Saeed Anwar

He has done it again, got out fishing outside the off stump and for the fourth time in a row gave the english players slip catching pratice. He tried his best to get out in the second innings and was eventually sucessful on the fourth or fifth attempt. Does anyone has any statistics as to how many times he has got out fishing outside the off stump, it must be well over 70%. When will the guy learn?

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited June 02, 2001).]

u r quite write ehsan. i don't have the exact satistics but i do know that he's done this fourth time in this serious cos my bro was mourning about it all day today.

hopefully he does learn soon n gets his act together.

I blame too many one day games for the way the Pakistani batsmen have been getting themselves out. Saeed Anwar and Abdur Razzaq being typical examples in the second innings (so far !!).

Saeed Anwar may get away with this type of stroke (trying to stear the ball down to third man area) in the one day games. However, when you have two or more slips in a test match, it is a different story.

Saeed is clearly out of form. Yesterday he looked totally out of sorts, low on confidence...he was visibly nervous and was fending away deliveries that he would have normally smashed away for four's. The management made a big mistake by playing him in this game. He should have been put into the nets for 4-5 days on the trot to get him ready for the ODI games. As it is...he will probably struggle to get into the team for the first ODI - which is a shame because all he needs is one good knock out in the middle which will give him confidence and he will no longer be an off stump bunny as he has been during the last 5 games.

Saeed needs a big innings out in the middle...thats all. When his confidence comes back, his off side tentative play will disappear.

Believe In Angels.

Laterz,
ManiaX.

well Saeed Anwar ki batting one day ki waja se kharab ho gayi hai, he has no temprament left, well most of the Paki dont try to leave the deliveries n most of then get out begind the wickets, but the worst is Saeed Anwar, as he escapes in the initial overs in the ODI then he tends to score

dont u think SA should come down the order when the ball gets old, he is no doubt a good timer but he has become a lttle old

~ mera Junoon, meri DIL KI BAAT hai!!!!

Saeed Anwar down the order? Who will open then, we are already struggling with trying to find a partner for Saeed.

Originally posted by junoonie:

dont u think SA should come down the order when the ball gets old, he is no doubt a good timer but he has become a lttle old

Saeed down the order

NO-NO-NO

If u see the moon
U will see a star near it

I used to be a great fan of Saeed and I suppose I still am BUT the way he has played here in England has been embarrassing to say the least. The best shot he played in the second innings of the Old Trafford test was actually the one he got out to - it was the only one thathe seemed to be nearly in control of. As for him requiring some time in the middle - that is ridiculous - how much more time does he need - he scored a double century in one of the side games. The fact is he is getting old and is scared of the ball. I hope he gets back to his normal form and smashes those crappy English bowlers about.

Saeed is a tiger who turns into a cat when the situation requires him to step up… he gets under pressure when its applied and combined with his old age and knee injury h and lack of net-practice his reflexes and mental toughness is dwindling…he is known as a big slacker ..never shows up for practice and net sessions he has always a medical excuse .. it sounds like he is more of a patient than an athlete, at his age he needs more discipline and practice which he seriously lacks .. his place in the team is pretty much guaranteed and he is riding on that .. a few performances here and there wont cut it .. he is a veteran and experienced player and he should put out … putting him in the middle is ridicules we don’t need to hide him if he is that bad get rid of him.. we have a very good middle order Inzi, Youhana and Younis are excellent combo and putting him with that will jinx the good going … if he cant bat as an opener he wont as a middle order either .. you cant teach old dog new tricks … he has immense talent and natural strokes but he seriously lacks discipline and mental toughness.. Rashid Lateef practiced with Mujtaba in the nets for whole day before Old Traffod game (the team had a day off that day) to gain his form.. and boy he did prove it … I would take experience over teenagers for national team .. cause the game is played on a professional level and experience is applied towards discipline and improvisation but you have to prove it one can not ride on his old records … time to retire for Saeed

Hey one more thing
These things are hard to explain
For some it seems strange... to swallow
The frontier of our minds
Is the last place we find
But maybe the first place we should go

He is da world's best batsman if he stop teasing da deliveries coming out of off stump which make him go on 11-12.

~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~

well he will not be the worlds best batsman until he stops playing this stupid shot.

I was reading some opinions on Cricinfo and one of the writer has called Saeed, as a coward, who has never delivered when the chips are down.

I don’t know, but don’t you guys feel, its like trying to attack someone when he is down. When Saeed hit 194*, he was the best batsman in the world. Now, he is through a lean patch, and he is a “coward”?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

As long as Inzi is scoring runs, he is a worlds’s greatest batsman. As soon as he got out quickly in a few innings, he was called

• a “mota” who can’t run,
  • gets his partners run out,
  • needs to get in shape,
  • sleeps on the crease,
  • careless batsman,
  • a burden on the team,
  • poor fielder,
  • should be kicked out of team

blah blah

Who says life is fair… :rue wala icon:

[This message has been edited by Peacemaker (edited June 06, 2001).]

I still say , Inzy is :

• a "mota" who can't run,
  • gets his partners run out,
  • needs to get in shape,
  • sleeps on the crease,

I agree with you 100% Peacemaker.
I remember while back Shoaib Akhtar was a hero here, now evrytime someone mentions his name or does poor bowling in a match he is criticized about his performance and his personality. People need to stick with one opinion rather than changing their minds everytime Pakistan looses or wins a match.

Everyone here needs to be like this Chillie, atleast he sticked to his opinion about Inzimam.

Thank you, come again

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited June 07, 2001).]

Peacemaker and Umair, when you play at the highest level the name of the game is to deliver the goods. Saeed has delivered and is very good in one day games but his test record is ordinary and does no justice to his overall potential. Compare Saeed with Miandad, when Maindad or say even Zaheer used to come to bat you knew that they will be there four hours later with Saeed you dare not go to the kitchen to make a cup of tea as he might get out. I think you cannot deny that fishing outside the offstump is his weakness and he needs to work on it.

Ummm… lets just say I didn’t like why someone will use the words “lack of courage”, as to me that is the highest form of insult for a man.

Ok, so Saeed has a bad habit of fishing outside the off-stump and he got to correct it.. but he is, what, 32, 33? He is what he is. How many tricks can an old dog learn, huh? If he was able to learn he would have stopped fishing a long time back.

As far as his test record is concerned, he has a better test average than one-day internationals. His 1-day avg is 40 and his test avg is 45.

In test matches, he has 10 centuries (highest score of 188*), 25 fifties, and a total of approx 4,000 runs in 54 test matches. I won’t call him Sachin, but to me, its pretty decent.

I don’t think at the highest level it should be a surprise to get criticized if you perform below than what people expect from you. But players are human beings, not computers, that they will perform the same way everytime.

Our journalists have a tendency to go overboard when praising and stooping to worst forms of attacks when criticizing. We need some balance. This is what is posted on CricInfo:

Unfortunately, Saeed Anwar has almost never, in a crunch game, performed to his much-celebrated standing. His lack of courage was amply exposed by Darren Gough in the recent encounters, to the extent that Mudassar Nazar, the former Pakistani opener, was forced to make uncharitable comments, calling his stay on the crease ‘degrading’. That seems to be an apt description.

[This message has been edited by Peacemaker (edited June 07, 2001).]

He scored 77 today (6x4, 2x6)

[This message has been edited by Peacemaker (edited June 07, 2001).]

Peacemaker the problem is not the onedayers, it is the test matches, where the opposition has palyers in the slips and know his weakness.

I have already provided my response on his test match skills. Read above

Ehsan, it is different to give your opinion and talk about the player's weaknesses than criticize on his wrong doings.
For example some members said "kick him out of the team" or "move him down the order."
And probably after the first ODI against England, now he's everyones favirote batsman.

Thank you, come again