Re: Round 2
Im pleasantly surprised that the families are wanting big, grand celebrations. It shows that they also do not think that she should have a "simple" wedding justbecause its the second time around.
When my aunt first got married she had an amazing wedding, it was in Pakistan and since she was the last sibling to be married the wedding was a huge deal. The marriage lasted about 3 years, it ended horribly but thankfully they had no kids together. She was single for the best part of 8 years before she got married for the second time. And she did it big! Screw what people say tbh, her first marriage was something she doesnt ever want to acknowledge, so why not celebrate the present the way youre supposed to. They did everything the way its supposed to be done and mashallah theyre as happy as can be. People will talk either way, so I think the bride and groom should celebrate in whatever way they want, after all it their lives, their money and thei happiness.
agree wid kurripunjaban, life is one time oportunity... live it to the best!! n dnt care fa the ppl you cant mak ethm happy in either way!! dont forget its ur big tym:do wot u feel like~
In addition to what I said before, if there are kids involved, I recommend involving them in the ceremonies somehow.
I'm new to this forum so hello to everybody.
I am in a similar situation but it is my first marriage and my husband to be's second.
He definately wants a very simple ceremony -just nikah and some photos with only my close family-He does not have any family in this country apart from a distant uncle and his ex inlaws(he is still on very good terms with the ex inlaws).I myself have always wanted a very small intimate family only wedding and am very happy not having a big "do".We will be dressing up but instead of lengha I have decided on a shalwaar suit. jewellery etc.There will be no beautician to get me ready,no mehendi or dholki night,no fancy decorated cars and no big food feast -just simple snacks (and a small wedding cake to cut at my sisters insistance).People are already gossiping as I am the eldest child in my family and it will be the first wedding so they are using my hubbys to be's divorce as an excuse(khamoshi see khar ray hai becuz majburi hai or larka divorced hai-or koi rishta he nay mila inlogo ko etc etc)
The gossip doesn't bother me because it is my day and I feel happy knowing that it will be done my way.
^ Why did you tell in family n other ppl that guy is already a divorcee ??? ![]()
I would rather hide it from others coz what they have to do with my personal life. Only parents n siblings should know thats it.
The bride and groom should have a day which they want and would feel most comfortable with. A wedding day is a memory which one holds for years to come and thus should be celebrated accordingly, be that big or small. Just because you have been married before should not stop you from wanting something special.
I say do it the way THEY BOTH WANT to - whether it be simple or large scale. That way there will be no regrets.
Thats what I did - and it was the happiest day of my life, Alhumdulillah.
because you have such a small guest list, you can even look into hotel restaurants and not just their conference rooms. many upscale restaurants have private dining rooms that you can rent out that are beautiful, have amazing service, and incredible menus. if she really doesn’t want a big fuss, consider a very formal, elegant luncheon instead of a dinner.
really, the smaller the better, imho- you can make the budget stretch out so much farther and do so much more.
in terms of the rest, she can wear whatever makes her happy. just because its second time around doesn’t mean its negative- it just means that AH she’s got a second chance at happiness and having a happy marriage, and that, if anything, is the most positive thing about it!
sorry, but that the worst idea. if you are not ashamed of a second marriage, you have nothing to hide. hiding these things just makes for more vicious gossip later on. be happy and proud of the decisions you are making, and nothing anyone says will get under your skin.
Sassi, you’ve got the right idea not letting the gossip’s get to you! congratulations on your upcoming wedding! do everything the way you want and make good memories ![]()
I think she should do whatever makes her happy and whatever she is most comfortable with, regardless of what others will think or say. If she has a big wedding, ppl will say haa haaye she should have had a small wedding. If she has a small wedding, ppl will say haa haaye she should have had a big wedding. "People" will never be happy, so forget about pleasing the world! First marriage or second or fifth, its no less special and deserves every bit the celebration. What exactly the celebration is, whether with 50 people or 500, is up to her. If she wants to wear a lengha she totally should. If not, then a sari would look lovely as well. I wish her all the best and pray that Allah SWt blesses her marriage and grants her happiness and love, ameen!
I'm new to this forum so hello to everybody. I am in a similar situation but it is my first marriage and my husband to be's second. He definately wants a very simple ceremony -just nikah and some photos with only my close family-He does not have any family in this country apart from a distant uncle and his ex inlaws(he is still on very good terms with the ex inlaws).I myself have always wanted a very small intimate family only wedding and am very happy not having a big "do".We will be dressing up but instead of lengha I have decided on a shalwaar suit. jewellery etc.There will be no beautician to get me ready,no mehendi or dholki night,no fancy decorated cars and no big food feast -just simple snacks (and a small wedding cake to cut at my sisters insistance).People are already gossiping as I am the eldest child in my family and it will be the first wedding so they are using my hubbys to be's divorce as an excuse(khamoshi see khar ray hai becuz majburi hai or larka divorced hai-or koi rishta he nay mila inlogo ko etc etc) The gossip doesn't bother me because it is my day and I feel happy knowing that it will be done my way.
Thats great! As long as you are happy with it, doesnt matter what all these random folk think! May Allah SWT bless ur marriage, Ameen! Congrats in advance
sorry, but that the worst idea. if you are not ashamed of a second marriage, you have nothing to hide. hiding these things just makes for more vicious gossip later on. be happy and proud of the decisions you are making, and nothing anyone says will get under your skin.
No its not about being ashamed. If, for example i m marrying a person who was once married, I wont marry him at first place if i were ashamed of him. Its just that ppl who have no business with me and my personal life should not know about certain things. Coz those certain things are my PERSONAL things and i want my privacy... thats all what i meant.
Thanks guys, I really want her to go all out. She will make a beautiful bride, Inshallah.
However, I wont push her if she really is adamant about keeping it small. For presents, she had this idea of asking people to donate to the local masjid on their behalf. She says she doesnt want presents, has all she needs. I liked this a lot.
Im going to do some research on venues and keep you guys posted.
I'm new to this forum so hello to everybody.
I am in a similar situation but it is my first marriage and my husband to be's second.
He definately wants a very simple ceremony -just nikah and some photos with only my close family-He does not have any family in this country apart from a distant uncle and his ex inlaws(he is still on very good terms with the ex inlaws).I myself have always wanted a very small intimate family only wedding and am very happy not having a big "do".We will be dressing up but instead of lengha I have decided on a shalwaar suit. jewellery etc.There will be no beautician to get me ready,no mehendi or dholki night,no fancy decorated cars and no big food feast -just simple snacks (and a small wedding cake to cut at my sisters insistance).People are already gossiping as I am the eldest child in my family and it will be the first wedding so they are using my hubbys to be's divorce as an excuse(khamoshi see khar ray hai becuz majburi hai or larka divorced hai-or koi rishta he nay mila inlogo ko etc etc)
The gossip doesn't bother me because it is my day and I feel happy knowing that it will be done my way.
I'm glad you're doing what will make you and your hubby happy. Just remember to do something to make the day feel different and special.
they (the bride and groom) should do it however they want.
Seriously, even if it was both their first marriage, people would have spoken. You cant stop jaahil laug from making fazool comments.
They are both starting their life off fresh... so why shouldnt they be able to kick start it the way they want. A big or small wedding wont stop people from talking. Thats our culture...