Re: roman urdu transliteration scheme...how to write effectively!
Well, I tried but cant see much difference. You mean you say waqt like an english W? Really? Wouldn't you sound foreign, ie like a gora if you did that? :)Now, I would like you to try and say two words!You probably know Waqar Younis, the cricketer, right? Ok so can you say 'Waqar' and then say 'Whacker' ....and let me know if You notice any difference!Do you see what I mean?
For my little contribution I think "vaao" has 3 sounds ... V, W and something in between these two ... let's call that VW ... When the word starts with "vaao" it will only take either form V or VW, but it will never take form W ... Only at the middle or end of a word will the "vaao" take the form W and it will not take the other two forms ... unless there is a shadda on it, in which case it is possible but not always true.
Therefore the two words are VWaqt and Vehm ... and the name of the letter itself is ... vaaow
Well, I tried but cant see much difference. You mean you say waqt like an english W? Really? Wouldn't you sound foreign, ie like a gora if you did that? :)Now, I would like you to try and say two words!You probably know Waqar Younis, the cricketer, right? Ok so can you say 'Waqar' and then say 'Whacker' ....and let me know if You notice any difference!Do you see what I mean?
Peace MissFreudian
I believe saying Vaqar to Wagar would be wrong ... but also saying W too softly will sound BBCD.
YES, Waqaar starts with W sound [NOT Vaqaar]
**waqt = starts with W as an american will pronounce W
vahm = starts with V as an american will pronounce V
if you come to the chatroom, i'll demonstrate the difference on audio chat. thank you...
...ahl e zabaan can easily tell you the difference between W and V sounds for VAAO [NOT WOW]**
For my little contribution I think "vaao" has 3 sounds ... V, W and something in between these two ... let's call that VW ... *When the word starts with "vaao" it will only take either form V or VW, but it will never take form W *... Only at the middle or end of a word will the "vaao" take the form W and it will not take the other two forms ... unless there is a shadda on it, in which case it is possible but not always true.
Therefore the two words are VWaqt and Vehm ... and the name of the letter itself is ... vaaow
Yes, I think this VW sound sums it up quite nicely. I attended some Tajweed classes last year and even in arabic the VW sound is used for a lot of Vaao words.
KKF, Audio chat hmm... why dont you leave an audioclip with the examples, so we can listen in. :)
In my previous post i wrote about using of numeral. Here is some info about it.
When chatting online Arabs often use the Latin letters to write in Arabic instead of the Arabic alphabet. And, because certain sounds in the Arabic alphabet don’t have a counterpart in Western languages, there are a number of symbols used to represent these special sounds.
[TABLE]
Arabic Letter
Transcription
Comments
ح
the letter Haa’ looks quite similar to a 7
خ
5, 7’
the apostrophe represents the dot on the letter khaa’; alternatively the numeral <5> is used
ص
imagine a <9> lying on the side, in which case the numeral looks very similar to the letter Saad
ض
9, 9’
the apostrophe represents the dot on the letter Daad
ط
the shape of the numeral <6> is not too different from the shape of the letter Taa’
ظ
6, 6’
the apostrophe represents the dot of the letter Zaa’
ع
the letter ‘ayn looks like a mirrored <3>
غ
3’
the apostrophe represents the dot on the letter ghayn
ق
imagine that the two dots of the letter qaaf closed the top, which would result in an eight lying on its side
KKF, Audio chat hmm... why dont you leave an audioclip with the examples, so we can listen in. :)
mudda'ii sust aur gawaah chust?** hehe...NOT me! :D**
LOL, I know what you mean! Mera bhi dimagh ghoom gaya hai yeh number replacements dekh kar!!!!
KKF and LK, this looks really complicated to me. So how would you write 12th in urdu with this scheme???
**once you get used to the scheme, it comes easy as cake.
you may write 12th as *baarhvaaN* OR *baarhveeN *OR *12veeN *OR *12vaaN...depending on the gender of the subject :)*