Salman *WonderBoy* Butt

Re: Salman WonderBoy Butt

I think he is a good player, one thing about us pakistanise, we giveup so quickly and so easily.

One day KING next day Beggar.

Aur Aaap tension Naan Lo naan, You may need to drink cammomile tea when you watching him play.

Lately he is cooperating by not sticking around for too long :D

Sit him out and you have no regular opener in the team. Besides, he is going thru a bad patch, he'll inshallah bounce back.

He is NOT out of form. He has been middling the ball most of the time, and manages to get 30 odd runs or so before getting out. What he is doing is throwing his wicket away, often in precarious situations (remember the runout in the first test and the dropped catch and dismissal in this innings).

After the first test match in England, he has played 10 innings (both ODI and test) without scoring big. On such flat tracks, I expected better.

Give him some time. He needs to be groomed and polished.

He's good - but he seems to flourish only when his partner doesn't. He did well with all the khota openers we had paired up with him, in fact even with Shoaib. But ever since Afridi opened with him last year in India and momentarily eclipsed him, he seems to be stumbling. But don't forget his achievements against England not too long ago.

Do remember, openers are the ones who face the new shiny ball when Inzi and Youhana wouldn't. So give them a break, and so long as they provide us 50/60+ starts, be happy with them.

Opening should only be considered a problem if one of them consistently keep getting out in the first 10/15 overs -- as was the case with Yasir Hameed offering catch practice in slips and Taufeeq Umer flaunting his dance skills at the crease.

I'd venture that we should make Akmal our opener in both forms of cricket, and bring Shoaib back to batting at number 6 or 7. That will protect his career without sacrificing Pakistan's lower order hitting ability in the Afridi-Razzaq-(Akmal/Shoaib)'s combination.

If Salman Butt’s presence on the screen is edgy, please revisit Taufeeq Umar’s oh-so-assuring break dance innings against Indians in previuos two series. You might be tempted to compare Salman and Inzi bhai’s composure :hehe:

Butt is a class bat. A solid tour of Australia should show you guys that he can mix it with the big boys. Just needs to knucle down and stop wasting starts.

i just hope they stick around with him,for goodness’ sake ppl we already have problems finding 1 opener if we drop salman then we might as well open with mohammed aseeeeeef :smiley:
IMO,taufeeq is better than imran farhat or salman, i just cant erase his 135 vs SA in SA from my memory :k:

At 11:48AM

From : http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showpost.php?p=3834203&postcount=16
at 7:29AM

Allah ka shukar hay ke PCB hamari nahi sunti :CareBear:

^^im glad u put it up here Kaptaan bhai,im really loosing my head after lahore n faisalabd's tests :(

Nancy Ji,

Just wait for Karachi, and then do a damage assesment, too early now:D

hota hay hota hay, sabr se kaam lijiye, Allah behtar karay ga :insha: :smiley:

Aejaz bhai:-dont jinx the KHI match plz :(

i dunno wat the problem wit salman is...he's gettin us decent 50-60 starts, and the occasional hundred...he's got time on his side...he'll only get better...and imagine if we'd given up wit saeed anwar after his test (a pair)...??

this guy is a class act, and he strongly resembles saeed when playing some strokes (no i am not comparing the 2, saeed anwar was just tooo good)

Ah Salman... my boy!!! Still playing. Still giving tension. Somethings never change.

ps. This thread is revived to give an additional kick to our good friend Some1. Some folks at KK are ahead of their time. Its not easy looking at the crystal ball though.

You did seem to have the crystal ball in this case. You wrote the above posts at a time when the general public still had a positive impression of Salman Butt.

Baaz aa jao..

Brother, you are looking at his wrong talent. He is in the team not because of his cricket talent, but because he is presentable and can say few lines in English :).