Very nice article on BB, though I do not agree with everything, but I am highlighting some parts for kids who are still learning how to read...
I think this entire month was dedicated to noori bashing on BandBaja, so you can go there and read more articles :)
Very Impressive Indeed...
Billboard Billboard in the Sky, Why O Why Do You Make Us Cry?
By Huma Imtiaz
Dear Noori,
I try to like you. I honestly do. But the moment I start to actually appreciate you all, you go around and do something insanely stupid. Like for instance, the Polo and IM campaign. There is something called dignity. This seems to be an alien concept to you. The billboards that have further destroyed the city’s skyline are one example. IM should be bashed endlessly for it. But so should you for even posing for such pictures, with keys held in places of guitars. Maybe IM got a word of my upcoming article and has now proceeded to put up even worse billboards.
And before I forget, the Polo ad is possibly the worst ad to ever air. Ever! It even beats the horrendous Super New Jawan ad. It even beats the Gaye Soap ad and that is saying a lot. When you start out to make music, you aspire to raise the standard of things. Not lower it again. And again. The polo ad did just that. The saving grace of the ad was Gumby, which leads to my advice no 1:
More Gumby in future Noori ads. All those opposing, hate mail option is always open.
Then came the Polo Beetle concert that aired on IM recently. Let’s say my ears still haven’t recovered from the Noor rendition of neeeeend-aaaaaa-yeeee-na-aaa-aaaa. And no, I am not exaggerating. That is exactly how he sounded. According to fellow Bandbaja writer Gandi Bandi, Dino sang Noori’s songs much better than Noor did himself. Dino will be very happy to hear that I’m sure.
Dear Noori, what is the rush to sign up with every corporation there is? First it was Mobilink, jin ki service bhi achi nahi hai! Agreed, you got to gel together as a band. But then you said that it helped improve your live performance. Where is the improvement I ask? *Fans now tend not to attend your performances because they know what to expect - bad vocals which diverts attention from anything that is good in the band performance. *
Next came Wall’s, with Ali Noor setting a new standard in horrendous pants wearing main men. Move over Salman Ahmed, there is a new kid on the block. And last, but not the least, Polo - which leads to nothing but tooth decay. Ask my dentist, I bet he’s still grinning from all the money he made with the root canals he did on me.
Dear Noori, no matter how much NFP might hate it; all these corporations are going nowhere. They will continue to sponsor music for a long time to come. But what are you getting out of it? Publicity? Trust me, it’s the wrong kind. Money? Yes. And that is where Noori has started to go wrong. You are on your way to being the present Junoon – except seems like you will get there in a lot less time. *At least Junoon has several good albums to be remembered by. You have only ONE! *
Fame? Yes, for appearing in the worst ads ever, which lead you to lose fans. I repeat LOSE fans. If I had seen you for the first time in that ad, I would’ve resolved never to listen to your songs again. And coming to songs, where is the new music? Where are the conceptual videos? We don’t want to listen to Indian songs as covers; we don’t want girls and boys jumping up and down, we’d like some fresh, purNoor and meaningful music.
In the end, umeed hai aap sab khairiat se honge. Bunty aur pappu ko mera salam kahiye ga.
Faqat aap ki dost,
Huma*