Saeed Anwar Clears The Record: Bari is a Liar

KARACHI: Pakistan’s seasoned opener Saeed Anwar has ruled out any possibility of announcing his retirement from international cricket after being ignored by the selectors for the tour of Zimbabwe.

“I always consult and seek advice from my elders and they have advised me not to give up hope as yet and leave it up to God to decide my future as a Pakistan player,” Saeed told ‘The News’ from Lahore.

Expressing his deep disappointment at not being selected for the tour of Zimbabwe in either the Test or one-day squads, Saeed said he could not understand the criteria behind the selection. "I don’t want to sound critical but if the trial match was the criteria for selecting the team then Shahid Afridi scored a duck and Saleem Elahi struggled for runs. I have nothing against them, but why have they been selected?

“I would have no regrets at not being selected if there were better openers than me picked in the team. But this is not the case and I believe I am still the best and I can serve Pakistan team with my experience and skills as an opener,” he stressed.

Hitting out at the statement of chief selector Wasim Bari that he (Saeed) had lost confidence and interest in the game, the 34-year-old left-hander said in the One-day series in Australia in June he himself had offered to open the innings after returning to the team after eight months.

“They were sending Shahid Afridi to open but I said I wanted to open and face the best opening attack in the world. I also opened in Morocco, Nairobi and Colombo. If I had lost confidence or interest I would not have wanted to open in these tournaments.”

Saeed said he never took the trial match so seriously which is why he went down to bat at number four. “But I have been batting in the nets and also training regularly. I have not lost my appetite for the game and, in fact, I am enjoying my batting now,” he added.

Saeed, who has scored over 8600 runs in 242 One-day Internationals and 4052 runs in 55 Tests at an average of 45.52, said he was surprised at all the talk about his commitment, age, fitness and form. “When Steve and Mark Waugh can continue playing for Australia, when Sri Lanka can recall Aravinda de Silva, why am I being ignored? I am still good enough,” he maintained.

Saeed admitted that since his comeback to the team his 11 innings had not fetched many runs (229) but pointed out which opener did not struggle after coming back to international cricket after a long lay-off.

“I have still maintained an average of 35 in my last 25 one-day innings while in my last Test innings I had scored 101,” he recalled. The former Pakistan captain also lashed out at the constant statements and reminders that he had opted out of the Test series against Australia to take a rest and instead gone to play exhibition matches in Cardiff, Wales. “I never opted out of the Tests against Australia. The factual position is that I kept on telling the captain and manager that I am available to play the series and they can confirm this. And they said they had conveyed my willingness to the Board.”

“I am no coward to back out of any series. I have not survived so long and scored runs as an opener in the last 10 years by being cowardly against the best fast and spin bowlers in the world,” Saeed added. He made it clear he would continue playing and remained optimistic his time would come. “I am still looking forward to playing the World Cup.”

Saeed Anwar finally speaks out at Bari’s bias.How they can select a fialure like Elahi ahead of Saeed is a mystery to me.

Wasim Bari and rest of his cohorts should be tried in a court of law for making a mockery of Pakistani cricket team.

Saeed is the finest we have and the best way for him to come back to his natural flair and prepare for WC 2003 is this Zimbabwe series. Such a shame we have idiots like Bari sitting at the helm.

Story with a link :smiley:

*(http://jang-group.com/thenews/oct2002-daily/28-10-2002/sports/s1.htm)

He hit the nail right on the PCB’s head, I must say :smiley:

If the trial match was criteria for selecting the team, then Shahid Afridi scored a duck and Saleem Elahi struggled for runs, says former skipper

KARACHI: Pakistan’s seasoned opener Saeed Anwar has ruled out any possibility of announcing his retirement from international cricket after being ignored by the selectors for the tour of Zimbabwe.

"I always consult and seek advice from my elders and they have advised me not to give up hope as yet and leave it up to God to decide my future as a Pakistan player," Saeed told ‘The News’ from Lahore.

Expressing his deep disappointment at not being selected for the tour of Zimbabwe in either the Test or one-day squads, Saeed said he could not understand the criteria behind the selection. “I don’t want to sound critical but if the trial match was the criteria for selecting the team then Shahid Afridi scored a duck and Saleem Elahi struggled for runs. I have nothing against them, but why have they been selected?”

“I would have no regrets at not being selected if there were better openers than me picked in the team. But this is not the case and I believe I am still the best and I can serve Pakistan team with my experience and skills as an opener,” he stressed.

Hitting out at the statement of chief selector Wasim Bari that he (Saeed) had lost confidence and interest in the game, the 34-year-old left-hander said in the One-day series in Australia in June he himself had offered to open the innings after returning to the team after eight months.

“They were sending Shahid Afridi to open but I said I wanted to open and face the best opening attack in the world. I also opened in Morocco, Nairobi and Colombo. If I had lost confidence or interest I would not have wanted to open in these tournaments.”

Saeed said he never took the trial match so seriously which is why he went down to bat at number four. “But I have been batting in the nets and also training regularly. I have not lost my appetite for the game and, in fact, I am enjoying my batting now,” he added.

Saeed, who has scored over 8600 runs in 242 One-day Internationals and 4052 runs in 55 Tests at an average of 45.52, said he was surprised at all the talk about his commitment, age, fitness and form.** “When Steve and Mark Waugh can continue playing for Australia, when Sri Lanka can recall Aravinda de Silva, why am I being ignored? I am still good enough,”** he maintained.

Saeed admitted that since his comeback to the team his 11 innings had not fetched many runs (229) but pointed out which opener did not struggle after coming back to international cricket after a long lay-off.

“I have still maintained an average of 35 in my last 25 one-day innings while in my last Test innings I had scored 101,” he recalled. The former Pakistan captain also lashed out at the constant statements and reminders that he had opted out of the Test series against Australia to take a rest and instead gone to play exhibition matches in Cardiff, Wales. “I never opted out of the Tests against Australia. The factual position is that I kept on telling the captain and manager that I am available to play the series and they can confirm this. And they said they had conveyed my willingness to the Board.”

“I am no coward to back out of any series. I have not survived so long and scored runs as an opener in the last 10 years by being cowardly against the best fast and spin bowlers in the world,” Saeed added. He made it clear he would continue playing and remained optimistic his time would come. “I am still looking forward to playing the World Cup.”

Excellent statement by Saeed Anwar....Which makes us believe that the PCB is lieing most of the time and hiding the truth. PCB probably doesn't want any religous people in its team....

This is very dissappointing and I believe Saeed now more than PCB, I think he didn’t opted out against Australia as everyone here mentioned, I mistoke Anwar, I deeply apologize to him! :frowning:

I thought Wasim Bari was one of the good guys, that was very low on part of the former wicket keeper, Saeed Anwar may not be in good form but he should have been included in place for Saleem Ilahi, who didn’t impress in domestic cricket.

Very bad decision! :nook: :nook:

Saleem Elahi is probably a safarshi…he doesn’t have the talent to be in the team in place for Saeed Anwar. Waseem Bari:mad3: I hate him now !!

Saeed Anwar i think will make the squad for South Africa, i sure hope he does... well Saleem Elahi was selected on the advice of Pynus who liked him during the England tour last year!
But saeed should have beeen there anyways !!

Its so pathetic that on one hand they dropped players like Saeed for the series against Australia and then after loosing the series, had the guts to blamme him and others for opting out of such an important series :rolleyes: Shame on PCB!!!

Its pathetic how wasim bari handled this situation, and I remember him commenting on Saeed Anwar's fielding. May he doesnt know that Saleem Elahi is the worst fielder in Pakistan, he just doesnt enjoy fielding and everyone saw how he tried to stay away from the ball while fielding during the Pakistan-England series.

This is ridiculous!!! Saeed was the only hope in this coming series! I thought him and taufeeq omer would just do the job!! Oh my godd and he never refused to play against Australia!!

I call it hypocrisy!! Wasim bari to all these $$$h@les who r just there to make mockery of Pakistani cricket!

Saleem elahi is the worst fielder that we can have on our side and as an batsman he is no different than wjahatullah wasti if u can remember him!

The Game Responds:

*The "Saeed Anwer era" was over a long time ago; he doesn't deserve a place in the side now. Besides, he can't linger on to the fact that Mark Waugh is still being selected by Australia. He should announce that he would retire after the World Cup; because we sure do need experience on South African tracks. But that's about it; he shouldn't hang around when he is not needed. **Think About It**, you sentimental shmucks. People, That Is All.*

Originally posted by the game: *
The Game Responds**:

*The "Saeed Anwer era" was over a long time ago; he doesn't deserve a place in the side now. Besides, he can't linger on to the fact that Mark Waugh is still being selected by Australia. He should announce that he would retire after the World Cup; because we sure do need experience on South African tracks. But that's about it; he shouldn't hang around when he is not needed. **Think About It**, you sentimental shmucks. People, That Is All.* 

If Saeed Anwar does'nt deserve a place in the team, then who does. We do not have a single reliable opener other than him. The Farhats and the Nazirs are all a bunch of bull****...

You, my boy should stick to your WWE...bara ayaa hai, Saaeed Anwar era was over...

*Originally posted by Sharaabi: *

If Saeed Anwar does'nt deserve a place in the team, then who does. We do not have a single reliable opener other than him. The Farhats and the Nazirs are all a bunch of bull****...

You, my boy should stick to your WWE...bara ayaa hai, Saaeed Anwar era was over...

lol....welll saiddddd!

At least they included Yousuf Youhana, thanks PCB for that.

How can they appoint a selector like this fag Bari....i bet all of em in the team management r like this....saalon ka pet nahi bharta...

*Originally posted by Sharaabi: *

Sharaabi I think The Game is right, read his comment again he said Saeed should retire after WC and he should be picked for SA tour. The guy is 34 and how long you think he can go? 36, 38? but eventually he has to retire so why not let the youngsters give a chance. No doubt Saeed bhai has more experience but maybe since ZIM is not a very good side PCB wanted to test few more players by giving them a chance. I hope they pick Saeed for the SA tour and WC and after WC I think Saeed should retire.

Saeed should have been picked for the Zimbabve tour so maybe he could have got his confidence back before the world cup. He wasn't in form at the moment, and this series would have been a good opportunity for him regain his touch

Question, optimism that PCB will do the right thing is one thing, but they have shown themselves incapable of rising above the petty politics.

Saeed has aged but he is still our best hope as an opener for the world cup. He is out of rhythm at this point due to the long lay-off and Zimbabwe series was the best bet to bring back his confidence. He should have been selected now, so he can work up to the World Cup in the right frame of mind, and give his 100% there.

Experimenting with youngsters is very well, but there should be a time for that. With 3 months to go before WC, it is a grave disservice to expose our youngsters to teams like Australia and destroy their confidence. And this is what happened. The shame of 53 and 59 is not going to die easily. In any case, some of our experienced players will retire after WC 2003 anyway (including Waseem, and expectedly Saeed, Waqar and Inzi) in which case that will be the best time to rebuild the team with fresh and young talent. Not now.

Opening is our biggest problem and by not selecting Saeed at this point, the problem has been augmented. Now we have both ends at risk with either inexperienced and/or incapable players performing as openers. Chall gayay tau chall gayay, nahi chalay to line jayay gi. And most of the time, nahi chalein gay.

Bari is..was..and will always remain a moron.

Saeed Bhai has done the right thing by publicly exposing the lies of Bari and Waqar..two losers.

Saeed Bhai has always said that he will retire with honour..he correctly said he is still the best opener in the country and he is spot on.

Inshallah, he will make his return to the team very soon and we will witness the end of two gutless cowards..Waqar Younis and Wasim Bari. Hopefully, the other loser Rashid Latif will go with them.

Till then...prepare for another whitewash...this time by Zimbabwe.

Wasim Bari should be kicked out !