Roti question

How do you guys make em so round? I have seen several girls/aunties make em and they are (almost all) perfect.

Whenever I try to make roti’s I get the naksha?! of india, england or Indonesia. One time even Cuba

Any tips please?

Re: Roti question

:hehe: at naksha..

heres a tip..go to the nearest desi place and buy frozen stuf :blush:

lol, i bet i can make better rotis than most girls on gs, how sad is that.

i can cook almost everything and can also make rotis ....in beginning it was very difficult to make them round but now its piece of cake:o .....

Practice makes perfect.

first thing to check is the dough. water content: too sticky etc). salt:helps tighten the dough.
also do you let the dough/atta chill in the fridge for a while?
on to the shape: how you roll out the dough (i think) determines two things. the shape of the roti and also how much it puffs.

as you flatten out the roll of atta make sure you are rolling from center to outward direction. keeping a round disk shape. this way you go from a patty shape to a rounder frisbee to a perfect roti.
happy cooking!:blush:

I make shapes also. But the trick is practice. It does make you a better cook.

You buy them.

hi
i started with small rotis ( say chapatis) just as the size of a CD & rolled them all first & then roasted them .I think when you are new and try to do it simutaneously u tend to rush urself . & with each day i guess i got better . today i make them really well and simultaneously cook other things too.

all the best.
bye

practice and patience will improve ur roti outcome....
try making smaller ones...they are easy to manage.....!!

my mummy says it's all in the paira. make sure when you make the paira...it's a smooth ball...you shouldn't be able to see the pieces of aata sticking together.

and try with a dryer mix. like don't make the dough too runny. make it a bit sakht.

Yeh and what do u want an award?:hoonh: Besides its only U who’s saying that u make better rotis than the most of the girls on here. Has any1 from here actually tried them? No i didnt think so! :smiley:

I think all depends on belan..:biggthumb

For making good roti not only paira counts but the dough count also,so first of all u makes a good dough,dough ko kam uz kum 20 min ghondahi, it is not so hard or not so sticky ,then allow it to set down for 20 min then make paira if u will make agood ,round paira the roti will be round too.i always makes roti on ulta tawa.that i got from pak.roti marbel shelf per bhi buhet acchi bali jati hai .

thanks for the tips guys. I thought I was lost