Salim Malik's 72 at Calcutta

Enjoy this rare footage of Malik thrashing Indian bowlers in Caluctta duing his very famous 72 runs innings back in 1986-87.
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=6544365950006792002&q=cricket

Pakistan won the ODI series by 5-1, could have won it by 6-0 but thanks to abdul qadir lost the 3rd ODI.
It was that period when Pakistan started beating india in almost every match and obviously it all started from Maindad’s 6:D

Re: Salim Malik's 72 at Calcutta

Man, I love Urdu commentaries.

Reminds of of the days when we used to take a small radio to the school in our backpack, and used to listen to the on-going commentary in a very low volume as to not disturb other class participants, after every period. Loved the radio commentary back then, and extremely miss it now-a-days.

You know, this topic also reminded me of one other thing. Keeping aside the issue of Pak/Ind not playing with each other in the 90s (let's not open that can of worms), the 'importance' of cricket between these two nations have gone down drastically and gradually, at least from my perspective. Maybe it is because of the reason mentioned above, or maybe it is because of that age in life, an age in which a child nourishes from his teenager years to a fully-matured human being, an age which almost everyone wants a piece of, back in his/her current life! Such gloomy thoughts and childhood memories are a part of everyone in many ways, shapes and forms, as a person wonders what lies ahead in life, while heart-broke at the dispense of 'school days'. :(

Abhi to main jawan hoon,
Abhi to main jawan hoon.

thank you khan sahib...maza aaa gaya.....we have been betaing the hell out of them for so long...faraq saraf yae ha kay pehlay kapli devs, madan lals and manindars hotay they and now it is turn for pathans, harbhajans and kumbles to be spanked all over...
by the way who is that tall Indian player with a hat who rushed to both pakistani players to congratulate them as soon as we won the match..i think it is either shastri or vengsarkar but whoever he was, he impressed me with his spirit.

you are so rite yarr.....bass yaadein reh jatiee haan.......i guess i was in 10th grade then and as i was seeing this match tocay, those old memories started comin back when i saw this match live sitting on my couch asking god that if paks won the match, i would offer that many nafals....with each passing over, the number of nafals kept on going up until malik took the control of the match..needless to say, i forgot to pray those nafals....Allah hum sub ko maaf karay...lol

Wasiay PD bhai aik aur fark yeah hay kay hum itna shoor nahin machatay jitna yeh machatay hain about the teams performances.
I guess it's vengsarkar.

I give VCD with this Malik's innings to Teaser couple of year ago to put it up online, never heard from him about when he was going to put it up online....anyway teaser bhi its all good :D

I was in class 5 and still remember when Abdul Qadir handed the 3rd ODI to India by his stupid run out, becuase he didn't know the tie rule.
Pakistan were all pumped up for 5-0 brown wash after the Bangalore victory and eventually won the ODI series by 5-1.

Now THAT's a video I've been wanting to see. Thanks!!

The coverage was pretty ordinary though. What's with the camera with the side angle view? I don't remember it being this bad. Or maybe we hadn't been spoiled then with dozens of camera, super slo-mos, hawk eye, stump vision and such. I am glad those days are over.

Also, it was funny to see Mudassar Nazar coming in at 7 or 8 down. He was our opener in Tests! Pakistan didn't have much of batting (or bowling) in those days. Imran was still pretty good, Wasim Akram had just arrived (and made his reputation as an all-rounder in that tour when he hit three consecutive sixes in an ODI). I don't remember there being another fast bowler of note. Waqar Younis was still 2 years away, but we did have a left armer called Salim Jaffer. In spinners we had Tauseef, Abdul Qadir and aging Iqbal Qasim. We surely have come a long way since then.

Mohsin Khan had opted out of that tour, and so had Qasim Omar (with his allegations of dope-smuggling against Imran).

Oh, and one very interesting fact... it was this 1987 tour when TENDULKAR participated in his first international match, and guess who he played for? PAKISTAN! Yes, Tendulkar fielded for Pakistan in a side match as a schoolboy.

Good post Dhobi Bhai! I miss the good ole days of radio commentators and listening to radio in the class myself.