Roti Competition

Roti making is an art, and requires a lot of practice and loads of patience to master this art.
Seeing so many talented chefs and cooks here in life 2, I thought of having this competition. Ab doodh ka doodh paani ka paani ho jaey ga ke who’s really good in kitchen. :smiley:

You may practice and make as many rotis as you want and post the picture of the best one. There are certain rules however :

• Roti should be round, or atleast look like a round in shape, no srilankan maps allowed
  • It shouldnt be burnt.
  • No paratha’s allowed.
    Now please come forward and let us know how does your roti look like.

:slight_smile:

Re: Roti Competition

Here is my roti :p

That is one hell of a good phulka!!!! :D

How do you get roti to puff up enormously??????

my daddi always says ke jub kissi ko bohat bhook lag rahi hoti hai tau roti bohat phoolti hai so if you want your roti to puff up like that gather a lot of hungry ppl and start making rotis for them:)

:) Any more tips ?

yaar no one is posting their roti pictures :frowning:

NOT FAIR :what:

Mahru, yeah I heard that too, but this tip is not useful everytime :stuck_out_tongue:

Pyarisami - you have too let it cook from both sides quite well, before putting it on flame (saikna)..
dont press it hard with a cloth while on tawa.

and PLEASE people post the rotis, if you want to get the trophy :hooray:

hehe what atta do you use?

Sadz I use phillisburry (sp?)

:aj:
Now dont tell me that no one makes roti at home or doesnt know how to make it.

sadaf can you please explain your steps for roti making ? My roti honestly never turns out like that. Its always hard. why ??

sigh i cant make rotis :(

I tried... Twice.
The first time, never got past the kneading stage, what with the mismatch between the atta and water ratio, ended up with a mountain of useless dough. (What Ammi said to me about that is not printable!)
The second time, it looked exactly like those old time phones with a receiver and a cradle.
Have never tried it since.

This my bhabi’s roti. She makes the roundest roti’s I’ve ever eaten! I don’t know how she does it, it’s not like she’s had years of experience as she’s the same age as me. I’m too embarassed of my own one’s to show you!:frowning:

I take the trophy for making the most horrible roti ever...

thank you very much *grin

I can cook biryani, nihari, kaabas - different kinds etc, bake food, italian, chienese etc -

But i cant make roti for the life of me - ate gondate hoe hi mujhe gusa ata hai -

this was long time ago when i started to do ata goonding. my ata was floating in water - pata nahe i have no patience for toiyan. i plan on serving ready made pita breads *hurray. - ready made parataas.

i am so amazed rootiyaan puri gool hain :~)

Lol, my Abbu ji seems to have trouble getting over the fact that i CANNOT make round rotis. :hehe:

I cannot make them round and soft. If I attempt one, then one roti takes around 5 minutes to make as it sticks to the bottom and I have to re-roll it and make it again :bummer: I attempted them last year a few times but got such bad reviews that I just quit.
I can knead some mean dough though! I like kneading dough with all it’s mukka maar-ing :slight_smile: But plz don’t request me to make rotis unless you want to eat a very hard funny shaped looking deal-o.

i remember once ami ji forced me making some :d jase hi she stepped away :D

i grabbed the big plate and knife.. yar asi achi roti gool ai thi :D ami thought for a moment i was gifted :D

I make good rotis :queen:

Practice makes perfect guys, it’s one of those things like swimming/bicycling that you don’t forget once you learn how to do it.

Sadaf :k: Can you send some my way? Mere paas ata aur tava nahi hai so I haven’t had some roti in a while.

my roti is very attractive.... yahan post ki to nazar lag jay gi..... us kay agay kisi bhi country ka naksha aik dum zero hay zero.....