Sacrifice , A ritual without soul

Babbling

I have not spent so much money on bakra for these beggars, why they come in herds…I hate 'em all
Begum....
keep these two legs for my BOSS, and give this kaleeji to who ever knocks at th door for alimony, and listen would you make some chops for me, I am hungry.

what went wrong, where we got derailed, where is the soul. Is it enough to kill an animal and be satisfied for the rest of year that we have spent a lot in the name of Allah.

share…your thoughts, if any

Re: Sacrifice , A ritual without soul

when qasai died bakra, his soul flying high. the nife was fast so anything go not wrong. baqee samagh nahee ai.

Elephat is u a gal?

i am not blessed to eat Qurbani meat, i just cant eat it :bummer:. my other family members just eat lill bit. rest of the meat ALHUMDULLAH goes to mosque.

ps. i strongly believe we all must pray to ALLAH SWT to give us patience and learn to control our desires.

Babu bhai, thank you for your take on this topic, I appreciate your time and efforts.

I am, definitely, not a gal. is it disappointing for you, if I may ask politely?

Nice to hear that Zobia. We should pray for good intentions that bring good deeds. Unfortunately our prayer for patience goes like;

" Oh Allah I pray for patience, and I want it right now"

I believe it's a number of things that must take place simultaneously, one of them and the foremost being the humility and keeping in mind the very reason for this ritual to take place. It is not merely something one performs every year. It's rather a state of giving at the highest level. You sacrifice what is dearest to you. You spend a portion of your wealth to buy the animal, you feed it for a month or so, your attachment to it grows, and then you sacrifice in the name of Allah, as a sign of sacrifice not only the animal but all that is in this world for the sake of Almighty.
When the sharp knife runs across the neck of the animal and the blood flows, your emotions reach the highest state knowing you have done this deed to please none other than Allah. Ideally, with that animal sacrificed, one should also become stronger in faith, less attached to the worldly affairs, and be ready to sacrifice wealth, things dearest to one, for the sake of Allah. You must remember and feel and live the moment that Prophet Abraham lived while holding Prophet Ishmael down. Ready to do away with his only son, his support in old age, his joy, his happiness, his dearest, yet both put those emotions aside and were ready to do what Allah hath commanded. Now fast forward and look down upon this creature that lays before you, just as Prophet Ishmael was replaced with a Lamb, you are repeating that sacred ritual with the same thing in mind that May Allah (SWT) be pleased with me and my family and accept our Qurbani.

Mashallah Teggy Sahab! that was really nicely said!

Waise its sad how ppl get greedy and keep the good stuff to themselves and distribute the not-so-good-part to the poor :frowning: anyone who can afford to do qurbaani obviously has the financial means that is greater then the average poor man living in Pakistan, to whom, meat etc is pure luxury :frowning:

and Teggy… we would only keep our cow for 3 days bcoz of all the mess it makes, a month would be too much :cb:

thankyou…but teggy have said wayyyyy better than me. t :bb:

u reminded me of tamil tigers :hehe:

sorry t- i cant accept t definition of urz…mine is load better :barbie:

what exactly is ur definition of it?:ASA:

:smack: i dont know where u got it from :snooty:

tamil tiger :blush:

…lemme run :sadiyah:

i dont man…but its amazing nah…:hehe:

Great, thank you. I want to add a few things. one that the ritual of sacrificing an animal in the name of a perceived Lord has a history as old as the history of human beings, Allah (SW) kept this ritual but corrected the attribute in Sunnah -e-Ibrahimii (AS) , later on this correct attribute became an imperative in the concept of Halal and Haram.
Second , that if we are ready to sacrifice our most cherished thing in the path of Allah (SW), He will not only return the same thing but as a reward would bless us with a thing that we can't think about. And last that the best way to give in the name of Allah is to spend on those who are left behind in a world that believes in the concept of "survival of the fittest".

^Perfect!....:)

qurbani is not the only ritual that seems to happen without real essence of faith and sincerity.

that's very true. :(

How can I disagree with the statement so true....However the day was perfect to commemorate a dead spirit in a very alive ritual.