romania

How safe/dangerous is it to go with a volunteer org? What is thepolicing like? And as its Europe..race relations etc>? Whats it like for a female etc. Any help much appreciated.

Re: romania

Maee,

Have u heard about Punjab Police? if you have then there is not much difference between Romanian Police & Punjab Police.

Its not very dangerous but obviously u are dark, so you will looked at as gypsy, cursed may even be a good stonning target (if u walk alone) etc etc.

Otherwise its a nice country, most of big cities are fine, though u will see the typical Eastern European atmosphere.

I have heard that it is not that safe and the police are corrupt. Girls getting molested in the streets is not considered abnormal. This is second hand information from a friend who is married to a Romainian lady.

o dear. That leads me to the conclusion that I shouldnt go? Yes im obviously darker than your average jane white. Najiim, whered you get that info from?

and whats the eastern euroean atmostphere? my white friend, british, went to germany with a nation choir and got asuslted by two neo nazis and was told to leave the country. Now if SHE got attacked in GERMANY mera kya ho ga. I wouldnt have an issue with going to spain and portugal etc, they all lok like my behn bhai lakin i dont trust these places. It looks as though im right not to?

The cause is somthing ive been wanting to do for so long though, it involves looking after some gypsy kids and taking them on a camping trip, there are also aids affected orphans, mor eof the latter, teaching both groups ina school etc. sigh. I SO wanted to go :=(

hiccup,

I have been to Romania myself, so its kinda personal experience.

My friends are studying in romania and i think the city name is oradea and they r quite happy there neva xpierienced anything bad plus dont care about police unless u r planning for something dodgy :) .

I am also planning to go there on my friend gradution.

hiccup bhai, next time you go to germany, dont carry that gun in your hand. keep it in the bag,otherwise you might get attacked again and will be told to leave by "nazis" :)
btw, were those "nazis" driving aroung in a car with blue and red flashing lights and wear black uniform?

Hiccup if uve been to Paki, u shud feel rite comfy in romania :k:

Had a friend who went to romania as part of her US college education. Though she is very white and very very street-wise. So she had very few problems. She however did have problems.

You as a desi would be harassed actively in Romania. She said so herself, considering she went to see the life of miniorities in Romonia. Go to Hungry. Safer, better and much much more scenic. They have a huge minority issue.

make sure you visit denmark as well...nice scenic country.

my friend really truely wasnt me, I cant sing quite as well as she can and infact am paid more to shut up rather than tra-lala along with the best of them. So far as she tells me, they were staying in the same hostel. And unless you drive around in cars within a building in europe, i higly doubt it.

thankyou everyone, but i think ive decided against it. Its a fab cause, but my safety is a better cause. im sure its a great country but i cant help being a paki.

smirk…chicken!
your friend is crazy. european countries are by far the safest for even backpackers like me and you’re shivering in your pajamas cos of some one-off incident that happened to your friend.
what can anyone say…your loss, really.

May Allah reward you for your good intentions :) but my recommendation is dont go!!. ladies arent safe in places like romania.

I went to Prague, Budapest, Bratisalva in 2004 and had no problems being visibly different.. yes I had the 'gypsy' worries but no-one bothered me.. if you are in the city centre/ tourist places should be fine.. this year I was in Slovenia/ Croatia/ Bosnia.. no probs either.. not all 'jaanwars' like back home. :)

LondonE7,

Prague/Budapest & Bratislava (so are Slovenia & Croatia) are way different from Romania .... I am visiting CZ & SK since 1999 constantly (my father-in-law is Slovak).

I cannot say about Bosnia, I have never been there, even Bulgaria was alright.

BTW I am presently living in Prague.

well the way I look at it, if they are part of the EU (Hungary, Czech, Slovak) then are a certain level of stability, law enforcement, and tolerance.. there are places i want to goto like albania, macedonia, bulgaria but hear stories about corruption/criminal gangs etc which could just be exaggeration/perception, but then bulgaria/romania did have their EU membership delayed one year for similar reasons so who knows.. i can wait it out till things settle down