Just remember the song ‘Jagia lyallpur lutiya’. The Jagga seems desi Robin Hood and somehow such people got appreciation for their so called bravery. Our Punjabi movies revolving around Gujjars also support such jagga culture.
I remember that in 90s Muhib Sheedi and Parrooo (two of the famous dakus in Sindh) got status of hero and some blockbuster movies were made on their lives. Indian movies also glamourise characters like Kali Charan and Khal Nayak?
Does our culture accommodate desi Robin Hoods starting from Jagga to Zardari?
In current circumstances yes it is,where ppl are not getting their due rights they deserve being a fellow countrymen n being a human!who ever gv them some kinda relief they will make him hero irrespective of Wht he or she does,they consider him as angel!
Isn't that a sign of deteriorating social and cultural values? In old times (not so old, a few decades ago), people don't like to get their daughters married with a person who took bribe, but now being corrupt is an acceptable quality :(
Yes it is ! It's not that nowadays ppl like to marry their daughters wid a bribe ster,but we all know that each n evry sect is corrupt,one cannot do his/her work without paying bribe,take any department for example,taking bribe is a trend,so automatically we all are bribe sters,riswat lainai aur dainai Wala baraber hai!
I don't think every daku was robinhood in Hindustani area Kissas of Daakus are famous:D, Khalil khan allahabad waaley can tell many in special UP style.
In Ferozepur, Dacoits used to loot Punjabi Sheikh and khatri Arora caste because they were traders, best way was to infilliterate their camp and then get them looted:D In Dacoit business intelligence is a must prerequisite:D
There are women daakus as well like Phoolan devi and Seema Parihar types, Some of tribes and caste like Gujjar and Jats were excellent looters, yadavs are equally good match:D
I think Khalil bhai doesn't seem to be descendent of them he is too decent for that:D, I think only I have that honor:D
^^Lalu,Rabri,Mualyam,Akhilesh, in UP any sort of bad activity is called Yadavgiri instead of Goondagiri:D
Dacoits of Chambal used to devout worshipper of Maa Kaali, the goddess of sacrifice, "Maan tere ashirvad se aaj itna maal loota", I think goddess would have got confused:D
^^Lalu,Rabri,Mualyam,Akhilesh, in UP any sort of bad activity is called Yadavgiri instead of Goondagiri:D
Dacoits of Chambal used to devout worshipper of Maa Kaali, the goddess of sacrifice, "Maan tere ashirvad se aaj itna maal loota", I think goddess would have got confused:D
"Maan (ooper wale) tere ashirvad se aaj itna maal loota". This is punchline by all looters which has been making their gods confused from the inception of the world :)
Were Sultana Daku and Phoolan Devi famous due to their Robin hood like characteristics or there was something else that made them popular among masses?
I think the radical socialist in all cultures admires the "Noble brigand" or Dacoit, but few true life figures have ever lived up to the complete image. Also the sheer clash between the idea of looters also being givers is itself a point of great irony.
However deep in the pyshce of the human mind many would look to glamourise such people due to the romance and supposed heroism in the character perhaps it appeals to the subconscious mind and everyone deep down wants to be as free spirited and dashing... except its just not practical for everyone else.