Salman Ahmed on his discussion forum!

Salman was on there a few days back! Unfortunaelty this I wasnt able to talk to him!

Here is what he had to say about his concert in Houston!

Last week after the Houston show,I felt really frustrated
depressed and letdown.Despite the fact that the junoonies
on this tour have been ballistic.We’ve met people who’ve come by car,bus,trains and planes just to catch us live-
so why was I bumming so bad?It’s the rigid rules and regulations at these concert halls,they don’t let people have a good time,they interfere with the performance(sponsor messages B.S.!)and then there’s this “curfew”.The whole
concept of our live performance is for people to LET GO
OF THEIR HANGUPS and to let their spirit and their booty’s shake,rattle and hum.So what did I do to blow my blues away?I went to see U2 in Paris on the 17th and 18th as a pure fan.I just wanted to go thru the whole experience of being on the otherside of the stage.Shehryar suggested that he send an e-mail to U2’s management for special treatment,but I wanted the total real experience!I loaded my bag with U2’s cds, their biography “the unforgettable fire” and set out on an american airlines flight for Paris.
I got there 2 hours before the show and felt so elevated
when a french couple sold me their tickets for both nights because their friends hadn’t shown up!Some people would’ve said that
I was lucky but I know fate was working BIG TIME!I met U2 fans from all over Europe,England,Scotland and we had all congregated for the big adventure.I felt so free! no one recognised me,and Salman could morph into the raving,lunatic U2 fan that he’s always been.When I met Bono
earlier this year I couldn’t quite take it in,but I had to play it cool since I was supposed to be this bigass artist from Pakistan!No such worries this time,I bought a U2 t-shirt,their tour program and settled into see the most memorable two concerts of my life(not including Junoon concerts of course!).U2’s music did everything that a music performance can do,It made me shout,sing,cry and laugh plus
it challenged me to think about political issues like
gun control,debt reduction and humanitarian issues that i’m
involved with (peace,hiv/aids)I came out of the concert totally rejuvenated.They played songs from all of their albums,the high points were "elevation,stuck in a moment,
where the streets have no name,new years day and of course
Pride and with or without you.It blew my mind to see 4 guys who have been playing together for over twenty years to be soo Junooni onstage.That is the true spirit of rock.Play each concert like it’s going to be your last.Since I’ve come back Junoon’s played Atlanta,Dallas and Toronto.In Toronto we had 16,000 junoonis who had braved the rain,technical delays and what not to cheer us on as we ripped thru our set conscious of that 11p.m. curfew(why can’t promoters pick venues which don’t have time limits)
at one point I saw a junooni going totally ape **** in Khudi
(was it taimur malik!)as I was during “elevation” in Paris.
I guess the bottom line is we are as much a part of our audience as they are a part of us,and it’s an unbreakable bond,RIGHT?
p.s.On the day I left paris I took my acoustic guitar to a subway station,opened the case and strummed some junoon songs and guess what?I made a grand total of 6 francs in a half hour.It was a totally humbling experience,but I know that many more deserving artists than me spend their lifetimes busking…Atlanta,Dallas,Toronto thanks for making our lives special.We promise to keep you entertained
for a long time to come INSHALLAH!

**Well I am going to post all of the contents of what Salman Had to say! Salman ahmed’s nick is SALMAN.

And this actually him! Not someone pretending to be him!**

Xerox Ali
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 03:37

I was in Atlanta and had the time of my life. The energy in a Junoon concert is unsurpassed and can only be felt when u let go of inhibitions and just move in all dimensions … unhindered JUNOON Da BOMB !!!

Peace & Happiness

Life without obsession is like word without meaning

Posts: 89 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Layla
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 06:45

Yes u2 is amazing…we all know that really well. u2’s music has no comparison!

Posts: 38 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

RZA
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 07:20

wait salman had a question is that rumour true are u and bono gonna do a collaboration for his jubilee album? and what about the rumour about santana and u guys hookin up for a collaboration i mean i would love to see junoon release an album in the u.s. cuz i mean if retards like ricky martin can make it big u guys actually have a message in your music. I mean it would be cool to see junoon on like m.t.v or vh1 just a thought u guys got any offers from international recording companies?

I am the Rose that grew in the desert
I am the miracle of adversity
For I bow not to the harsh winds
But I humble before La Ilah
My petals tainted though I still shine.
My fragrance faint still stronger than the atoms that hold me together.
My beauty transient it’s fate was to wither in the glory of the sun
My sustenance faith and my light eternal no slumber overtake it nor sleep
I am the hope of the wanderer, the hands of the slave
I am the voice of the weak, the patience of the poor.
I am the seed of 1400 years of struggle my roots deeper than the oceans
I am of the progeny of prophets and conquerors.
My kin are the poor and the slave.
My audience new my message is the same.

-RZA

Posts: 69 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

TaimuR MaliK
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 08:47

toooo good. Life just couldnt be better at that moment, the energy, the excitement, its like a natural high. You let go of everything. No worries, no regrets, just couldnt care less about anything else. It truly is an experience that you have to go through, without it, your incomplete, and with it you crave for more. Just like a “Shaheen” you just want to go higher and higher and higher. Its just a feeling which no Junooni can explain, something which is buried inside all of us which erupts as soon as a single note goes through our ear-drums bringing about a series of impulses. When it hits me, I sometimes stop for a sec and ask myself…Has there ever been a time in my life which has been more pleasant and satisfying than this?? and believe me…my soul yells back…NEVER!!!

This is something which you definitely cant leave behind.

Thanks for the memories guys

All the best, come back soon, I gotta go down that road again and fullfill my piyaas

The WoRld iS yoUrs

Posts: 17 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Sayonee
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 13:43

Wow, cool, way to go, Salman!
I always give money to buskers… who knows what they might grow into, if they are not that already! Hey, remember what you leave behind, huh?!

there is no saint without a past
there is no sinner without a future

Posts: 18 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Aaria
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 15:47

U2 and Junoon should totally try and collaborate for an album.. Between the two most amazing lyrical and acqustic bands in the world.. think of all the music to be made!
And I think its amazing how You want the fans to be free and want us to be totally stuck in the Junoon Moment.. ( no pun intended) I cant wait for you guys to come this Sunday.. In a park in Ny.. There Inshalla we will be free..

Khirad ko Ghulami Se aazad kar, jawaano ko piroon ka ustaad kar.

" Free the intellect from the shackles of ignorance, make the young teachers of the old. ( from Salman Ahmad’s article on appointment as UN Ambassador for Aids)

Posts: 74 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Salman
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 17:50

Rza:There is a collaboration process
underway but that’s all I’m going to reveal at this point.Obviously we’re only
going to beat the drum once there’s something concrete to shout about,but we are going in a crossover direction…

Taimur Malik:So it was you going ape **** during khudi!awesome description of your experience dude!

Sayonee:There is a busker within all of us,just got go deep down and find him.I left the change in a unicef children’s fund…for what it was worth.Are you
“the Sayonee”.If so, glad to make your acquaintance in cyberspace.

Aaria,Layla:see you in N.Y. at our farewell concert.by the way other singers like jon secada,ricky martin,gloria estefan also have accents
when they sing in english,you don’t need to be an englishman to sing an englsh song.It’s just a language not a passport for elitism…

Posts: 39 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Shamain
Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 18:30

Salman: remember me frm the Dallas show? i was goin bonkers at the concert rite in the front! i was the girl in the tye-dye shirt and silver hoop earrings and u gave me a lil kiss backstage ur soooooo sweet. Awesome performance btw..all 3 of u! i always live it up when u guys rock the town!

Ur collaboration w/ U2 will be sooooooo mesmerizing and great! i can’t wait!

Rok on Salman, Ali and Brian!
luv u guys,

Shafaq

If I die before I wake
I hope in heaven I can skate
Coz right now on earth, I can’t do jack
With this ammunition on my back

Posts: 230 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Aaria
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 18:31

That is very true about the accent, many great artists have accents, but when you sing it can hardly be sensed. I honestly think that it would be interesting having a crossover album, to be able to connect with a broader audience, but there is something about Urdu poetry which is so beautiful and when it is put with the right melody, there’s magic to be made.

Urdu is such a poetic language and the words have such deep meaning, if you did cross over, please don’t stop making music with Urdu/Punjabi lyrics.

Your music has brought Pakistan to many of us abroad, unfortunatley we weren’t educated with the history and culture which our forefathers helped build and create. It is with your lyrics that we are reminded of the passion and the dreams which our predecessors posessed(referring to Iqbal). One can read great Western poets and philosophers, but there is something much deeper with Urdu poetry; perhaps it is an understanding which transcendeds boundaries.

" Free the intellect from the shackles of ignorance, make the young teachers of the old. ( from Salman Ahmad’s article on appointment as UN Ambassador for Aids)

Ruby
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 19:43

I totally agree with Aaria. For us born and raised in the west we need to come to terms with our heritage or legacy as Muslims and as Pakistanis. Unfortunately much of our images of Pakistan are negative…ie corruption, etc. which hinders many of us from realizing our past glories. I think that Junoon is a perfect example of letting us know who we are and where we’re coming from. I never realized how rich our hsitory and language was until I was first introduced to the “Junooni Spirit” via Inquilab. Since then Junoon has evolved becoming more complex by the album. You guys are doing a great job for Pakistanis at home and abroad. Rock on…

Posts: 31 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Salman
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 19:57

AAria: I understand your passion completely…
but don’t worry, Junoon’s not going to lose it’s identity by singing in english,
I grew up in the west too,remember?But having knowlege of other cultures has given me a greater appreciation of my own.
I’ve always wanted to take our cultural traditions and present them in a modern context.That’s the only way you can enrich
your own culture,let it bleed into other colors.That’s what Rumi,Bulleh Shah and Iqbal did and you can’t say that they were diluted.The important thing is not be afraid to follow your heart,it will never
misguide you,not if your truly in touch with it.JUST MAKE THAT CONNECTION…
Shamein:Sure I remember you,your in our documentary!

omar amini
Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 20:05

asalam,

Salman,please come to vancouver, let us junoonis show you the real passion of junoon, the real junooni nasha.

hope you get to read this post and reply to it,

allah hafiz

mohammad omar amini

Tere jalwe abh mujhe harsoo nazar aaney lagay
kash yeh bhi ho ke mujh mein tu nazar aney lagay

Posts: 186 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Salman
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 20:19

Omer:Would love to rock you in Vancouver,i have to say the Toronto audience was out of this world,next time we’ll have a new album under our belts and who knows we might get to meet…

Ruby:My love for urdu prose and shairi
is a junoon in itself and I could never stop writing songs with urdu lyrics.there’s a couplet which symbolises
my junoon for desi poetry…

:merey iss namurad junoon ka koi ilaaj hai to maut hai"
“to phir maut hi sahi,kaun dafna saka hai
toofan-e-rooh ko”
(if there is any respite for my passion and restlessness it’s death…)
(then death let it be,for no one can bury the stormy spirit)

Duniya
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 20:21

dklfjd–testing

RZA
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 20:28

Well i hope you guys can pull it off in english cuz it ain’t too easy. Just one question though alotta people that i know are goray they like junoon cuz of the guitars and western-eastern fusion and they really dig the urdu even though they can’t understand it i mean u guys could be like the next rammenstein or somethin i mean rammenstein only sing in german but people still lik’em. One request if you guys sing in english let your first song be political or spiritual cuz there’s too many artists that cater to mass media and sell out i just hope if you guys make it big here you don’t sell out and like move here and live in big mansions and like change your names and start wearing hippie style clothes and forget the shalwar kamis and kurta’s and forget all about pakistan cuz most a da artists you talked about that have accents pretty much are all sell outs. just a word of advice from a real junooni.

-RZA

Zeeshan
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 20:34

Well, since you (Salman) are replying to posts here, I had a request. I’ve mentioned this at another topic, but let me go again. This being an Andaz Tour, I think most of the fans would like to listen to songs from your latest album “ANDAZ/ISHQ”. Also you guys started to do concerts after the third album “Inquilaab”. Thus you have never performed songs from your first two albums at any concerts. I again think most fans would love to hear songs from the first two albums. Also, I think your concerts are pretty short…2 hours. That’s what it was in Brooklyn, NY (I was there) and as I heard in Toronto as well. I think they should go for atleast 30 or 60 more minutes. And one last thing, I will be at your concert in Chicago on Friday and in Detroit on Saturday…and I would love to hear Chaien (from Ishq) and Woh (from Talaash). Those are the two songs I would really like to see you guys perform. We will rock Chicago together and then Detroit together.

Posts: 29 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Salman
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 20:41

Rza

ude I have the blood of the Indus
running through my veins,I’d sooner make the west take up the shalwar kameez,Chapals
and sufi poetry then sell out.Didn’t Brian, John Alec(my producer)Richard Murphy (rock journalist) and Morten Harket(Aha’s lead singer) end up being a complete Junoonis,have faith in us people!

Duniya
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 20:43

Salman,
Firstly, was at the Toronto concert…you guys were great.
I understand taht you are the UNAids spokesperson for Pakistan. Good stuff. Undoubtedly, Aids is a worldwide epidemic…BUT…have you ever wondered why so many “dollars” get put towards a cause when it seems to have the greates implications for the ‘West’. The developing world suffers from a debt crisis, that the IMF and World Bank(consequently the UN) profit greatly from; it is plagued by hunger, malnutrition, and war…but these things have never taken as much precedence.
I’ve spent my life acquiring knowledge around issues pertaining to inequality, oppression, poverty and power and politics. The UN is a massive entity, with its own agenda—(don’t mean to be a conspiricy theorist)–because I continue to support them in my own ways. But, I guess I just wanted to pass on what I’ve learned: Never forget the end goal, and don’t get caught up in the Red Tape and B-S.
Hope you continue to inspire altruism and charity through your music and good work. Best of luck:)

Gobind
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 20:48

Salman, you guys rocked in Dallas! It’s unfortunate that the show ended the way it did (because of the curfew I guess), but it was great anyway! Thanks!

Keep us posted on the U2 collaboration. I think that should be the ultimate experience!

“Peace on Earth!”

Posts: 4 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

PureJunooni
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 20:49

Salaamz Salman,

I am from chicago, Illinois. I am only 10 years old Junooni. I love your songs a looootttttt. I am really waiting for you all to come to CHicago this Friday. Will see you there then…Salman read the topic called “Request to Junoon and JunoonMGMNT” I have request a song for you to play during the concert and yes many others have requested too. can you please sing ‘sheena’ ‘sheeshay ka ghar’ ‘kwaab’ ‘mein kaun houn’ ‘dhartee kay khuda’ ooops there comes the list it will be endless. sorry . So please Salman I know that you all are the BEST and also tell Ali Azmat to sing all the songs I have requested. I will also meet u at the backstage.

BEST OF LUCK

Posts: 11 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Aaria
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 20:55

I don’t think Junoon would lose its identity if it did a crossover album. I think it would be a great way to shed light on talent and to further aquaint others with Junoon’s music.
However Junoon’s Urdu lyrics give US a sense of identity, a sense of understanding which we can almost empathize with.

I agree that the heart won’t be deceptive nor will it mislead someone. Iqbal puts it best
" Mitah de apni hasti ko agar kuch marthaba chahiye, ke dana khaak me mil kar gulooh gulzar hota hein."

Passion wil set one free.

Salman
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 20:56

Duniya:Yes I agree to a certain extent that the west decides the terms of engagement in today’s world.But that doesn’t mean that you can’t fight on their terms.Our leaders were the ones who sucked the blood out of our people,by not spending the aid money on social welfare projects.Also you and me have the power of our voices how many times do we use it
collectively to benefit the dispossessed millions in our own country?I’m eager to hear from all of you on aids/Hiv ,debt reduction issues and how it affects Pakistan.I will then share with u what I thik can be done collectively by us.Ciao

PureJunooni
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 21:01

Salman you didn’t reply me back please reply me soon as possible

Aaria
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 21:07

The issue of Aids and HIV is so fragile and when we try to speak of it in the pretense that it is a sexually transmitted disease, the term “sex” is so taboo on the subcontinent. People would rather brush it aside than confront it.

Aside from that it’s spread in unsanitary conditions and bad blood transfusions, I can only imagine the rate at which it spreads. Sanitation is hardly a priority. People need to be made knowledgeable on the disease, the ways of contracting it, treatments since there is no cure as of yet. There are people suffering from this disease and they don’t even know it.

Knowledge and education is what we are lacking. Ignorance is prevailing.. If we can get past the taboos society has imposed on us, perhaps we can make progress to ensure that the disease isn’t spread any further.

JunooninIllinois
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 21:16

Salman I am from Illinois. Please answer that 10 yr kid

starburst
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 21:59

hi salman,
could u pls have a concert in l.a when u visit the states again?ppl over here are madddd about u guys!
thanks

Posts: 7 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Sadi
Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 22:05

You know just logically thinking about this conversation between Salman and RZA
about desi cloths like shalwar kameez and chapals if junoon decide to do some
singing in english would start acting like westners or hippies.
Oh come one Salman said he was grew up in the west so if he was brough up in US
and still loves his own culture and cloths why should he then change himself
if he sings in english…this makes no sense to me.
That’s what makes him so unique that he has not lost his roots. He is our
ambassador to the west. I would love to see some gorray in kurta and chapal
singing his songs.. hehe that would be funny ..like those gooray who dress
in orange and sing haaray kirschna all around.. plz keep it up there are
ppl who have faith in you.

Treat people the way you
would like to be treated.

I LOVE MY PAKISTAN

Posts: 144 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Shamain
Junooni
Posted 25-07-2001 22:54

Salman: Salams and thankyou so much for remembering me One of the things I love about junoon is that they are soooo down to earth and very in touch w/ their fans’ needs.

Pls tell more about the documentary. I remember sometime ago you said that ppl who stand out in your concerts or look funky…you will take pics of them. I just want to say that the shirt I wore was an inspiration from what you wore last time you were in Dallas. I love your outfits. I wanted to know where you get them made My friend helped me make the shirt and we tye-dyed it together.

I am very pleased that you are the UN abbasador to Pakistan and I have no doubt you will spread the message of Aids awareness w/ full heart and soul. Cheers to you!

Have fun for the reminder of your US tour and then your International tour as well

Peace and rok on!

If I die before I wake
I hope in heaven I can skate
Coz right now on earth, I can’t do jack
With this ammunition on my back

Posts: 230 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Duniya
Entry Level Junooni
Posted 26-07-2001 00:25

Salman:
Hopefully this won’t offend you, but just to be sure it is you…I met you backstage at the Toronto concert. You mentioned you were writing a new song…that had my name as the title…what is my name? —
I admit, that maybe you won’t remember…but hey, maybe you will.
In response to what you said, about it being our own leaders who have failed to do anything, in terms of the predicament that Pakistan is in----I Agree. There’s no doubt that the ruling class in Pakistan is largely responsible for the sad situation the country is in. I tell my relatives in Pakistan, and my own family residing here, that if Pakistani’s(especially those holding the lions share of the wealth) would invest in the country, that it would help increase the standard of living, by boosting the economy. I mean not only is capital flying out of that country, but so are many of the young and talented minds.
I certainly don’t have the capacity you do to convey such a message on to the rest of Pakistan—That it is so in the hands of Pakistani’s to stop the “brain drain”, to invest in their own country—rather than building Swiss bank accounts or playing their chances on the New York Stock Exchange. I’ve lived here in the Toronto all my life, but I take full responsibilty to do what I can to help those less fortunate then me, whether here or abroad.
I’m so proud to see a Pakistani celebrity, taking ownership of the problems in Pakistan. Waiting to hear from you.

[This message has been edited by DeSiMuNdA (edited July 30, 2001).]

The Game Responds To Alibeta(AKA "Junooni"):

The Game assumes that Salman Ahmed has paid you to promote his message board,am I right?The Game will be thankful if you can post the URL for the boards you are mentioning.People,That Is All.

THE ARTIST FORMERLY KNOWN AS CROREPATI,MILLIONAIRE,AND TRUE PAKI.I ASSUME ALL OF YOU RECOGNIZE THESE GREAT PERSONALITIES...

Originally posted by AliBeta:
**Salman was on there a few days back! Unfortunaelty this I wasnt .....me spend their lifetimes busking...Atlanta,Dallas,Toronto thanks for making our lives special.We promise to keep you entertained
for a long time to come INSHALLAH!

The sickest thing.

Whata sick person. He will keep singing / playing music*InshaAllah*. Does this stupid know when to use this word? We have mixed cultural values with religious values so much that people actually don't think what they really mean and when to use them.

I'm thankful to 'The Game' for not using "caps" in this message.

We oughta be Changez like, don't we?

[This message has been edited by Changez_like (edited July 30, 2001).]

ali meray betay you are SO publicizing another board off of gupshup which are SO against the rules !!
shame on you !

btw, after i read what salman wrote itself,
on how music (for him) has its downfalls and how u gotta stick with it and just not let that negative stuff of music promoters or what not get to u or not letting you bring you down ..
i liked the guy even more.

pretty inspirational/motivational stuff in a way - including how the guy perceived him going to the u2 concert. and on top of that, i said this before and i’ll say it again: when their band was being introduced on stage in toronto as “The u2 of Pakistan” - quite a compliment i tell ya ..

Ali are u taking a 180 degrees turn and becoming a Salman fan more than Junaids?

cool…thanx for sharin ali

If you do not hope, you will not find what is beyond your hopes…

hmmmmmmm! You have the wrong Impression Frauds yaar! I am as big of a fan of Salman as I am of Junaid! The arguement we had was about Junoon and VS! And junoon Is Ali, Salman and Brian. I said I wasnt a big fan of Ali's. Not because of his singing but his attitude. Thats it! Salman is the man! And it was real nice to see him after a year!

page 2

Posted 26-07-2001 01:03

Salman:
wat do u think about TORONTO CONCERT.... ANY COMMENTS PLS.... IM WAITIN FOR THEM..... WAT MADE U PPL COME SO LATE..... ..

and when will u come to toronto again... anyplans... as u saw here... there r tons of desiz here .. esp. junoonies.... so pls pls pls pls pls do come to toronto again SOON... pls

MUAH

-:- -:-

Posts: 61 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Rooh Ki Pyaas
Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 01:10

Yaar i got a complaint...
I'm from Dubai but i study in the states.
So like whenever im in the states(august-may), you guys are performing in Pakistan(like all the time) and Dubai(october).
And when im in Dubai(summer) you guyz are on the US tour.
I HAVENT BEEN TO A CONCERT FOR 4 YEARS NOW!
HELP!!

Chhootay Naa, Kabhi Haath Ye...
Tootay Naa, Kabhi Saath Ye...
Apni To Hai...

Yehi Duwaa...

Posts: 123 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Rooh Ki Pyaas
Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 01:12

So like whenever im in the states(august-may), you guys are performing in Pakistan(like all the time) and Dubai(october).
HELP!!

Apni To Hai...

Yehi Duwaa...

Rooh Ki Pyaas
Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 01:13

HELP!!

Apni To Hai...

Yehi Duwaa...

RZA
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 01:37

well good to hear your gonna keep being pakistani. So wait at the n.y. concert it's gonna be my first just had a request could you please please play khudi and dharti ke khuda.Believe me i've been a fan longer since your first album actually i kinda hated teh first album cuz i showed it to my bro who's all into 60's and 70's rock and he dsaid you guys were fake rockers singin pop then like 5 years later when u guys came out with inquilaab he became a junooni too! I think from the first album you guys have evolved a lot i mean in the first one you tried to find your voice between english and urdu then in the second you tried to find your message and like inquilaab was when i think it all came together and from then it all changed you guys made this lil revolution in pakistan cuz i remember watchin p.t.v. at home and seein ali jump around like nuts during jazba-e-junoon and stuff and it was weird cuz most artists were all settles down and calm in their singin they wouldn't really go nuts with the crowd! You guys have great music and a really great message don't ever compromise it! Ohh yeah could you guys do a song on the iqbal poem about "the ultimate aim of ego" i think that's a really great poem and would make a song to rival khudi! aight meet you at n.y. salman! oh yeah i'll be the guy in the front with the junoon t-shirt goin krazy when you sing khudi and dharti ke khuda and saeein hell throughout the concert! Hey can i get on stage and sing wit you! plz! i can do a great saeein!

-RZA

Ghoom
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 02:29

Salman Ahmad i have a question ...

In 1990-2000 album .. in the inlay of the album it says

Central Park album will be release in this summer .. But Never come out ....

wats the reason we all dying for live album

reply me Salman Bhai Plz

Salman
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 03:28

To 10 year old Junooni:You got it!Just make sure they don't have curfews in chicago.
Duniya:Let's keep that name secret untill
the song is released,I told you that I spell it differently than you and you said you'd change your spelling(does that ring a bell?)
Shamein,Aaria Sadi:I think there's a refreshing innocence in young overseas desis.You guys haven't lost your ability to "marvel".It's like me at the U2 show,I was like WOOOWWW! the whole night.When I went back to Pakistan as a teenager I wasn't cynical or jaded about anything.For me kurtas,chapals,sherwanis,tablas,sitars
poetry,desi humour,desi food was so cool that I redicovered my lost identity.I also
had the ability to look objectively at what's wrong with the country.Whether it was music,our corrupt politicians even our cricketers I saw and see tremendous potential for exellence(except in the politicians!) that's the reason I think you people are perfectly placed.you are desis in a modern world,you have the best opportunity to really make a difference.I've been so inspired by meeting some of you,you guys truly rock.Back in Pakistan we have to deal with a press which is totally jaded and they miss out on the real reason we gave up our careers to become artists.It's been a difficult road but who wold've passed up a party like Brooklyn or Toronto!Not me!dude and dudettes,you have to make your own destinies and that means following your hearts.Remember the heart never lies...

RZA
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 04:57

just had a question i mean your albums all of them have gone in different directions i mean like inquilaab really was like an inquilaab revolution in pakistani music cuz it was so different and azadi was different like freedom from ignorance in a way and parvaaz went more spiritual and more philosophical and ishq is like more to do with the voice and it's beauty cuz the songs are pretty simple (other than saqi nama) but the way their sung makes all the difference so i was wondering what route your next album will take! ohh yeah another question this one i was keeping for n.y. but what the hell i'll ask it right now hopefully you'll reply and not get bored of talking to me by now! wassup wit khudi song there are like two versions of the song one in which you guys say "khuda bande se khud puchee" and another in which you guys say "khuda bande se ye puchee" which one is right! and personally i love the first one and after hearing that feel the second one doesn't sound as good and how come all of the versions of the song i've heard are like the second except my casette of khudi which is like the good version! ohh yeah one request if you play khudi at n.y. pleae please play the first version that rocks the second just sounds like it's been opressed and cencored or somethin like that!

-RZA

Duniya
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 05:19

Salman:
I believe it is you. You remembered. I'm impressed. I was a little less composed when I met you, so I'm a little embarrassed you remembered me.
Its true that us 'western desi's' have a lot to be thankful for. I've been to Pakistan many times, but I went to India for the first time this year, and it made me realize how much I was taking for granted. In Chandigarh we never even had running water after 9:00a.m. Like little things....but they were big things there. Living in the developed nations of the world should be a right for every person.......but its not, and its a privilege that some of us have been able to afford---and for that we should be thankful. Damn I'm preaching. Kid Rock's song, "Only God knows why", seems to have that affect on me :).
Meaningful music......a kick ass lead singer (Ali Azmat)...hope you guys continue to influence the world in right direction.
P.S I've been trying to secure a placement in Peshawar with the IRC...no success...got any connections? Its a good cause ...I'm trying to balance the brain drain, by exporting my talent and committment to Pakistan/ India(if Pakistan rejects me).

Mustafa Rizvi
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 05:31

Salman, Do you remember me? My name is Mustafa Rizvi and my Chacha once helped you in arranging a concert at KMC sports complex and you came to his house as well. He is known as Masood Alam Rizvi. Anyways, I also met you at Pizza Hut once and your wife samina saw my dad at the back and she thought he was a film actor or a drama actor. Do you remember this at all? This was in 1996. My mother knows you and Sheri as well from dawn. Her name is Tazeen Rizvi and she was the editor of images and tuesday review. Anyhow, I was at your Toronto Concert on July 25 and I was standing right in the front where you stood. You are my Inspiration the way Jimmy page or hendrix was to you. I've been such a huge fan of yours since the age of 11 when I started playing my guitar and a Huge Junoonie. I just wanted to comend you on your amazing stage performance that you pulled off here. Although there was a little feed back in ali's mic, but you didn't stop and ali had to join in from "Teri Mohabat May". I think that was very supporting of him to join in... This month I'm going to see Stone Temple Pilots and the same place where you guys performed.
Any plans of coming back and performing here in Toronto?

Muchi- The Junoonie Guitarist

Posts: 33 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

CrAzY JuNoOnI
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 05:48

Hey Salman,
I was at the Houston show, which was mad crazy. I don't know if you remember but I was the guy that during Dosti, while I was in the pit pointed towards you, telling you rocked. And you gave me this cool nod that said I know.

Anyways I find it cool how you can go to a U2 concert and fit in with the crowd. It must have felt cool to be on the other side of the stage. What was the last concert you went to?

A colaboration would really expose the Desi music and culture to the West. If you remember the song Desert Rose, Sting and Cheb Mami from Algeria told a lot of Americans about Arab music. Even for me beng a Desi, that song exposed me to the Arab music for the first time, as it did to others. So if Desi music and western music collaborated it would expose the Desi music which many people don't know about.

I get chills down my spine thinking of you and Edge rockin' on guitars together. And Ali and Brian showng off their vocals. Adam and Brian doing some doing groovy base work. And Ustad Ashiq Ali and Larry doing the Tablas and drums to bring an awesome percusion sound.

Well anyways keep up the good work. And keep coming out with albums.

CHAEN AIK PAL NAHI

Posts: 50 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Baarish
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 05:49

Hey Salman, whats up?! I wish the venues didnt have time limits, but unfortunately they do! I helped the promoter organize the show in Atlanta.....next time you guys come to Atlanta, or anywhere else, we'll try to have it at a place where we can rock all night! Keep on rocking!

Posts: 16 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

someone
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 06:36

Salaam,
Salman one question for u....
Would you ever do a concert organised by a couple of desi students in NY...in a college.

Lets see the thing is we can get enuf ppl and well beg sponsors 2 but the money issue is the problem, and the fact tht if you would agree to something of the sort.

I know kind of a weird question...but i wld appreciate an answer!!!

Posts: 13 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Saaya
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 06:56

I just wanted to say that Junoon's concert in Toronto was an unforgetable experience. Yeah there were some minor glitches and delays, but I think every one who was there went home with some thing that will stay with them for a long time. You guys are just such amazing performers, you had everyone in a trance! Junoon has such an unbelievable presence, your passion, dedication and talent just takes over and its just amazing to see you perform. I was absolutely mesmerised and I can't wait for Junoon to play in Toronto again.

P.S. Salman you have the sweetest smile I've ever seen!!

Posts: 32 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Sayonee
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 07:33

Salman!!!
Yesss, I'm "the Sayonee", glad to meet you in cyberspace too--and that's MY couplet you quoted, the first EVER one I wrote in my whole life, and it actually went:
Merey is namurad junoon ka ilaaj sirf maut hai, to maut sahi
Kaun dafna saka heh toofan-e-rooh ko...

"Always dressed in black!"

there is no saint without a past

there is no sinner without a future

pakstereo
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 13:13

This is just a comment on artists like junoon trying to cross over, well i have listened to a lot of terrible sounding english music from under ground bands in pakistan,
even you (junoon) the english songs in the first two albums just did not do it.. dhun, coven bands like these.. i dunno
english music just does not sound good..of desis.. if you guys have listened to the face of love with nusrat and eddie vedder, nusrat and eddie sounded awesome i thought.. nusrat in his own way, and vedder was amazing too...
that type of collaboration is cool, also my gora friends liked junoon's urdu songs much better than the english ones.. you don't have to sing in english to be a cross over success i think.. any one heard of gypsy kings. well they are all spanish if i am not mistaken and they sound awesome.. i just hope when you guys start work an a new album whenever that may be.. i hope it's got either new element to your music, or hope it goes more towards classic rock type stuff..

-----------------------------

it's another dimension of audiovisual experience

Posts: 16 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Aaria
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 15:23

Salman-
I just want to say that it seems unreal the way you wish to interact with your fans.. Its amazing that we get input as to what you guys are about.. More than just through your music.

The true sign of success lies when you can remember where you came from, and you are a perfect example of this.

Thank You.

" Free the intellect from the shackles of ignorance, make the young teachers of the old. ( from Salman Ahmad's article on appointment as UN Ambassador for Aids)

Aden786
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 15:37

Hi,Salman! First, the Toronto concert absolutely rocked. Thanks so much. It was absolutely worth the long, agonising wait to see u guyz live!!! I have question: how come Ustad Ashiq Ali didn't perform with u guyz in Toronto?

Posts: 9 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Salman
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 16:39

Sayonee:It was March 1998 when that couplet was revived,and yes you do possess
the spirit of Junoon.People Sayonee has neen a junooni cyber trekee since 1998.
Take a bow! Lady Sayonee of New Delhi!

Rza:I wish the high priests of syrinx
(nawaaz Sharif and his henchmen) could've seen 16,000 junoonis singing Khudi in Toronto on Sunday.We were actually banned from singing khudi on Pakistan Television
because we were accused of "desecrating" Iqbal's sacred poems.Nawaaz Sharif should've been at the gig to see what Iqbal meant by
"jawanon ko peeron ka ustad kar"

Duniya:Get in touch with Kristan Schoulz
or Eric Falt at the U.N. office in Islamabad,they'll be able to guide you in your social quest.You'll have to get the numbers yourself.Tell 'em I recommended
you.Good Luck!

Myla
Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 16:50

HEY SALMAN!!
JUST WANTED 2 ASK U ABT PERFORMING IN THE UK....

WHY R U GIVEN ONLY 40 MIN in THE LAST 2 CONCERTS>..I WAS @ BOTH..and a bit dissappointed..
COULD U PLZ SING SOME OF THE NEWER SONGZ? U SANG THE SAME SELECTION OF SONGS AS LAST TIME!

& NI HEERAY 2 ?

and how abt telling the promoterz 2 perform outside for a change?
LOL well take care for now..
the junooni who didnt know she was one LOL...
Allah-Hafiz,
Myla.

Posts: 103 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Salman
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 16:53

Aaria:i think internet provides a great opportunity
for me to keep myself out of trouble when I'm on tour!I mean it beats the hell out of injectig myself with mindnumbing drugs
and/or throwing t.v.'s out from my hotel balcony!I always wanted to embrace the whole world with our music,the internet really allows us to bypass control(no borders,no radio stations,no record companies,no bull****) and you give us instant feedback(good and bad!) it's a good relationship don't you think?

Salman
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 17:17

Myla:The promoters who are responsible
for bringing us to you haven't figured out
that the world has changed and is changing really rapidly.Before desi shows used to require that you provide a circus(a juggler,a dancer, a comedian and a singer) but for us that is the kiss of death!Our
U.K. tour was a total circus,we've decided to say no in the future.Apart from not being able to play our full set of songs,
I felt like a prostitute at times,I would sooner quit touring with desi promoters
than be humiliated like that.And it's also not fair on you guys who spend vast sums of money and travel long distances just to be short changed by greedy promoters.That's the reason why the majority of the dates we've played on this tour have been just solo.

Aden786:Ashiq's visa hadn't been properly processed in time so we really missed him in Toronto.

Aaria
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 17:27

The best part is you give Us instant feedback.. Im at work and I spend more time on this web board than working out excel numbers!

And this way I remember Im more than a slave to society, posessing some sort of soul rather than just being a "peon" in a capitalistic society..

And only 2 more days till Sunday.. gets us through the week..

And yes Im sure this is more fun than coccaine or trashing hotel rooms.. plus it gives the rest of us a way to pass our day and importantly we can learn from one another..

Knowledge is power!

Thanks again!

" Free the intellect from the shackles of ignorance, make the young teachers of the old. ( from Salman Ahmad's article on appointment as UN Ambassador for Aids)

Sadi
Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 17:32

First of all thanks Salman for describing me as young refreshing overseas desis.
I may not be that young but good it doesn't matters. That's bad that all these promoters
use you guys to make money and i feel with why you don't want to be willing to work
with desi promoters. Isn't there any other way to perform and not be used by greedy promoters ?

Treat people the way you
would like to be treated.

I LOVE MY PAKISTAN

Posts: 144 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Salman
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 17:35

Aaria:"KNOWLEGE IS ULTIMATE POWER"
you got that right babe!Keep seeking
one day it'll seek you...

Daiuos
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 17:41

Just wondering why the band doesnt meet and greet fans after the show like they used to?

Hooba Hooba How how Hooba hooba how how

Mian teely zara larki ko to laiker AAo!

Posts: 36 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Salman
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 17:57

Dalous:we meet all our fans after the show...
all the ones who are able to wrestle 5
security guards each weighing 400 pounds
and make it alive to our dressing rooms!
(KIDDING) I met shamein in Dallas,Taimur
Malik,Duniya in Toronto and many other very cool junoonies.
To all the Junoonies:Have you heard Cold Play's album,isn't it totally awesome,like a hazy blue dream.I love "Don't Panic","Yellow" and "all is not lost".
Saaya:beneath this smile I'm hiding a frown,don't be fooled by my mask(!)

rindh
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 18:06

Dear Salman

Can you give us an indication as to where your next album will head for? I know it's only been a few months since 'Ishq' but maybe you have already established a direction. Or is this to remain a secret?

Posts: 14 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

SalmanKhana
Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 18:21

quote:

Rooh Ki Pyaas wrote:
HELP!!

I am sure you are being helped by the One who Helps the Best . By keeping you away from these concerts you are decreasing the amount of Bad Deeds you'll see on yourself on the Day of Judgement Inshallah.

Salam

Salman

Posts: 190 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

Salman
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 18:33

Rindh,welcome to the mother ship aka the Junooni
forum.My friends speak highly of you,I've enjoyed your battles in junooni cyberspace
As for the new album,have faith and a little patience,TIME WILL REVEAL ALL!

[This message has been edited by DeSiMuNdA (edited July 31, 2001).]

page 4
will post 3 later for some reason it didnt upload!

Gobind
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 21:00

Hi Salman,

I'm also one of the old timers (with Rind and Sayonee) on junoon.com (since '98). Remember me?? It's great to be in touch with you! You have truly entertained us and also "changed" the way people look at bands from the subcontinent.

Would love to get an answer to Rind's question. Please do give us some indication.

Hi Rind! What's up? Long time no news. Sayonee, "you've got mail" from me, in your hotmail box Just FYI

Write soon all!

Cheers!

"Peace on Earth!"

Salman
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 21:09

Gobind:Welcome.glad you could be there in
Dallas,weren't the authorities oppressive?
but we did manage to rock.Next album...
let's say that we're looking to extend ourselves,it could be the biggest disaster of all times but then again when has that ever stopped us from following our spirit.

omar amini
Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 21:12

salman,
do you know that you have a private message option

joking...plz check it out,

i am sure there are many junoonis like me, whom have sent you private messages and are waiting for replies...

peace and out

mohammad omar amini

Tere jalwe abh mujhe harsoo nazar aaney lagay
kash yeh bhi ho ke mujh mein tu nazar aney lagay

Posts: 186 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

RZA
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 21:13

man salman your tellin me this man i've lived there for 17 years! everything you have in the u.s. you can find in saudi arabia believe me wether it be drugs,prostitutes,porn,alcohol, whatever u just gotta know who to ask and when. The saudi goverment in itslef is haram it was made by the british to destroy the khalifah system and anybody who speaks against them in saudi wether he be a scholar or not will get punished. And saudi arabia practises islam on the poor believe me if a poor philipino steals his hands are cut and if someone like that rapes a muslim girl his head is cut of infront of everybody before jumah and then thrown into a garbage bag and if a saudi does the same they hide it and make the saudi pay money. I remember i lived on a university campus cuz my dad was a professor of chemistry at the king fahad university of petroleum and minerals and these two saudi guys broke into somebdoy's home stole credit cards and t.v.'s and all kindsa equipment and got caught one of the kids was the son of the vice rector of our universioty and the other was the son of the director of aramco (world's biggest oil supplier right next to our university) and they both got caught their hands weren't cut off cuz they were saudi and rich and their parents gave eveything back plus payed the family double the worth of the things stolen. Saudi boys drive around in the newest bmw's and lexus's everyday and they do alotta **** down there so no i have no respect for them but the good saudi's are really good i men really nice now see i don't really like the peole in makkah cuz they're arrogant but i love the people in madinah cuz they are really down to earth and really sweet people somehow whenever i go to madinah i fell more peace then when i'm in makkah.

haideri qalander: no my faith is not weak haven't you read in the quran whathappened to abraha when he came with his elephants! but the goverment no matter how tyrannical and bad they are have to keep up their image like fahads name "custodian of the two holy mosques" and they can't allow non muslims in makkah. IT's just a precaution Allah is protecting it but we can't just sit down and leave makkah like that and be like the jews "you and your lord go fight we'll stay here" use your brain a little. And about that wearing the colors it's against hadith so what if nobody can identify your body? In islam it's haram to have a graevstone nobody should know where your grave is cuz if you were a saint then people will probably go and pray at your grave why do you think when the buried ali (a.s.) they did like 8 graves so the shia's wouldn't go and dig up his body to make a monument out of it. People who die at makkah are buried in janat-al baki and whoever is buried there will go to heaven cuz it is really a privelge to get buried there. Cuz everyday thousands of hajis' and people doing umrah pray for the dead there! everyday! As i said hajj is to make sure that people are similar in the eys of Allah so they are no creed's no nothing no heirarchy no priesthood! we are all same and that's what we should look like. If people wear those things thats their own biz but your not allowed to wer stitched cloth. So if the person dies he's dead no need in finding his body there are people tere who bury the bodies. Yeah maybe if somebody gets lost it's easy for the other peole to find himif he's got soem special color thing on. But hey they can as easily have a special place to meet if you get lost my mom and dad went on hajj and thye said if you get lost come here and they take a head count so there are ways to get around wearing colors and for when salman said about the old people it's true but how are u gonna control a million people so many people come to makkah and many of them are illeterate and stuff and they push and shove and go nuts i've been there so many times and if a person falls there are so many people nobody ahs the common curteousy to pick him up cuz nobody can stop and they're being pushed from behind. Islam is logic and i'm giving you a logical answer i've lived there most of my life and your gonna tell me that my asnwers are not logical.

-RZA

SalmanKhana
Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 21:17

quote:

Saaya wrote:

By the way SalmanK, 2 of Junoon's concerts are free in this tour. I don't know of anyone else doing that for their fans.

bahut bara ehsaan kiya hai na junoon ney hum pey .. nahin ??

SalmanKhana
Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 21:18

Saaya's post got deleted

mubark ho !

Jenisheri
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 21:26

Salaams Salman,

Could you please elaborate just a little bit on where you are taking the new album? Is it going to be like Ishq/Andaaz, an eclectic mix of quintessential Junoon, pure rock AND eastern rock, or on one direction?

Plus, I know you said that a collaboration is underway, is it going to be on the other artist's album or Junoon's? What I mean to aski is, is it going to be a Junoon + X album or X album "featuring" Junoon. Please elaborate. Pleaaaaaaaaaaaaaaseeeeeeeeeeeee.

Peace

p.s. I don't know if you remember, I am the guy you met at the Brooklyn concert (Maroon v-neck t-shirt), right next to the fence. I also took a photo of yours. It was right where your car was parked. In the concert itself, I was standing right in front of you in the pit. I was the one shouting "Khudi ... khudi" and then you pointed to me and said "Khudddiiiii"...Do you remember????

I am against boys becoming heroes at ten

Against the tree flowering explosives

Against branches become scaffolds

Against the rose-beds turning to trenches

And yet, when fire cremates my friends

my youth

and country

How can I stop the poem from becoming a gun!

SalmanKhana
Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 21:28

ha ha ha ha ha

oops

Rooh Ki Pyaas
Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 21:41

SalmanKhanna...

Get A Life

Apni To Hai...

Yehi Duwaa...

Aaria
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 21:46

Salman Khana-yes Hum pe ehsan kiya hein! man its free they can charge us and would still get a great audience.. What does it matter to you? if you don't enjoy them, dont come.

And perhaps you need stop looking at the shadows in your cave and actually get out and see light of day

Ignorant people.. what a shame..

Gobind
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 21:56

Salman, thanks for your prompt reply. Yes, I was surprised at the behaviour of both the authorities and the promoters. It was weird. In any case, you guys rocked and that's for sure! The extended version of "Saeen" was AMAZING!! Wish I could be there at your forthcoming performances.

Here's something I'd like to say: I heard you guys first when I was in college in FL during ('91-'92). One of my Pakistani buddies had just returned from holiday and he gave me a copy of your first album. It was then that I got hooked to your music. After college we all split up and moved into different directions and all I had was that first album, until 1997, when you released AZADI! And as we all know, what a BLAST that was! That album literally "changed" my listening habits COMPLETELY! From around 4 western CDs a month, I went down to purchasing hardly 4 a year (half of which was U2 stuff)! Most of my CD players (car, house, office) were occupied with your music. After AZADI came out, I just started tracing back to all the material that you guys had produced and believe me, I was amazed!

I guess you guys spell danger for western recording labels relying on desi customers Hats off to you guys! Once again, you have given us quality music and ofcourse FANTASTIC performances. I hope and pray that you continue to do so in future! I have seen you perform twice now and I still can't get enough of it. In fact, I am craving for more!

Good job Salman. Keep up the great work!

Cheers!

-Gobind

ps. I understand you cannot (and should not) give out the concept of your next album. Any indications in terms of approximate release dates?

"Peace on Earth!"

Duniya
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 23:22

Salman:
Thank you I will certainly try my luck with those leads.......
Response to an earlier discussion:
I definitely believe that a persons Intention(Niyat) is of great importance. And hey, if music somehow connects a person with God, or even brings them to remember their Lord---all the power to them! I was raised on Quawwali, and as I child, I associated it with worship. Now I see that it is more than that, it is a means by which one can express a feeling of love for God....and to all that surrounds us. Devotional music does not need to be a sixth pillar of Islam to understand that it fulfills a human need.
.....and how one experiences closeness to God, varies greatly from person to person. There's no shortage of corrupt, perverse people in this world....so why preach to those who decide to approach Islam, granted, in a less conventional way?

Duniya
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 26-07-2001 23:52

To everyone:
I must say....I never bothered to join a chat room or anything before, because I've seen some of the nonsense people feel the need to discuss. But you guys are certainly a pleasure....nice to see that Junoon attracts such intellectuals

Zeeshan
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 27-07-2001 00:06

Why is everyone so keen about Junoon's next album. I think they should take their time. Sabar ka phal meetha hota hai. So, guys, relax. Let them take time, because then what we will receive would be something extra ordinary. Till then, enjoy their previous albums.

Yazdaan
Junooni

Posted 27-07-2001 02:39

Salman i wanted to ask u, what u think is the biggest achievement in life so far in terms of Junoon, the band?

Sukoot, chill!

Posts: 112 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

wow
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 27-07-2001 03:09

Salman:

I have a question regarding the song Allah Hu. I was listening to the version that Nusrat Fateh Ali sang. The lyrics in one of the verses seem to be somewhat different.

NFAK sang:
"Pohonchay Mairaj me arsh par Mustafa"

while ali sings:

wow
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 27-07-2001 03:14

Salman:

I have a question regarding the song Allah Hu. I was hearing the version Nusrat Fateh Ali sang a few days ago and the lyrics of one of the verses are slighly different.

Nusrat Fateh Ali sings:
"Pohoncahy mairaj mein arsh par Mustafa"
while Ali sings:
"Ayay mairaj se arsh par Mustafa"

Is there a reason for this difference or just an accident?

Ali
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 27-07-2001 04:32

hey junoonis! is that the real Salman?! If it is! Salman remember me?! I came backstage at the Houston concert!! I was the one that was wearing that yellowish polo shirt and i made u autograph my Parvaaz and Azadi CD... if you remember me, plz say so!

PrInCe Of JuNoOnIs

Posts: 33 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

masti-e-qainaat
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 27-07-2001 05:21

hey salman, i was ther in the Miami concert, thanx fr playing "Main-ne-kabhi" at my request.

And Dr Salman, before working on the Aids thing , i wud advise u, to find a cure for Salmankhana, ppl here wud really appreciate that.

got nothing to win

and nothing less to lose

Posts: 7 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

hershey
Junooni

Posted 27-07-2001 05:30

Hey Sal,

My friends and I went absolute crazy, indulged in music at brooklyn concert. We, so badly wanted you to perform longer and I guess that wish in some corner of my heart really made it's ways. You guys are coming back!! Looking forward and very excited to see you guys again on sunday

Friendship is the only cement that will ever hold the world together.
~Woodrow Wilson
Spread peace and love!

Posts: 233 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

SalmanKhana
Junooni

Posted 27-07-2001 06:29

quote:

Aaria wrote:
Salman Khana-yes Hum pe ehsan kiya hein! man its free they can charge us and would still get a great audience.. What does it matter to you? if you don't enjoy them, dont come.

And perhaps you need stop looking at the shadows in your cave and actually get out and see light of day

Ignorant people.. what a shame..

I hope you are not calling me ignorant. Its not a matter of getting big audiences by paying. Perhaps you did not read my entire posts. Go ahead read them and then reply to me with a mature mind

Salman

ajrak
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 27-07-2001 08:34

Posted 27-07-2001 08:32

Hey Salman

I am a Patriotic Pakistani and a junooni as well. Have to say that u guys performed really well at the Toronto concert. Since everyone else has been praising u throughout, i would want to give some feedback or lets just call it constructive criticism. To be honest, u guys were great but what i kinda missed was the way you guys used to talk on stage....to ur audience. Ali azmat did talk to the junoonis but there was something missing...basically what i felt was the lack of passion and the lack of that patriotism which is usually evident in junoon concerts. I guess u guys were very tired which i completely understand
one other thing that me and my gang of friends wanted to talk about was the song jazba-e-junoon. Myself and most probably all Pakistanis have this special place in our hearts for the song jazba e junoon. This might sound childish but i would hate to share that song with any other country. What im trying to say is that before Ali sang the song he kind of included indians and bangladeshis to share the song with Pakistanis....just seemed that he snatched the patriotism attached to the song....i mean its absurd but thas what me and my friends felt. im not agianst any other country but its like sharing ur national anthem with another country....just a question of identification. thanx
Junoon RULEZ!
Luv Tehs

Posts: 2 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

TaimuR MaliK
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 27-07-2001 08:59

Salman, Sherharyar:
I couldnt get a hold of Ali after you guys left. I had to give him the Jersies. Got 4 more. All with Junoon written on the front crest and one with Salman written on the back with number 01, Ali with number 02, Brian with number 03 and Sherharyar with Number 00. Sherharyar left early tuesday morning and I talked to ALi in the day to drop them off in the evening. But I think he left for Niagra Falls. So how do we do this?? I'm going to Pakistan in the first week of August, so I'll parcel them or maybe drop them off somewhere. Sherharyar, I'll probably call you so just tell me where to drop them or send them. Or you can just email me.
And guess what, I got one for myself, The same thing as you have right now. Except that I have Junooni written on the back except for Junoon and the number 1!! cool eh?
I'll wear it on the next concert INSHALLAH, wherever it will be.
I hope the one which you have is not ruined by now!! just hang it, dont wear it or the numbers will come off!

Have fun in Detroit, CHigaco and NY, no doubt they will all be amazing cause you will play as if each show is your last one, thats what makes each and every one so special

The WoRld iS yoUrs

Posts: 17 | Registered: Jul 2001 | Profile | PM | IP: Logged

SalmanKhana
Junooni

Posted 27-07-2001 09:54

quote:

TaimuR MaliK wrote:
Salman, Sherharyar:
I couldnt get a hold of Ali after you guys left. I had to give him the Jersies. Got 4 more. All with Junoon written on the front crest and one with Salman written on the back with number 01, Ali with number 02, Brian with number 03 and Sherharyar with Number 00. Sherharyar left early tuesday morning and I talked to ALi in the day to drop them off in the evening. But I think he left for Niagra Falls. So how do we do this?? I'm going to Pakistan in the first week of August, so I'll parcel them or maybe drop them off somewhere. Sherharyar, I'll probably call you so just tell me where to drop them or send them. Or you can just email me.
And guess what, I got one for myself, The same thing as you have right now. Except that I have Junooni written on the back except for Junoon and the number 1!! cool eh?
I'll wear it on the next concert INSHALLAH, wherever it will be.
I hope the one which you have is not ruined by now!! just hang it, dont wear it or the numbers will come off!

Have fun in Detroit, CHigaco and NY, no doubt they will all be amazing cause you will play as if each show is your last one, thats what makes each and every one so special

Taimur are you the same one from IRC #pakistan ?

just wondering cuz i saw an operator called taimur as well as malik there long time back..

Salman
Entry Level Junooni

Posted 27-07-2001 12:19

well,time to go to work.All of you coming to detroit,chicago
and the farewell party in newyork get ready to be rocked!
I really enjoyed interacting with you people,we'll do this
again sometime,inshallah...
Khuda Hafiz!

[This message has been edited by DeSiMuNdA (edited July 31, 2001).]

oo yaar AliBeta: copy paste sahi hay...just make sure no url's are in the msgs...

If you do not hope, you will not find what is beyond your hopes...

hey that's cool, ta Ali !! very interesting stuff

Sorry yaar DM, I know about the no URL policy, lekin where were they? I didnt see 'em otherwise would have taken 'em out!