• 1 tbsp. garlic paste
  • 3 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. black pepper
  • 1 tbs. ground coriander
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 tbs. ground cumin
  • 250 gm yogurt
  • 1/2 cup cooking oil
  1. Trim all fat and silver skin from lamb. Prick lamb thoroughly with a sharp knife or large fork or cut small slits all over lamb with a sharp knife.
  2. Place the lamb in a deep baking dish, spread lemon juice all over lamb and rub it into the slits. Cover and marinate for an hour.
  3. Combine garlic paste, salt, black pepper, coriander, nutmeg, cumin and yogurt in a small bowl. mix well.
  4. Pour the marinade over the lamb and coat well all over. Cover and place it back in the refrigerator for 6-8 hours or preferably over night.
  5. Prepare the grill and grill lamb on an oiled rack set 5-6 inches over glowing coals for 10-15 minutes on each side. At the end of cooking time brush lamb with oil.
    Serve it with Nan and Chutney.

thanks irem.

is there any other method of cooking it outside? i m planning a trip near a lake and want to cook it outside not in the grill.

hmmm if u dont want to take the grill with u then this is the desi method for grilling:

put blocks of stones on both sides, in the middle put a big gamla [earthen pot] or some steel container [we have these long metalic rectangular chullay with handles in pak]. fill the gamla with coals and get the coals burning with some matches [put some combustible thing like paper or dry leaves in the middle to start a fire between the coals]. fan the coals till they r red ]btw u’ll hafta keep fanning them for the whole time till the sajjis is done]. once the coals are all red, then balance the sajji on the stones so it is above the gamla, …

keep fanning little by little and allow the sajji to cook…too near the coals will give it a very charcoaly taste tho which u might not want…

keep putting ghee on the sajji at intervals, u can tie some cloth to a stick and dip that in the ghee and then brush the sajji with it every 15 minutes or so…

if u have the SEEKHS [the rods], all the more convenient to balance the sajji on the stones as u can put the sajji in the seekh]

u will need coal though, if u don’t have any then u’ll have to make coal from wood i think…but this will take some time…

have fun :slight_smile: :k:

Whats Sajji?

jb, it is roasted leg of lamb :yummy: the recipe is above too if u want more details :slight_smile:

Sajji doesn't necessarily means "roasted leg of lamb". Sajji, in it's true sense is a the whole animal cleaned inside and cooked under ground. People in Pakistan normally cook the whole goat and in Arab culture even the whole camel is cooked. It is tasty. In some restaurants of Karachi and probably in other cities too they cook the chicken and leg of lamb on coal. I don't think it is similar to the original sajji but somewhat closer.

sijjii ummmm :yummy: need some rite now

Khan sahab take the grill with you man. otherwise they make specific grills thata re for picnics and all, portable and light. if you go for a few picnics each year, its worth it.

Thermos makes a real inexpensive portable grill, check that out. otherwise depending on where you are going, many parks etc have their own charcoal grills, u just bring the charcoal and all, and use their grill.

btw 10-15 minutes may be too little top cook the leg. you have to cook it on low heat for a longer period of time, otherwise it gets too dry.

best wayu to do that is to sear it on high heat for a minute each side, and then cook it on low heat for 30-45 mins each side, seals the juices in, more flavourful and does not get dry.

*Originally posted by khan_sahib: *
Sajji doesn't necessarily means "roasted leg of lamb". Sajji, in it's true sense is a the whole animal cleaned inside and cooked under ground. People in Pakistan normally cook the whole goat and in Arab culture even the whole camel is cooked. It is tasty. In some restaurants of Karachi and probably in other cities too they cook the chicken and leg of lamb on coal. I don't think it is similar to the original sajji but somewhat closer.

Maybe I am confusing the two, but the one where animal is cooked underground is called "khadda gosht". Sajji is cooked in a rotating rotessari in the open. In Sajji, the outside skin is hard and the meat inside is very naram.

In khadda gosht, basically the recipe originates from Oman, I think, they slaughter the lamb, clean it but don't make pieces, apply all the spices and stuff, and then bury it in hot sand (in the desert) or in an underground hole. In Oman, they let it sit for 2-3 days, and then take out. In Quetta, it quicks quicker.

Originally posted by Faisal: *
**Sajji is cooked in a rotating rotessari in the open. In Sajji, the outside skin is hard and the meat inside is very naram. *

your statement that its ina rotating rotisserie may make it seem liek u have to have this rotating rotisserie, in fact its can be just put by teh flame in a stick and turned around manually. if anyone has gone to fogo de chao or some place like that, its teh same concept.

the skin outside is hard due to searing and makes sure thatthe meat inside is tender and juicy, not dry.

*In Quetta, it quicks quicker. *

quicks quicker?

cooks quicker???

qooks cuiqker?

"cooks quicker", bhai. Femme got it.

They surround the khadda with oven-like coals, and have temporary walls made of kachi clay-bricks. Thats why. Its usually ready in one day. Atleast thats what I saw and ate. I am sure there are different ways in different tribes there.

Whereas the Omani tribe I ate with, leave it all to the desert heat.

:clown:

You are right. How can I forget the term “Sajji raan”. No wonder I was confused why this “sajji” doesn’t sound similar to what I was expecting i.e. I wanted the recipe of khaDDi (or khaDDa gosht).

Fraudz, Thanks.

We do take our own grill and we have also tried the grills provided in Parks alongwith our own grill.

I was wondering if I could cook khaDDi gosht so any grill wouldn't be of any help to us.

Khan sahab

only problem with khadda gosht is where you are making it. I am nto sure where you are located, but i am certain that in US if youa re in some park and start digging a khadda someone will think that you are trying to dispose off a laash, or doing soething menacing otherwise, least of all it will be seen as destruction of public property etc etc.

if you knwo someone who has a farm now that is a whole diff story then :)

speakingfrom experience, when you dig the khadda, and all kinds of insects run out, some people may not want anything that is cooked in that khadda :) just an FYI

Its not so straightforward, actually.

While cooking khadda gosht, atleast in Quetta region, you don't just go ahead and make a hole and put lamb in it. The hole in the ground is lined with kacchi bricks. The lamb is placed in the middle and hot coal is placed around it (I am sure there is a technique to it). Then they close it by using wooden slabs (lakri ke phattay). It takes a good several hours for the whole thing to get ready.

o meray bhai i know its not so straight forward, but there are people who upon seeing teh hashraat al arzz that come out of the khadda or the mitti pile that is dug out will be queasy.