Rude Cousin

Re: Rude Cousin

Wow! This completely reminds me of a situation I myself was in just a couple of years ago. Let me give you some context. I have 8 female first cousins, all of us in the same age range (now all in our 20s). At every gathering or event some random Aunty would say (in front of the others) that I am the prettiest (dumb thing to do I know but who can question the pakistani auntys). Add to that a fabulous career and other things (Allhamdullilah) and it was inevitable that the other girls would begin to dislike me and behave in a similar manner to your cousin. Except I am not the type to stay quiet and it would always result in a full fledged argument. To make a long story short, I am now no longer on speaking terms with any of them. With my male cousins, yes. But not my female cousins. We haven't spoken in about 2 years (yes they live nearby). My mother was disappointed at first but now she understands and accepts that it is what it is. I didn't invite any of them to my nikkah and they won't be invited to my wedding. I have no patience for people such as this. I am not recommending that you take this course of action because I was dealing with severe bullying on their part, however, I would encourage you to stick up for yourself in front of this particular cousin. My mother never used to understand in the beginning either and would get mad at me for arguing with them but it all comes to light eventually. We simply ignore one another now at any events and they mean nothing to me.

cooked?

[quote="redvelvet, post:7, topic:309169"]

^Yaar, going into detail (acne, weight, body shape, etc) with blasting her looks behind her back may not be as "horrible" an offense as what she's doing to you, but it's not commendable either. You're still spewing poison about her, only behind her back and with online strangers this time. But chances are that you've blasted her behind her back to a sibling or a friend, etc. as fir nagging the hell out of you not telling her about your life, maybe you create curiosity or suspense about your life? Would she bother asking you if you never shared details in the past. Just don't surrender to the nagging a d one day she'll quit.[/QUOolTE]

True, I know but I'm just descibing her. Like, how can she say something about my looks when she is no Angelina Jolie, you know what I mean? And she wants nags me about stupid stuff. For example, a friend commented on one of my photos on FB and the next second she texted me saying "who is she" "how come I've never seen her before" blah blah. I use to block her but then she found out I was and then I just decided to unblock her.

Kachi.

Nope. That way you can still cook it afterward. Why waste food and money? :p

OP. Next time she insults you in the presence of people who don't understand English, call her out. Tell her, "Why don't you insult me in Urdu instead so that the people around us can also understand your words. I don't want them to miss out cuz you do this often and I've stayed quiet for too long." It'll leave her speechless and embarrassed for a few moments but should soon lead to an open discussion between you two about the issue. Or you quietly put up with it and make yourself look classier....like Bint-e-Naeem said earlier...and she is right about reciting the surahs as well.

Seriously, whenever aunties do that I can sense jealously in her but at that point she doesn't say anything in front of the other girls, who remain quiet. It's when we go home ( we live close so our fam sometimes takes her home as her mom is sick so she's the only one coming to the parties) and then she'll say "your hair was looking bad today" "your makeup was looking bad" or something to annoy me. I really don't want to ruin my relationship with her, in fact I want to make it better, but at this point I don't even know. I know for a fact that she doesn't know that her behavior bothers me because I have been ignoring it so well.

Yeah, I'm definately gonna be reading the surahs but I'm too scared to embarrass her. My mom would kill me lol

When she makes comments like that, simply respond with "oh that's strange because such and such Aunty etc told me I looked really pretty, you are the only one who has commented negatively!"

That should shut her up :D

That’s one evil cousin. I’ve never seen anything alike why would someone talk to their cousin or anyone in such manners :bummer:

Give her a dose of her own medicine...... I know that will be difficult for you to be rude but sometimes this is how people understand. ....... kuch logo ko pyaar ki zubaan samajh nahi aaty .........

She doesnt seem worth trouble so just suck it up and deal with it whichever way is easiest for you. Try and ignore her and avoid her for a while. Creating distance between youself and her may help. Also, if she texts you trying to find out information and things then either ignore her texts or answer in like really short basic texts so she gets the hint that you dont want to talk to her.

And plus she seems like shes going through a hard time at home aswell as having some self esteem issues. Even though this doesnt give her, or anyone else for that matter, the right to bring someone down, I think you should still try and keep these factors in mind. Kill her with kindness!

People have a lot of falthoo time on their hands.

you mentioned your age, so you act your age and be the mature one.. so find out what the mature ppl do and ignore the immature ones. simple. why go through so much trouble.

its not even a big issue. Just tell her straight up that her fam sent the request and she should get over her loss.

and petty issues.. or as they would say in slang .. lame ! by compainting and ranting ..dosent make you better thhan the other.

The more you think about it, the bigger the issue will seem.

Ignore and enjoy your life.

why does it even bother you. She is not even worth time for thinking about her.