Roti's

just wondering what do you guys have for rotis? make it from scratch[plzz keep ur ami’s out of this]? i have been using tortias. is there anything else in the market??

Pita Bread:D

The only thing I haven’t cooked myself so far in the span of eight years :hehe: [though I know how to cook… all that Aataa goondhna, then making gol roTiyaaN with right amount of salt and dry flour:o .. I feel no time for doing all that mashq-e-sukhan :smiley: ]

i think i have heard of pita before. will give it a try.

mashq-e-sukhan!! that reminds of an older guppie. :~)

^ why don't you juts buy any type of roti you want from a grocer or by mail?

Traders Joes has a lot of good roti type things that you can use as rotis...

you can get frozen parathas from desi stores...

pita bread is good...

tortillas are good too...

or just plain dabbal roti...

waisay if you are up for it, make rotis and freeze them over the weekend and use thru the week, they stay pretty fresh and there's nothing like home made chapatis...

Those frozen parathas are so bad for your ‘maida’. Not to mention that most of them are pure ‘maida’, in the first place. There are some varieties of brown flour, but they taste awful. Long story short, I try to steer clear of frozen parathas, as much as possible, even though they are quite tasty.

Also, tortillas are no good for me. Too chikni.

The plain roti, cooked at home from atta is the best :k:

Faisal bhai you are right...

those parathas although they are tasy are just of maida...

but you can get whole wheat tortillas though, not the large sized tortillas but the medium sized ones...they taste better than the plain ones and when you warm them on the tawa infact they even inflate like a chapati...they r very much like rotis...

i start from scratch… its the best way to keep everyone happy..

my mama has taught me a new way of making rotis really quickly and taste like the tandoori stuff

but other than that… turkish naan is really good and afghan bread :yummy:

*Originally posted by sadzzz: *
my mama has taught me a new way of making rotis really quickly and taste like the tandoori stuff

sadzz share plz :D

well wat u do is…

u make one side of the roti on the tawah… and then once its done, u place it in the grid with the side not yet done facing upwards..

and once thats slightly brown, take it out and put bit of butter on it…

simple :yummy:

oh kewl…so u never put one side of it directly on the tawa/flame…doesnt it remain kachee??

yes exactly.... just let one side cook properly.... so dont turn it... and once its done put it in the grill

acha kewl i'll try that :) thankss....

interesting sadzzz ... :-)

okay talking of paraThaas, anyone in East Coast tried Malaysian Paraathays:yummy:?

west coast here :jhanda:

and yeah malaysian parathas rock :k:

waisay have you guys tried the chinese aaloo k parathay? they ROCK!

malaysian paratha's are kewl! they're a bit lile pooris nahin?

haaN :blush: $1.99 a pack :love: