Sad and worried.

I recently got my bag displaced/lost on a Turkish Airline flight. I was in Turkey for a work meeting and when I got to NY, the bag never arrived. It has been 4 days and there has been no news of it. I would probably not care so much for a lost bag had it not been for a precious pair of diamond earrings in there that I had dropped into my makeup bag and forgotten about. Right before taking off to the airport, I had just shoved the makeup bag into the luggage in a hurry and now obviously I am a depressed mess wondering if I will ever get my bag back. I guess I have two questions to ask. One, what is the probability of recovering a lost bag and if anyone has had any experiences with Turkish. They don’t appear to me as a very organized company so I’m scared. They told me my final carrier which was American Airlines is supposed to be looking for the missed baggage and they are but they have told they have not received any answers back from Turkish as to which airline the bag was placed on, etc. Two, does anyone know of any duas I can recite? Thank you.

Re: Sad and worried.

**Insha Allah you will get your bag back. **

Yes reciting the above du'a and inna lillahi wa inna illahi rajioon will help but just wanted to let you know that we flew with Turkish on our way back from Hajj this past November, and still haven't gotten one of our bags. It had all the presents and stuff in it :( We were given $200 by JetBlue (our connecting flight) as a compensation. Our stuff in the bag was well worth $800-1000! They asked us to provide receipts of the stuff that was in the bag, and obviously barely anyone gives out receipts in Saudi, so we were outta luck! I've heard about a lot of lost baggages with Turkish. So yeah, keep reciting the du'as but also be prepared otherwise. Insha'Allah you receive your bag soon :)

Raat gayee baat gayee...Forget about it, carry on & next time be more careful!

diamond earrings in checked luggage??? :nono:

I hope that you get your bag…unfortunately the longer it goes without being tracked the less likely that you will. :frowning:

consider it sadqa and move on.

4 days and no news of the bag.....the odds are against you. :(

Although I do hope I'm wrong about this....it looks like this is going to be an expensive lesson for you when it comes to being careful about what you put inside your checked luggage in the future.

You probably won't want to hear it right now, but everything happens for the best. Maybe those earnings would have been detrimental to you in one way or the other, so Allah has taken them away from you - one of the many possibilities. So don't dwell on it too much because that's just going to lead to unnecessary depression.

However, we should do our best in all situations, so carry on chasing up the lost luggage with the company. You'll probably need to hassle them until you get a firm reply.

yes inalilhae is the best for lost objects.

I have been told reciting Durood also helps. About a couple of years ago I go to Toronto from London and kept on waiting for one my bags to arrive. I waited for at least 40 minutes and then checked the corner where the leave the heavy luggage. But nothing. I reported the missing luggage and went home. I got a call after an hour of me getting home from someone that they had my luggage. The guy said he has exactly the same bag and his luggage got misplace and he was told by the airline that he will have his bag when he arrives in Toronto. He saw my bag and thought it's his. Luckily, I put my name and my contact information on the inside pocket of my bag and that person was able to get in touch with me.

Did you have any contact information in your luggage?

Material things come and go...

Material things come and go... If you do sabr may be Allah swt will reward you with some thing better... Consider it sadqa...quoted from muzna....i once had my little jewelry box stolen from my apartment. Besides the value each piece had memories and emotional value...it is hard to get over.. But try...

I've flown with Turkish Airlines twice and I can say they're far from unprofessional or at least that's how I feel.

It is sad to hear your situation and the best thing you can do is nag them about it. Like most airlines that odds are stacked against you when you lose/misplace baggage.

I hope you find it, good luck. iA

Apni PIA hoti to Geo news pe breaking news aati aur supreme court suo moto bhi lay chuki hoti.

On the serious note, best of luck! These incidents are unavoidable.

Inshallah you'll find it. But be prepared otherwise incase not. Losing jewelry is hard, I have done it as well and can understand your stress. Just keep on the airlines case if you can. Stupid airlines. Hope they compensate you.

First of all, I appreciate all your replies and suggestions/advice so greatly. Thank you. I was majorly distressed the past couple of days but words of comfort can do wonders =)
When I had checked in, the Turkish Airlines system was down and that already indicated to me that something bad could possibly happen. They handwrote the bag tags and I am assuming that's where the problem occured. My connecting airline which was American have been on top of the game, I have to say. They are doing everything possible to try and retrieve the luggage, however, they have had absolutely zero responses to every query sent to Istanbul. That to me is disheartening and I really pray that they send atleast one response about whether they have the bag in their possession or not. I have tried calling Turkish but no luck getting anyone to speak to.

goodluck

This is worrying. My parents luggage hasn't arrived either but it was Emirates. Hopefully that should be here soon. InshAllah it'll arrive :)

Phr tu air blue baut achi nikli ,they found my bag within 2 days :)