Sachin Tendulkar has been ruled out of the one-day series against England because he needs surgery on his shoulder.
The surgery is likely to take place in London and following that he will be out of action for at least two months.
That means the earliest he can come back is for the Test series in West Indies in June.
**Tendulkar is apparently not bothered by the injury for his batting but he is said to be having trouble while throwing.
“Tendulkar will consult Dr Andrew Wallace in London and it appears he would not be available for eight weeks,” Cricket Board Vice President M P Pandove said while announcing the Indian team for the first three one-day matches here.
Andhra batsman Y Venugopala Rao was named in the 15-member squad in place of Tendulkar.
Speedster Munaf Patel found a berth in the squad at the expense of Zaheer Khan who was part of the Indian team in Pakistan.
India are to play seven one-dayers against England.
The first ODI is to be held in Delhi on March 28 followed by the second at Faridabad (Mar 31) and Goa (April 3).
^ Tennis player put more efforts? Do they run so many runs? Do they play 8-9 hours per day? For 5 days? For 16-17 years? Come'on, get a better comparison.
Something strikes to me as rather particular, something which is related to both sides of the fence (India + Pakistan).
1) Shoaib Akhtar - the moment Chappell, Gavaskar and the likes of Bedi start questioning his action, the injury strikes its wrath upon him.
2) Sachin Tendulkar - the moment critics lay eyes on him (and had eyes on him before for quite some time as well, if I gather correctly), an injury is struck once more.
Wasn't he sent home via a one-way ticket? What made them change that decision?
Chalo jee,
Acha bahana Tendulkar kay liye. Atleast, he'll get some rest.
Dhobi bhai, I agree with you. There's a curse on some players to "get" injured when they perform well like Shoaib Akhtar and for some like "Tendulkar" who don't perform well. Atleast, Times of India for now will refrain from saying "Endulkar" seeing his performance in the test series.
Umer
I used to watch him on NDTV and would find some “Sidduisms” funny but not anymore. Now I think he’s just a grandstander…plain waste of sound bite.
About the injury-prone players, I just don’t know what to make of it. Esp. Sachin’s case since the consulting physician himself says he doesn’t know about it. Look:
**Mumbai, March 21: **After carrying the burden of a billion Indians for 16 years on the cricket field, Sachin Tendulkar’ shoulder has finally given in. An injury to his right shoulder has nudged him out of the one-day international series against England starting on March 28. It could not have happened at a worse time for Tendulkar, who has been drawing flak from various quarters that feel he is not the batsman he used to be.
“Sachin has been diagnosed with a posterior labrum tear of the right shoulder with an associated para-labral cyst. The issue has been discussed with BCCI consultant Dr Anant Joshi and he has been informed of the decision to intervene surgically as soon as possible,” BCCI joint secretary Mahendra Pandove said while reading from Indian team physiotherapist John Gloster’s injury report.
However, a furious Dr Joshi has denied being consulted on the matter and, in fact, is reported to have said he was considering legal action on the matter if his name was used to certify Tendulkar’s injury.
The Mumbai batsman has already undergone surgery on his toe, ankle, elbow and finger, not to forget the national depression when he suffered from back spasms earlier.
“Dependent on the outcome of the surgery, it appears he will be unavailable for competitive international cricket for a period of approximately eight weeks. This time frame, however, will be constantly reviewed and reassessed,” the report said.
However, the injury will not affect his batting much, a major issue considering India need to either bat through the day to save the ongoing Mumbai Test, or to win it, if possible. “While the problem has not inhibited his ability to bat, he has of late been troubled by this shoulder with throwing,” the report said. But, strangely, Tendulkar has been fielding in the deep through this Test.
“Sachin has been mildly troubled by this shoulder dysfunction since the Sri Lanka series, but the condition has been conservatively treated and monitored accordingly. Recent follow-up scans of the shoulder and advice taken from specialists have shown that the problem now needs to be treated with surgical intervention. The presence of the cyst and its close proximity to a major nerve dictates the necessity of this surgical procedure,” according to the report.
The operation will be scheduled in London with Andrew Wallace as he is familiar with Sachin and his condition as well as his recent surgical experience with Sachin’s elbow, Mr Pandove added.
No, he will be back against the club level West Indies team who got defeated by the Kiwis for goodness gracious! Tendulkar's failure against Pak and England will be forgotten when he will score four centuries in four tests against WI. He will take his count to 39, a new world record, probably never to be broken in our lifetimes. But would you have him in your team knowing how many tests he won his team over 17 years? Naah... give me Steve Waugh, Inzi or Dravid rather.
I would have Sachin in my team anyday over Inzi. Just look at both there averages against the world champions. Inzi can't perform against Australia whereas Sachin can against the best.
Although i think this is due to Inzis lack of application in his fitness though.
Yeh although Inzi is ageing better than Sachin i still think he has a lot more to offer cricket. The thing about Sachin is just look at how he punches the ball off the back foot through the covers. This is a shot of a champion. I feel that Sachin will explode and score big again in the near future. I am predicting one last run of high form. I disagree whether Lara can have another pattern of form though but Sachin will and he is a global drawcard no matter what!!!!
Tendi no doubt is one of the cricket greats. But as you said you are an australian, so tell me something. Had he been in australian team, don't you think, he would have been dropped from the side?
I mean they have dropped players like Mark Waugh. Michael Bevan, Steve Waugh in the past, although their performances were not as bad as Tendi when they retired.
Being an aussie, you do have a different attitude. First you talked about the professionalism of aussie cricket and than you started talking in desi style, hoping that tendi will explode some day.
So what will happen in the mean time, between now and that explosion? Who will be responsible for the batting failures of him and their effect on India batting lineup, considering that they do have an accomplished player in the form of Kaif sitting waiting. Is it going to be ACB, you, BCCI or Tendi?