Salad ...

Up until a few weeks ago , I had a strange distant feelings towards salad … i used to think people eat it with food coz may be it acts as a filler which means one eats lesser food hence cutting on calories …

I also thought salads are mostly either fibre or water content :smack:

But ever since I have started having it with food , I read up on the nutritional value of cucumbers, salad leaves, carrots , radish and olives and realized that they have very valuable mineral content , plus folic and iron and vitamin C content .. much needed by our bodies on daily basis …

what type of salad do you like? do you have it with food , before food or just as a snack ?

Re: Salad ...

I love salads...mainly I use spinach leaves instead of lettuce though.

I make mine using spinach leaves, cherry tomatoes (sometimes), black olives, mushrooms, some shredded cheddar, sunflower seeds and some cous cous too. I dont like dressings but IF I am in the mood...I will use a light raspberry vinaigrette.

i, being a diabetic, have to rely heavily on salads but with no salad dressings :( i take almost 2 servings a day...almost daily...is there anyway u could make it more swallowable? :)

Re: Salad …

I love salad, but am lazy when it comes to preparing, i absolutly adore rocket, cherry tomatoes, cucumbers, chopped parsley, sprinkle a little lemon juice and pomegranete juice (a little arabic style) i can eat mountains of it.

But whenever we eat out, I make a point of finishing the salads, I suppose its just my way of feeling less guilty of all the other “unhealthy” foods i have devoured :hehe:

i like salad but its not that without salad i wont eat...if the ingrediants and time is available then yeah sure why not.

i like eating

russain salad
onion and vinegar salad
vegetable salad (onions, cucumber, tomatoes)
cabbage mayonnaise salad

I think i am using salad as taste refresher during the meal ! Like I dont like having salad in one go … so I have a chunk of it after every few morsels … sort of keeps me interested in my food :hinna:

i want the recipe of these salads plzz.....

vegetable salad (onions, cucumber, tomatoes)
cabbage mayonnaise salad

sure the receipes are very easy

Vegetable salad
Finely chop onion, cucumber, tomatoes, celery, capsicum and mix together. add salt and red chillie powder (laal mirch) according to your taste. (you can just use onion, cucumber and tomatoes too)

Cabbage Mayo salad
Finely cut the cabbage (so that there are thin long peices of cabbage) and just mix it with mayonnaise. add a bit of namak, a bit of ground black pepper and a bit of sugar according to taste. (dont add too much of these things juts a bit to give it the right flavour)

Remember dont add too much mayo that in the end it just only tastes mayo.

this salad tastes yum yum with biryani

Lettuce, baby carrots, large cubes of tomatos, cucumber and lemon pepper makes me an excellent salad.

Another salad I love is bean salad....oh so yum!

salad is a must with every meal. type of salad depends on the type of meal .. and I usually eat it with the meal .....

kisi ko pata hai ke tar ko english main kya kehte hain?

oil on gravy

:hoonh:

lettuce or rocket, cherry tomatoes, cucumber, sweetcorn and red onion/spring onion plus sometimes avacado. And I always cover it with quite a bit of salad cream. I like to have salad with other food, I rarely eat by itself unless I add pasta or tuna or something.

i hate cherry tomatoes.

tar a vegetable like cucumber

not tarka

Gherkin.....i guess.

add olive oil

no gherkins are totally different.

tar/tarrain are long and thin...light green colour...aksar loag salads main kat ke khatey hain aur aksar bas aise hi sabut kha lete hain. you samjah lo ke kheeray ka bohat patla version hoti hain....its a very common vegetale in pakistan

I love Russian salad and potato salad :smiley:
I know unhealthy :bummer: