Sadness for not having closure

As a spin-off to Mehnaz’s thread about lifting spirits, I wonder if it is just me or whether anyone else also feels a bit of prolonged sadness at losing someone dear to you, as in an ended relationship in this case, especially when the relationship is ended by the other person on an open note where no closure or answers are provided. I have recently gone through such an experience and basically to deal with it, I go out to forget what happened, pray to Allah mian for making this feeling of sadness go away and to not hurt the other person further, and cry it out when I am alone. Call me weak or lame or insecure for this, as this person did, but these were my feelings and I don’t see anything wrong with feeling that way. At least I have a heart that feels emotion.

When a relationship is terminated without closure, you are left with alot of scenarios and possibilities in your mind about the whats, whys, hows, whens. I really trusted this individual, thought he was different than most, and shared alot with him regarding myself and my family for about a year and he even came to meet me twice, driving a distance, but at the end, despite my open honesy, he began keeping many secrets from me and closing himself off while still not letting me go. I wonder why he didn’t just say goodbye and end it right there and then rather than string me along? In addition, towards the end, he needlessly insulted me and made a threat which I would never have expected him to make in a million years. I was shocked, sad for being wrong all along about someone who I had put so much faith into and really liked for all his goods and bads, and ultimately, for my own dignity’s sake, I backed out despite the hurt I felt. I miss him but Allah mian heels all wounds, mine and his as well I hope.

Sadness can be a nasty thing. I think the only cure is perhaps to just deal with it and move on. Time is the great healer they say.

:flower2:

ahhh closure....

I've been in the same place as you sweetiepie and it sucks. Mostly because I felt like I did not understand how someone I thought I knew and trusted so much could be so horrid....

the sadness lasted for a while and surprisingly would pop back up again when events occurred that reminded me of him or things he had encouraged me to do (like my master's) and I was graduating.

The one thing is that you realizse that there are great things for you in the here and now and even if you understood what/why he did what he did, it still wouldn't make it better...you just know that that's now what Allah swt wants for you and something better inshallah is out there..and you work on moving on.

im one of those ppl on the other side.

sweetpie, to one person i was someone she put a lot of trust in etc, and in the end i was real mean to her.

The way this guy has treated u is an exact description of how i treated her. Its called immaturity.

I was immature and did what i did without even realising it. I only realised this about a week ago, and what i did to her happend nearly 4 yrs ago.

I know why i did waht i did, but i wish i hadnt. Its cos i loved her so much, and i didnt want to lose her, but the minute she came an inkling close to loss, i reacted with violent anger. Like when she would talk to other guys etc etc.

But i loved her so much, i still do. All it would have took was for her to say she loved me and i woud have calmed down a great deal and not reacted as harsh as i did. it was that insecurity. magr she never did.

I spoke to her again a few months ago, tried very hard for a long time to redeem myself, being a little maturer and all, magr shes completely lost interest now. I dont blame her, i mustve hurt her so much, thats shes completely removed me from her heart. shes so emotionally tired now, and her dreams have completely changed. major shock to the system i think.

But with regards to the closure, i dno waht to say about that. I havent really been with her for 4 yrs and im still in pain. Everytime i have to go see another girl for marriage i start trembling and thinking of her.

I wish there was a cure. i dno what that cure is.

What i do know is, the pain is punishment for talking to her in the first place. Cos its haraam, and its as simple as that. i shouldnt have been 'mixing' with her in the frrst place

*Originally posted by amelie: *
...you just know that that's now what Allah swt wants for you and something better inshallah is out there..and you work on moving on.

I know that is true in my heart of hearts and is what my friends keep telling me time and time again regarding this particular person but you know what? At the end of the day, no one makes decisions for you but yourself and I had made mine to continue on with him. For all I know he may have had 10 women on the side. The point is, I put my trust in him and then his actions throughout the time I knew him completely betrayed all he had told me in the beginning that he was about. It saddens to know that someone can turn out as such when you had such tenderness in your heart and good expectations of that person. I never knew that men could be like that. I know how men can be but this person took the cake. I am just very sorry that I fell for a heartless and cold human being like him. Insh'allah Allah mian will keep me forewarned of such people in the future.

That’s sad, don’t worry sis forget about him there’s plenty of fish in the sea (and like the woman in the BT advert says fish with prospects loll) :flower1:

I think girls are too simple, a guy says to them that you’re my princess and the only love of my life and stuff and two or three flattering comments and bas phir uss larrki ke paou(n) zamee(n) pe nahei(n) lagte aur samajhti hai ke the guy is serious but guys just want to get laid, I’ve seen it in almost all girls they are too seedhi saadhi and fall for what guys say, be more careful and don’t do anything you’ll regret.

eemo, I feel that although it took you 4 years to come to this realization, at least you did. Regarding the person I had my experiences with, I doubt that he will ever admit to anything ever being his fault or apologize for anything in life. At least you matured, came to grips with the reality of your situation, and had heart enough to feel pain for not having this girl in your life anymore.

Dhulfiqar, you’re a sweetie. :flower1: You’re 100% right though, a few flattering words and the girl is smitten; unfortunately I am one of those girls and naive as I may sound, I tend to put faith in fairytale romances. I shared alot with this person. He was my best friend until I realized that he was lying, keeping secrets, and playing mind-games to possibly purposely hurt me.

He did it to feed his ego and to him you were just another conquest.. a challenge to be won.. just to prove he could.

Feelings are important but they can also betray you. I'm sure you always felt this guy was the one and how so? because you just 'knew it' and your 'heart told you so'.

Well the good thing is for you ..you were 100% genuine and loyal to him.. and regardless of how cruel and undeserving he was you were willing to overlook a lot.

That's what truely loving someone one is all about..it's unconditional and forgiving.

Unfortunately the reality is there are very cruel, selfish, manipulative people in this world who truely are evil and take great pleasure in hurting even the most innocent and loving individuals out there.

It makes absolutely no sense and it's a waste of time to try and figure him out.

Just let it go.. remember the good things you did for him and how much you were willing to love someone if given the chance.

That in itself is a very preciuos and rare gift you have. Know that you are capable of such love and make sure the next person deserves and earns it first.

Also always listen to your freinds.. don't always assume they are against you..

Sometimes the things they say to you that upset you the most are exactly what you need to hear!

Also one thing you girls need to realize is you just cannot fix or change anyone.. learn to spot those early warning signs.
If you find yourself always making excuses for the other person..something is really really wrong.

Sometimes the best things in life really are worth waiting for.. a little patience never hurt anyone. ;)

Sweetpie, I have not gone through this type of thing but I can imagine how painful it must be for you. Hope things will change for good, InshAllah. :flower1: :flower1:

Ooohhh, I totally understand, Sweetie. I am soo sorry you have been hurt. In my situation, I tended to trust what the guy said rather than what he did. Since I was raised here and he was raised in Pakistan, I kept trying to think - maybe I am judging his actions by western values - so I kept giving him more and more chances. Mostly because he talked to me so sweetly! Ahhhh, love. Isn’t it a kick in the head sometimes?

I hope you truly feel better soon:flower2:

Let me leave with with a humorous prayer I saw posted on the door of one of my Irish/Catholic professors at college ----------------

“Dear God,
May you bless all of my friends.
And for those people who are not my friends,
God,may you please turn their hearts
so that we may become friends.
And, God, if you will not turn their hearts,
then please turn their ankles,
so that I may know them by their limping.
Amen”

:frowning:

sweetpie this is for you —> :hug:

and this too —> :flower1:

:–)

Waqas, great insight, great advice. You are saying everything that my friends always told me all along but like you said, stupid me with my head in the clouds, I kept making excuses for him and giving him a chance even though unfortunately he didn’t even want to speak on the telephone much. We met a total of 2 times and our “relationship” was 95% online. I have buried that part of me though, have learned from the experience, am that much stronger for it, and am awaiting Mr. Right, no doubt about that. I can only hope that this guy keeps being reminded of the pain he has caused me and God knows how many other countless women, and gains some self-respect in the process. Other than that, I wish him well in life as I hold nothing personal against him.

CorruptAngel, thank you.

Anahndi, unfortunately this person was also raised here like myself which goes to show that a leopard won’t change its spots based on where he is. Thanks for the humorous prayer.

Irem, thank you.

:flower2: