think plain flour is maida … and selfraising is the maida with raising agents inlcuded … .. but then what do we call aata :konfused: its called flour as well … no?

Mirch , did you use aata by mistake?

CB you are right maida is plain flour, atta is wheat flour :kiss:
its just the americans they like to make things super complicated :hehe:

Mrs M- would Mr M b kind enough to share the filling recipe with us too? or is that too much to ask? :@:

Thanks so much sweeetu for the clarification :hugz:

Mr M and Lady M might give you the filling recipe if you promise to send them some samosa’s :fatee:

Maida is not available in non desi stores in USA , they sell multipurpose flour but that is not as refined as maida.
My wife used whole wheat flour though , if she used multipurpose flour then those samosas will not turn out the way they did , they will be closer to what Indians call Punjabi samosay and we call them aloo kay samosay.

^just finely sift the multi purpose flour mirch ji n u will get maida:)

Ab inti mehnat kon karay , jub desi store main meida mill jata hay. hay k nahi ?

:smack: u said maida is not available in o desi stores so i assumed you dont have desi stores where u live :slight_smile: hence my rply

OK , I am sorry for the misunderstanding. Jazzak Allah for your clarification about maida and the tip.

pics plz!

I’ll get him to write it out and i’ll paste it here…i’m assuming you want the keema filling ecipe ?

His recipes are so long and complex…:no:. njgal shared this simple recipe with me (which is within my capabilities to make :D) so i’ll write this one out also:

“The trick for the filling is not to cube the boiled pototoes or mash them up completely. Add chopped fresh cilantro leaves, grinded coriander seeds, red pepper, salt, crushed anar dana (if you like it), whole red mirch (a smidge)”

I also added a little garam masala and mango powder (thought i would show a little culinary flair) and they tasted pretty good.

very nice between can we freeze them ?many thankx

I think maida is "strong white flour" which they use for pizza as well. It is easily available in the super markets here in the UK. For Samoas we should use simple strong white flour (not self raising one).

Thank you.

Mostar :omg: I realized we have very valuable culinary input coming from gents as well :cb:

So my wife used all purpose flour available at local market and pastry sheet for samosa turned out to be same as mithai wala shops.