Saat Pardon main

What does this phrase mean?

Was this concept of ‘saat parde’ followed literally?

Re: Saat Pardon main

matlab parday zarday ka ehtamam... gher ki nazar say bacha kar rakhna.... amoman yeh rasam new bride kay apnay ghar main mayon kay naam par hoti hia... once girl sit in mayon.. non-mehram can not see her...

Are you sure its only related to Mayun?

I am not sure... but that was my guess...

I think its beyond 'Mayun'. But why they call it ' saat parde'... like there were 16 items in sola-singhaar and 12 spices in baara masala, can someone count these 7 pardas?

I believe the phrase alludes to extreme practice of female pardha. The kind of pardha which goes way beyond just covering the face when outside of the house.

You mean ‘habs e be ja’ :cb:

I think I don’t to translate ‘Habs e be ja’ :frowning:

I have no idea what that means, lol.

onion gets peeled really clean after removing 7 layers. :chai:

habs = suffocation, be-ja = khwamakhah.

Your comment just remind me this term used by feminist like Asma Jahangir and used to refer illegal custody. I also remember Malal's (read as lamb's) comment of calling burqa as moving tents.

saat parde:

1. chahaar deevaarii
  2. chaadar
  3. libaas
  4. Hayaa
  5. dil
  6. dimaaGh
  7. nazar

West main aik parda bhi nahi hota… :hmmm:

aur swimming pool par muqa bhai… iss saat parday ka aesa janaza nikalta hia.. mat pochian… :devil:

I'm afraid, I'll have to agree with Asma Jahangir here, I know the woman is supremely annoying and shallow but for outsiders, that kind of pardha does seem like suffocation. I have seen that kind pardha being practiced first hand and not sure if I appreciate it even slightly. I perfectly understand and respect the idea of female modesty and honour, but to be in a situation where you are strictly not allowed to access certain parts of the house and will get in trouble for speaking to a thirteen year old male servant is without a doubt a case of *habs e be ja. *

source?

Connected question. if ladies have to follow 7 pardas, how many steps should also be followed by men?