SA tour/ Inzi new captain, Rashid retained, Mushtaq recalled.

*Originally posted by Changez_like: *

No Yasir Hameed, Inzimam, Yousuf Youhanna, Shoaib Malik, Umar Gul, Shoaib Akhtar etc? I hope this was just a chaos.

That team was for a special match. The squad is yet to be announced.

:k: Great News of the morning! Lets welcome them in Pakistan in a way that they forget about the whole drama and will like to buy real estate in defence phase 6, KHI :slight_smile:

I guess that itinary is not finalzed yet but jung is reporting that this will be a 2 test and 5 ODI tour excluding KHI and PESHAWER as hosts and tour will start from 25th Sep.

I guess Herscelle Gibbs girlfriend won't be singing "Peshawar say meri khaatir dundaasaa laana, oye Herschell Khaana"

Nah, instead when Gibs will return to SA he will sing for the GF “O mayree Zuhra Jabeen, Tujhey maloom nahi, Tu abhi tak hai haseen aur mein jawan” :slight_smile:

:rotfl: :rotfl:

good one FG!!

and thats a great news for pakistan cricket :k: Hope this tour is a great experience for SA cricketers :slight_smile:

*Originally posted by funguy: *
I guess Herscelle Gibbs girlfriend won't be singing "Peshawar say meri khaatir dundaasaa laana, oye Herschell Khaana"

To complete her song:

"Eik century martey aana
Pakistan ko haratey aana
oye Herschell Khaana"

Ye Gibbs ki biwi urdu me gaane kyun gaa rahi hai ? Is she a Pakistani ?

:hehe: :hehe:

South Africa tour set to get underway](http://uk.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2003/SEP/262838_CI_23SEP2003.html)

**South Africa’s delayed tour of Pakistan is set to get underway in early October, after a last-minute deal with the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). Following Friday night’s bomb blast in Karachi, the PCB has agreed to cancel two matches due to be held in Karachi and Peshawar. The new itinerary will comprise three ODIs but just two Tests, one fewer than originally intended. **

Confirming the news, PCB officials said the United Cricket Board (UCB) had agreed in principle to the rearrangement, after consultation with South African government, Eric Simons, the coach, and Graeme Smith, the captain. Written approval will be received before the end of the week.

“We made a decision on Saturday, based on information from our security consultants who had also been in contact with intelligence agencies,” said Gerald Majola, the chief executive of the UCB. “That information was that the situation in Pakistan, particularly following a bomb blast in Karachi on Friday evening, meant that sending our team to Karachi on Sunday as planned would have constituted an unacceptable risk.”

“The Board has at all times been committed to making every effort to ensure the tour could go ahead, with the safety and security of the national squad as our primary concern,” said Majola. “The tour is important to both Pakistan and to South African cricket and we are sympathetic with the disappointment expressed in Pakistan when the team’s departure for Karachi on Sunday had to be called off. We appreciate the PCB’s compromise on an abbreviated tour, and that compromise is indicative of the continuing good relationships between our two boards.”

“We feel it is a welcome sign for cricket in Pakistan because we have gone through very hard times in the last four days,” said Rameez Raja, the chief executive of the Pakistan board. “[There were] misconceptions about Friday’s blast,” he said. “After talking to our security officials, [South Africa] got the clear picture that the blast was not linked to terrorism.”

Ehsan Mani, the president of the ICC, expressed his satisfaction at the outcome of the discussions. “Over the past two days, this has allowed all parties to get a considered, fact-based and accurate understanding of the security and safety concerns and of the way in which these are being managed. I am very pleased that through this process the PCB and the UCB have reached this in principle agreement.”

However, Mani criticised the haste with which the tour had earlier been called off. “I am concerned that there appeared to be a lack of consultation within the international cricket community before the initial decision not to tour was taken,” he said. "This meant that both the ICC and the PCB were not given the opportunity to provide relevant information to the UCB as it considered its position.

“One solution may be to introduce a cricket-wide protocol for this type of situation, where any country that is facing the situation the UCB has had to deal with is obliged to consult with both the ICC and the host country before reaching a decision. In that way every country would retain its right to determine where and when its team plays but it would also ensure that all parties affected by its decisions would be able to have their views considered and discussed as a decision is being made.”

Mani promised that he would raise the issue at the next meeting of the ICC’s executive board, which is scheduled for the Caribbean at the end of October.

Very good news, indeed. This series will really test the skills and patiance of new Pakistani team. Well, let's see what happens.... GO PAKISTAN!

Good Luck Pakistan :jhanda:

REVISED ITINERARY

Sources in the PCB disclosed that South Africa would tour Pakistan from October 1st to 28th to play two Tests and five One-day Internationals

**Warmup match**

Date             Match                     Venue                    

Oct 1       ODI Practice game(PCB XI)      Lahore(D/N)

**ODIs Series**

Date              Match                    Venue                    

Oct 3            1st ODI                   Lahore(D/N)

Oct 5            2nd ODI                   Lahore(D/N)

Oct 7            3rd ODI                   Faislabad

Oct 10           4th ODI                   Rawalpindi(D/N)

Oct 12           5th ODI                   Rawalpindi(D/N)

**Test series**

Date              Match                    Venue                    

Oct 17-21       1st Test                   Lahore

Oct 24-28       2nd Test                   Faisalabad

Schdule looks good :k: I just hope Pakistan play well :jhanda:

We need to Play good ,cuz we wanted them in pak.

congratulations to every one...

did anyone notice that "some1" is missing..............must be crying.....

well congratulations to every one.....this tour shud go through without any trouble for the betterment of pakistan cricket.....had this tour been cancelled, we wud have been in a worst postion in terms of promoting and nourishing cricket in our great country....lets welcome south africans with a big bang and show 'some1' acorss the border that we can be extremely dangerous if some one steps up on our tail but at the same time we are very firendly should the other party decide to reconcile...

Not a good record against RSA

Opp Res  Margin     Toss Bat FO Match

SA  lost 324 runs   lost 2nd n  Only Test in SA  1994/95
SA  draw -          won  1st n  1st Test  in Pak 1997/98
SA  draw -          lost 2nd -  2nd Test  in Pak 1997/98
SA  lost 53 runs    lost 2nd n  3rd Test  in Pak 1997/98
SA  draw -          won  2nd n  1st Test  in SA  1997/98**
SA  won  29 runs    lost 1st n  2nd Test  in SA  1997/98**
SA  lost 259 runs   won  2nd n  3rd Test  in SA  1997/98
SA  lost 10 wickets won  2nd y  1st Test  in SA  2002/03
SA  lost inn & 142r lost 2nd y  2nd Test  in SA  2002/03
----------------------------
P Home Away Neut    **Won**   Tied    Draw    Lost

9    3    6    0      **1**     0      3        5
-----------------------------
Highest Score   Lowest Score   Highest Conceded Score   
    456              92                  620                     
Lowest Conceded Score

did anyone notice that "some1" is missing..............must be crying.....well congratulations to every one.....this tour shud go through without any trouble for the betterment of pakistan cricket.....had this tour been cancelled, we wud have been in a worst postion in terms of promoting and nourishing cricket in our great country....lets welcome south africans with a big bang and show 'some1' acorss the border that we can be extremely dangerous if some one steps up on our tail but at the same time we are very firendly should the other party decide to reconcile...

ahahha this is ur first post and you have already cought on to the Some1 tamasha,,, shabash my freind

Elahi & Co.,

Purely from an analytical point of view , I think it is unwise now for SA to reverse its earlier decision. Dont get me wrong, this is not about me being anti-pak or anything, I just think that whatever decision SA took they should have stood by it..... The reason is that now that this series has already generated so much security-related interest, it will become doubly challenging for the PCB and the Pak law enforcement agencies to ensure that no untoward incident takes place. Anti-pak interests will see this as a golden opportunity to create mischief to achieve their purpose and get some spotlight. I hope I am proven wrong. But (God forbid) if any such incident did happen, Pak will probably say "good bye" to foreign teams for a long time to come. And SA's earlier stand will be vindicated.
As I said earlier...I hope I am proven wrong and that this series goes through smoothly... and also that SA give the Pakis a sound thrashing :)

*Originally posted by Some1: *
Elahi & Co.,

Purely from an analytical point of view , I think its unwise for SA to reverse its earlier decision. Dont get me wrong, this is not about me being anti-pak or anything, I just think that whatever decision SA took they should have stood by it..... The reason is that now that this series has already generated security-related interest, it will become doubly challenging for the PCB and the Pak law enforcement agencies to ensure that no untoward incident takes place. Anti-pak interests will see this as a golden opportunity to create mischief to achieve their purpose and get some spotlight. I hope I am proven wrong. But (God forbid) if any such incident did happen, Pak will probably say "good bye" to foreign teams for a long time to come. And SA's earlier stand will be vindicated.
As I said earlier...I hope I am proven wrong and that this series goes through smoothly... and also that SA give the Pakis a sound thrashing :)

well u made a very good point, but again at the end you proved to be the Some1 we know....
cheer up dude.. loosing or winning, we just want good cricket...

**PCB unhappy over change of venues: Karachi, Peshawar excluded **

KARACHI, Sept 23: Lt Gen Tauqir Zia, the chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board, said on Tuesday that he was extremely upset and sad at the decision to exclude Karachi and Peshawar from South Africa’s revised tour itinerary , now comprising two Tests and five One-day Internationals.

**“Certainly, the chairman is not happy with venues although it is satisfying to note that the South Africans are coming,” a PCB spokesman said on behalf of the cricket board’s chairman.

“Personally he would been delighted had Karachi and Peshawar been included in the revised tour itinerary. From the cricket board’s point of view it was a very tricky and difficult decision to ignore these two main centres,” he added.**

Ramiz Raja, the chief executive of the PCB, told Dawn from Lahore that the revival of the tour itself was a great retrieval.

**"All of us are relieved that they (the South Africans) have finally accepted our revised programme. Now we can say that the tour is confirmed and finally on.

“On the contrary, given the gravity of the rigid stance initially adopted by the United Cricket Board to cancel the tour on Saturday, I had serious doubts whether the tour would take place at all,” he remarked. “But on a positive note, I must admit that it wasn’t a happy decision (on sending a revised itinerary and excluding Karachi and Peshawar) and, as you know, we all had to agree on something for the sake of salvaging the tour,” Ramiz went on.

“Pakistan cricket is passing through a delicate period and we must strive to ensure that tour is successful both in terms of security and finance,” he added. **

The PCB had planned to seek damages worth US$3.6 million from its South African counterpart if the tour had stood cancelled to make up for losses through TV rights and sponsorship.

Ramiz stressed that South Africa’s late change of heart was a welcome sign for the global community. “The revival of the tour itself is a happy sign for Pakistan cricket in general and international cricket in particular.”

When asked to comment on the agreement between the PCB and the United Cricket Board of South Africa (UCB) to leave out Karachi and Peshawar from the revised schedule, Ramiz echoed the words of the PCB chairman.

“I am deeply disappointed and distressed to express the same sentiments as our chairman that the people of Karachi and Peshawar are going to be deprived of watching quality cricket. On a personal note, I feel very sad at this unfortunate setback,” the former national skipper said.

He praised both Karachi and Peshawar for successfully holding matches in the just concluded series against Bangladesh. “We had no problems whatsoever when Bangladesh played Tests in Karachi and Peshawar and the one-dayer in Karachi on Sunday. The crowds were well behaved and thoroughly knowledgeable.” However, Ramiz refused to give details of the itinerary.

“Hopefully, tomorrow (Wednesday), we may announce the dates of the matches once we have the final approval of the revised schedule from the UCB,” he pledged.

The South Africans were first scheduled to arrive here in the early hours of Monday on a 36-day trip comprising three One-day Internationals and as many Tests after the tour was given a final go-ahead last week.

The original tour also included a one-day warm-up match against a PCB XI side, featuring that great fast bowling duo of Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis. This game was also to be former Test opening batsman Shoaib Mohammad’s benefit match.

But the UCB then opted to cancel the tour because of a minor bomb blast - in which fortunately no one was hurt - in the city on Friday night.

Karachi was to host the first day/night One-day International at the National Stadium this Friday as the third and final Test from Oct 23. Peshawar was to stage the second Test from Oct 16.

The earnings from the Karachi ODI were earmarked as benefit purse for Wasim Bari, the former wicket-keeper, Pakistan captain and the ex-chairman of the national selection committee.

Now according to the new schedule, South Africa are expected to arrive in Lahore at the end of the month. The tourists will play a warm-up game on Oct 1 before taking on Pakistan in the ODIs. Lahore and Rawalpindi will each host two matches with the remaining tie to be played in Faisalabad.

The two Tests are slated for Lahore and Faisalabad before the tour winds up on Oct 29.

On the tour of South Africa last year, Pakistan also played two Tests that were preceded by a series of five one-dayers.