Sadqa on people dancing at mehndi's - anyone heard of this????

Hi Gupshupers!!! Salaams all! So I just had a question and wanted to know if anyone has seen this before. I know people do sadqa of the couple during the mehndi when they are doing all the rasaams and even during the girls mayoon but has anyone ever seen people going up to people who are dancing - like family who are performing during a mehndi and doing sadqa of the people who are dancing? Then just throwing the money on the floor as they continue their performance??? I just dont know if this is normal bc I found is a bit strange but I might just not know.

Re: Sadqa on people dancing at mehndi's - anyone heard of this????

I've seen it happen. It looks weird to me, and I sort of think it looks insulting to the dancers, BUT that is not the intent (I think).

Ya exactly! Thats what I thought when I saw this - kinda like they were thinking of them as nachne wali's or something like that. Then also the fact that the paaisa is on the dance floor and people are stepping all over it - its just not right to me. I'm hoping no one will do this at my mehndi but I think there are some people who are just use to doing this and we cant really stop them.... or could we???? That would be really rude though..... I dont know

It's usually only a few seconds. I don't think it's worth stressing over or trying to plan for.

It's not exactly done for giving a sadqa especially. I think it's more of a nazar utarney ka tareeka. iykwim?

Sahar - yes there are a million other things I should be worrying about but I always seem to worry about things I shouldn't! Ha ha I just didn't know if this is normal - like does it happen at every mehndi bc I don't want the baraat wala to be like yeh kya ho ra hai???? Thanks for ur response!!

Guriya - yup u r right it's to utar nazar but then after that they should give the money as sadqa or to the poor and I've noticed some kids actually pick up that money and put it in their pockets!! :-(

I a gree.

Lols. On your mehndi, you can obviously control it. Who would do it other than your own close family members so you can let them know in advance how you feel about it.

yup.

And also it's the kind of thing that really is very small, but if you make it an issue you will offend or hurt people who otherwise wouldn't care. I just wouldn't get into it, unless someone suggests making it a big thing at your mehndi (which I doubt). It's supposed to spontaneous anyway.

Ufffff, did that really happen at an actual wedding?! That sounds cheap and insulting. Would I want people throwing money at me if I was dancing at my friends/cousins wedding? Of course not!! As for your concern, don't worry! I've been to alot of weddings and that's NEVER happened! Don't get tense over things that have a small chance of happening and you can't control! Just plan your mehndi and forget about the little things, it'll all come together on the day!

I wish i could control this - its always this group of ladies which do it bc its always their daugthers who dance and I just dont think I can say anything to them before hand. Just like Sahar said if I make it a big issue then it will turn into one and then they will get offended and of course start talking about me and my family so I guess Ill just not say anything :-(

Thanks SummerLover! IA everything will come together - I have 2 1/2 months to go IA! Ya i know this with prob happen at my mehndi - its always this group of ladies who do this at every mehndi they attend so I already know its coming but again I should be focusing on more important things!

It's something I see a lot of but only at pashtun weddings, I've never understood the logic behind it but just accepted it as one of those little traditions that just happen at weddings. It's not harming anyone after all :)

hmmm....looks like a kotha themed wedding.

its call "BALE/ BAIL". (don know how it spells in english) its usually a rasm in mostly the punjab areas... n this money is always been given to the UNICHS or poors...

i see it all the time and laugh to myself because these are the same anti hindu people that talk so much nonsense yet they continue the whole hindu tradition. that circle thing is what's done when making aarti and collecting money at a mandir or at a pooja and is tied to the goddess of wealth, lakshmi it is VERY un-islamic in my eyes and is cheap. yet all these same people that partake in that at one time or another has said something about hindu people loosing desi values and wearing such short skirts or blah blah blah...

I think it happens more on baraats, where the baraatis making their entry by naaching on dhol get money thrown on them.

yes!

It happens on Mehndi too..

Wow, congrats! You must be so excited!! Well I guess "If you can't beat them, join them"! That way you'll be alot less stressed and may just end up enjoying the whole scene! This is like one of those things you'll laugh and joke about for years to come after your wedding! :p