Sachin Tendulkar.

I would first of all like to point out this is not a Sachin bashing thread. This merely asks some questions about the Indian batsman.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/sports_talk/forum/2036014.stm

As some of you maybe aware, Sachin Tendulkar’ autobiography is titled: ‘Sachin - The Story of the World’s Greatest Batsman’

What I would like to know is what makes sachin a great batsman, and as the title suggests, is he the ‘Worlds Greatest Batsman’?

I think he is a fine player, and if possible, I would pay to watch him bat in the first innings of any test.

[This message has been edited by 2bornot2b (edited August 07, 2002).]

@ Sachin. He should get himself free from all worries of “ONLY I CAN DO IT” or “OH MAN I HAVE TO DO IT ALL OTHER ARE DUMB #@$@#”. I mean Ganguly and others have to take some responsibility now so that we can watch old tendulkar in action again.

All great players thrive under pressure. Greater the pressure situation, the better they play. So, what is lacking that has prompted some of the greats to question his ability?

[This message has been edited by 2bornot2b (edited August 07, 2002).]

Originally posted by 2bornot2b:
*As some of you maybe aware, Sachin Tendulkar' autobiography is titled: 'Sachin - The Story of the World's Greatest Batsman'

It's not an AUTOBIOGRAPHY. Stop spreading lies about him. Sachin will never say 'He is the greatest batsman'.

AK

*I think he is a fine player, and if possible, I would pay to watch him bat in the first innings of any test.

Then you would miss one of the best innings ever played by an Indian against Pakistan.

AK

Originally posted by Asif_k:
** Then you would miss one of the best innings ever played by an Indian against Pakistan.**

Yaar main kia karoon agar India ki leadership Pakistan ke saath India ko nahi khelnay dai? Iss mai bhee mera khasoor hai kia?

Anyway, back to the topic, if I may be allowed

What makes Sachin a great batsman, and as the title suggests, is he the ‘Worlds Greatest Batsman’?

What are the ratios of his home and away centuries compared to say, Richards, Border, S Waugh etc?

Like I said, if possible I would pay to watch him bat in the first innings of a test match.

Player      Mat       I   NO  Runs HS1  HS2  HS3   Ave    100      50      0

Sachin      55(97)    88   8  4144 177  169  155   51.80  15(29)  18(32)   7
Steve Waugh 72(148)  112  24  4857 200  199  177*  55.19  15(27)  20(44)  11
Richards        73(121)  115   8  5404 291  232  208   50.50  13(24)  31(45)   7
Border               70(156)  120  24  5431 200* 196  162   56.57  14(27)  28(63)   4
Gavaskar             60(125)  106   9  5055 221  220  172   52.11  18(34)  22(45)   6

no.s in brackets are Totals in that category...eg, out of 97 test Sachin has played 55 of them away from home.

If you look at the no. of innings Sachin has taken to score 15 centuries it is less than every other batsman in the list.

AK

[This message has been edited by Asif_k (edited August 07, 2002).]

And phadda ishtart!

I just don’t know where to begin. So many figures, so little time

Asif, thanks for posting the figures. We shall discuss these either later today or tomorrow.

Apologies for not replying earlier.

Not wishing to cause a ‘Phadda’, I would like the guppies to decided (from the available stats above) who they would have in their team, if they had to choose only one of these players for Away Test Matches.

For the record, I would not choose Sachin (although great) in my team for Away Test Matches

[This message has been edited by 2bornot2b (edited August 08, 2002).]

** Sachin Tendulkar autobiography should have been titled: ‘Sachin - The Story of the World’s Greatest Business Batsman’ **

He’s the Richie Rich of sports in India. Sachin Tendulkar may be criticised for not winning matches more often for India, but no one can accuse him of lacking business acumen. He is a cricketer and a brand all rolled into one.

** While figures are not available for the various products that Sachin endorses, rough estimates reveal he charges about Rs 1.5 crore per endorsement.
But endorsements are not the only source of moolah for him. For pocket change, the Master Blaster gets a match fee of about Rs 1.25 lakh for Tests, and Rs 90,000 for one-day internationals. **
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/articleshow.asp?artid=18366428

It totally indicates that this is a sachin bashing thread - First you yourself ask all the guppies to choose only one batsman from the above list and then instead of telling your pick you say who you will not pick without giving any reason.

AK

Namaste Asif_K.

Bhagwan kai liai, kabhi to meri post padh lia karo, in the way it is written, rather than searching for hidden meanings.

Arai Qibla, I am sure there are educated people on this forum that can read the stats provided and make their own decision. How does me saying I will not pick Sachin make it a Sachin bashing thread? Yaar, people have opinions, and should not be castigated if they do not pick your favorite player?

The above list contains some great players. If I had to choose one player for the Away Test Matches, it would be Border. If I had to choose reserves, they would be ( in the order presented), Gavaskar, Steve Waugh, Viv Richards and Sachin.

Sachin may be at the bottom of my list for the Away Test Matches, but it does not mean this is a Sachin Bashing thread. So, Chill

*How does me saying I will not pick Sachin make it a Sachin bashing thread? *

Because you asked the question of selecting only one of gavaskar,Border,Richards/waugh and Sachin and. You did not say who you would select, you said who you would not select and that too without giving any reason.

*people have opinions, and should not be castigated if they do not pick your favorite player? *

But you didn't pick your fav. player either, did you ?? And you are making assumptions here about sachin being my fav. player. I myself will not pick Sachin and go with Gavaskar or Richards depending on other members of the Team they will be playing with.

The above list contains some great players. If I had to choose one player for the Away Test Matches, it would be Border.

In the above list all are great players. Btw It's nice to know that now you have a choice.

If I had to choose reserves, they would be ( in the order presented), Gavaskar, Steve Waugh, Viv Richards and Sachin.

Reserves are not allowed in Cricket and none of them ever scored 80 runs in last 11 overs either. So either stick with Border or select anyone else.

AK

Uff, kaisay samjaoon. God forbid if Border gets run over by a bus 5 days before the match, I will pick Gavaskar. If Gavaskar gets run over by a bus 4 days before the match, I will pick Steve Waugh. If Steve Waugh gets run over by a bus 3 days before the match, I will pick Richards. Finally, if Richards gets run over by a bus 2 days before the match, I will pick Sachin.

Now please do not get back to me asking for the probability of this happening

yaar 2bornot2b and Asif_k…
shaadi kar lo tum dono

Yaar, if Asif_K is such a nagger, can you imagine the mother in law

to aap ko yeh rishta manzoor nahi hai

Ulta Chor Daante Kotwaal ko ??

AK