In dubai some shops used to do the rumali roti’s but they were called "Irani roti’s "
In Pakistan I believe its called Rumali roti … The question is , i have tried making it a few times … but it comes out either too rubber like in texture , or it hardens …
Can anyone tell me if they use some kind of a softening agent in the aata , to do the rumali roti ? how do they remain soft and crispy crackly …?
Re: Rumali roti Question
^ may be they use some milk to knead the atta ....just my wild guess
Does milk make the roti softer?
I have heard that but have never tried it :hinna: thats why i said its a wild guess
oh acha … we must find out for sure then … Diamond ask your mom , she might know …
ok CB i did some googling for you many people have suggested using luke warm water for kneading OR adding a bit of oil while kneading.
and some people did suggest adding a bit of milk while kneading with water
wow , thanks so much Diamond .. you are a star
so I have one more question , do they use maida or the usual flour for the rumali roti?
Hmmm CB I am not sure but from what I have seen romali roti is white and obviously not made of red wheat (usual lal atta) may be they mix it.
We make roti at home from the regular lal atta which the most healthiest and I have not clue about the maida :(
Mirch
April 8, 2011, 12:02pm
To make roti soft and to keep it soft for days , mix ghee , oil , butter whatever you fancy. What is the right proportion ?
Here is one recipe I found:
11/2cup Whole Wheat Flour (Atta)
50 gms Maida (all purpose flour, plain flour)
1/2 tsp. Baking powder
2 tbsp. Oil
Water to knead
Wow , thanks so much Mirch .. I will try this over the weekend :@:
What salan combination goes well with rumali roti ? would you know ?
I also think the fact they make it in a brick oven makes a world of a diff.
Its called shaami in arabia and i heart it. Especially with hummus. Mmmmmmmmm
KKF
April 8, 2011, 1:18pm
**do you mean “rumali chapati”? i posted a video recently * which tells you exactly how to avoid a “rubbery rumali chapati”. i will try to find that video, iA and then post it here.
i will add these two video clips for now:
VIDEO
VIDEO
Mirch
April 8, 2011, 1:20pm
Makes great kabab rolls. It also tastes great with any desi salan , daal , sabzi.
khalil , yeah do it , i will be waiting ..
Khawa , yes , its awesome with hummous …
KKF
April 8, 2011, 1:21pm
**stew do pyaaza or nargisi kofta or qorma...i think!
C&B...i've just posted two videos :)
Gina
April 8, 2011, 6:07pm
I posted a tried recipe in 'aaj kiya khaaya kiya pakaya' thread CB.
wuhhhhhaaaaa thanks so much Gina, Khalil and Mirch … rumali roti it is inshallah , this weekend
Reha
April 8, 2011, 8:25pm
I think milk would do the trick CB...Ive made roti with milk before and its amazing
Gina
April 9, 2011, 1:52pm
I think milk would do the trick CB...Ive made roti with milk before and its amazing
Although I can't make roti's to save my life, yoghurt makes yummy soft roti's too!