Sale of ciggertes to underage people in Pakistan

It is very shocking and appaling that sale of cigs to children is very common. Whilst in Pakistan I decided to do an experiment. I gave my cousin(whose 15) some money to buy some cigs, to see if the shopkeeper would sell the cigs to child. He did infact sell those cigs to my cousin. :mad:

Even though there are numerous ad campaigns in Pakistan to stop underage sale of cigs, noone is enforcing it. Its these kind of attitudes which lead to life-long addicitons to such a horrible substance as cigs.

Re: Sale of ciggertes to underage people in Pakistan

if you gave your two year old cousin money to buy the ciggerets Im sure they wouldve been able to purchase them and toddle back to you.

anyway whats the issue here, does it really matter that these people are smoking...they need vices too

Can you really blame the people selling the cigarettes though? If I had a huge family sitting at home and parents, sisters, brothers to support, maybe I'd sell smokes to kids too.

there need to be some control.otherwise these shopkeepers r destroying the innocent lives of children for some small profit.they must be punished for selling cig.to underage.:mad:

On a scale of things that need to be fixed in Pakistan, a shopkeeper selling cigarettes to a 15-yr old is probably fairly low priority. Actually its pretty much the norm in Pakistan, because all these cigarette/coke ke khokay have teenager kids (almarouf "chotay") running around serving customers driving up in their Honda Civics and Toyota Corollas.

actually i have seen 8 years old buy cigarettes for their dad/uncle/chacha...

I guess the solution then lies in having smaller families. Bachay dau he achay!

baki kay bachay ganday

its O.K if Pakistani kids smoke coz Pakistani kids are not really kids! un se bat kar ke to dekhain :rolleyes:

I don't know why kids are discouraged from smoking in early age. Hamaray buzurg kehtay haiN kay jawani may tau loha bhi hazam ker sakta hay banda. Peenay dau yaar...baRRay hoker khud aqal aajaeygee.

^ reminds me of my mom... when i was in 10th grade i used to argue that we shouldn't be using desi ghee due to high cholestrol, instead we ought to be using veggie oil. She would often say "hum tumhari umr ke thay to desi ghee hi khatay thay, tumhain to loha bhi hazam hona chahiye".

My dad told me about how he once bought a cigarette for his teacher who ordered him to do so. He was only like 9 years old.

^ ^ i used to do that for my dad since i learned walking.
not a big deal in our part of the world.

^ hehe aaw. yea true. so has the number of smokers in Pakistan increased or decreased since the past generation? I'm guessing it decreased, but by how much?

haha i just noticed. this dude like completely misspelt “cigarettes” in the title :hehe:

It's Pakistan darling, 'law & order' and 'Pakistan' in the same sentence is an oxymoron.

oye why dont you go compete in spelling bee .

That is a bad excuse, check your morals again, better educate yourself with what Islam tells you rather than making justifications for your bad acts.

yep, Pakistan has lots of things to fix before looking into much smaller issues like this one.

lol actually I did back in the 7th grade. But then I lost…to…an indian kid :crying: ohh i’m such a disgrace to pakistannnn :teary1: