Sami, Wasim bowl National Bank to Pentangular triumph
By our correspondent
…
Pakistan reject fast bowler **Mohammad Sami **was virtually unplayable as he captured six wickets for 48 runs in 8.5 overs, to give him a match haul of 9-121. He and Wasim Khan bowled unchanged as the Karachi team tumbled. Wasim collected 10 wickets in the match for a mere 82 runs, following his first innings 6-57 with another splendid bowl that fetched him 4-25.
Following his 87-run eighth-wicket partnership with Mohammad Sami (43) on Monday, Imran then joined hands with Wasim Khan (33) as a further 73 runs were added for the ninth wicket. Wasim faced only 54 balls and hit five fours.
Scoreboard
National Bank 1st inns (overnight 427-8)
…
**Mohammad Sami c Sarfraz b Faraz 43
Wasim Khan st Sarfraz b Atif 33
Karachi Harbour 2nd inns
… Bowling: Mohammad Sami 8.5-1-48-6; Wasim Khan 8-1-25-4 (2w)
Imran lashes out at ‘atrocious decisions’
Imran Khan, the former Pakistan captain, today blamed the team management’s “atrocious” strategies for the side’s recent slump in one-dayers. He also criticised the decision to appoint Jonty Rhodes as fielding coach and **their decision not to play Mohammad Sami in the recently concluded tour of Sri Lanka. **
Pakistan won 10 out of the 14 ODIs they played between April and December 2005 - which included a 3-0 away victory in West Indies - before they lost a home series to India in February 2006. Following that 4-1 thrashing, Pakistan’s success rate dropped considerably, winning only seven out of their last 15 matches. “In one-day cricket, other teams put their best batsmen at No. 2, 3, 4 and 5. But Pakistan keeps its best batsman at No.6 and 7,” Imran told the Press Trust of India. “Inzamam-ul-Haq ran out of partners in Abu Dhabi because he was batting lower down the order. I don’t know who is behind these atrocious decisions.”
While criticising the Pakistan board’s decision to keep Mohammad Sami out of the Sri Lanka tour, Imran said that, Pakistan will need fast bowlers like Sami, Mohammad Asif and Shoaib Akhtar to be fit, to maintain their winning streak against England. Pakistan has not lost a series in England since 1982, when Imran side was beaten 2-1 by David Gower’s men.
When asked about the team’s need for a fielding coach, Imran said, “The Pakistan cricket team has a bowling coach. Now they have a fielding coach and the skipper himself is a batsman. I don’t understand what will Bob Woolmer do.” Rhodes is set to spend two weeks with the Pakistan cricket team and work on their fielding skills before their departure for the tour of England in July.
“Fielding cannot be improved by appointing coaches”, he continued. “The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has to understand that Australia and South Africa are good fielding sides because their players play [domestic cricket] on good grounds and in near perfect structure.”
SOURCE: http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/245415.html
Imran lashes out at 'atrocious decisions'
:
:
"Inzamam-ul-Haq ran out of partners in Abu Dhabi because he was batting lower down the order. I don't know who is behind these atrocious decisions."
Imran was captain for long time, does he not know who decides batting orders? Of course it won't be PCB chairman, there are 2 possibilities either captain himself or coach, but coach can be ruled out as Inzi has been on this position even before current coach... so who is left out ?
While criticising the Pakistan board's decision to keep Mohammad Sami out of the Sri Lanka tour, Imran said that, Pakistan will need fast bowlers like Sami, Mohammad Asif and Shoaib Akhtar to be fit, to maintain their winning streak against England.
Only if Imran Khan still had his "talent-finding-eyes" working correctly he would've backed up Mohammad Asif more than Sami, but I don't remember any statement from Imran to include Asif, instead he continued to back Sami and Shoaib. Now that Asif has almost proved his worth Imran includes his name.... bhai mian, koi kaam ki baat karo! Forget Sami, let him fight in domestic for sometime, let him discover what he really wants to do.
With Rao in the squad instead of Sami, Imran has a point.
Now if instead of Sami we were trying out some young upcoming fast bowler like some of the U19 guys or any other new face from the domestic scene, then I would disagree with Khan sahib.
I agree with SKhan. We don't need Rao in the team. Rao can/should be replaced by either Arafat or Sami. I know Sami is doing good now in domestic circuit and he needs to persist with that good performance in the domestic arena. Then, he could be brought to Pak side before Eng tour. I have deep respect for Imran Khan but I think the comments he made about batting order aren't "precise" enough. Inzamam and Woolmer are the two main persons who know the batting order and they do a pretty good job of using it. Yea, they do make mistakes but learning from mistakes is important and they are doing it in good numbers.
As far as appointing Jonty Rhodes is concerned, I think Imran Khan is right. Appointing Jonty Rhodes for 2 weeks and asking for miracles from Pak players isn't realistic. What would be a better option is to appoint Jonty with the junior teams and Pak team atleast for a year and then see the results. I agree with Imran Khan that Aus and SA players are good/agile on the field not just of fielding guidance, but also because of their grounds and their hardwork on fielding.
Anyhow, I'm looking forward to Pak tour to Eng and waiting anxiously for Pak to persevere there as well inshAllah. I'm hoping badly that Shoaib Akhtar be fit 100% before the tour so we can enjoy a good fast and spin attack.
Umer