can someone explain what is it exactly? what is the point of it?
and can someone tell me why do some people do nikkah and then rukhsati few months or even a year after?
Re: rukhsati
Well rukhsati is when a girl leaves her parents house to go to her husbands....
n islamically it has no meaning as when ur nikah is done u r ur husbands neway.......
but some people like 2 do the nikah simply n tehn have the formal wedding later i.e the rukhsati........but before then they don't usually let the girl n boy live as husband and wife........even though nikah is done.......
NOOr i'm sure some1 else'll explain it better.i'm just so bad at typing.........
hmmm,n what happens if the girl is living in different country than the guy?? she has to leave her parents house for the nikkah anyway...
so anyone has done it and the rukhsati after....
u know they tend to do Nikaahs on the phone 2..................
n nikah is a way of booking the guy/girl for sure compared to mangani/engagement....... so alot of people rather tahn just gettin the kids engaged do the nikah bcoz they consider it more secure than the normal ring exchange ceremony!!!!!!!!!!
Usually when one person is over seas, they
have the nikah done.
That way the process for sponsorship can be started.
Then once the visa is approved they have the rukhsati.
I am not sure why ppl do it when both parties are in Pakistan.
May be so the girl would be really bound this way vs doing an engagement.
seems strange, as nikkah is the “proper” islamic marrriage…
a nikkah is a legal/religious confirmation that you two are now married. you could say the rukhsati is like the wedding party, where the girl goes off to live with her man.
sometimes what happens is that the couple are in the same school and studying, so instead of getting into the wrong things, they decide (or parents) that it's better to have the nikkah, cause they'll be together in school all the time anyways. but the girl still lives with her family and the guy still lives with his.
and then when they're done school and have started working, the rukhsati is usually arranged.
i've heard this happening very rarely, but it does
in most cases the nikkah and rukhsati are done at the same time
Who is he, noor?
just some stupid traditions us desis 'ave, you have right to your spouse right after signing the document..
We lot are stuck in some neanderthal age where old hags of the family run the show.
Rukhsati is comparable to giving away of the bride as seen here in the west, it really has no religious standing but its more of the cultural thing. I mean after a nikah the girl can walk out of her house with her suitcase to her hubbys too- after all nikah is the legal religious wedding!
thank you very much everyone
parissenoor, while in the religious context, the giving of dowry/mehr to the woman and agreeing to being husband and wife, is enough in the eyes of God, in the eyes of man, things are a little different. This qubool hai x 3 nonsense is our traditions. Now, in desi eyes, nikah is basically putting the girl on layaway, like you can put stuff on layaway at k-mart. It's just to ensure that nobody else even looks at her as a potential bride. Rukhsati is like when you come and pay for your merchandise. Khatam...
We have reduced the institution of marriage to cheap buy/sell protocols. Shameful really.
Some couples have their Nikah done with their engagements or shortly afterwards for many reasons, like sponsorship or to solidify the relationship. But for families that still have some traditional values, they may do it so that the boy and girl can go out in a halal fashion. Islamically, dating is forbidden and you aren't even supposed to see your fiancee without a chaperone or her hijab (if she wears one). The Nikah makes it legal and good for the couple to go out alone, go out on dates, hold hands, hug, etc. This is a big reason why a lot of couples will do their Nikahs early.
The Rukhsati is important for desis because that's when the girl officially goes to her husband to live with him. And most people will consummate their marriages after Rukhsati.
We have reduced the institution of marriage to cheap buy/sell protocols. Shameful really.
It's shameful that you see marriage in such a light. People don't do Nikahs to put the girl on layaway. Maybe that's how your family sees it, but there is honor in the Nikah. No one has a Rukhsati without the actual Nikah. Even the Prophet pbuh married Aishah first and consummated his marriage with her three years later.
I think its radicilaouse when you have done the Nikaah and the rukhsati is about 3 yrs or something. Accept what Smilestar said i can understand that.
My nikaah was the mehndi day and after baraat i had rukhsati.
some people do it because of the financial reasons.. they do the Nikkah (very inexpensive event) first... and then start working on the dowry and stuff ...and later celebrate the lavishly Rukhsti
^...and there really shouldn't be any dowry in the first place..and there shouldn't be a lavish rukhsati, especially one that families can't afford. the purpose of marriage isn't to go into debt just to 'show off' kay kis nay kis ko kiya diya...it's just stupid.
^jee.. per sawaal yeh nahi hai kay 'kya hona chahiye aur kya nahi' .. filhaal sawaal yeh hai kay 'haqeeqat main** kya hota** hai'
^ but to change the customs and practice that have been so imbedded into us (mostly which are hindi customs) we need to stop blindly following whatever is being done. just cause everyone else is doing doesn't mean that we need to do it as well...
haqeeqat ko badalnay kay liya kuch karna partha hai...
sorry paris ...we're sorta going off topic here
sometimes the nikkah occurs before the rukhsatti in order 2 allow some paper work to be done i.e visa stuff for example. In many cases the nikkah takes place before in order to ensure security and not only the promise to unite but a chance to allow the bride and bridegroom to meet, talk and chat without feeling guilty or sinful :p